Friday: WK1 - Tip: Flowers for Food

in Steem For Ladieslast month

Since I'm out of money (Steem) because I just powered up I thought let ask @xiao-aine to give me those Steem I miss. I did not. Instead I paid Bitvavo a visit and transferred 20 Steem to my wallet. It's the 3rd time I'm doing this. Not the 3rd time since I join Steemit but in the past week(s). I never transferred Steem before and it took me 7 weeks to figure it out. Bitvavo was so not helpful.

20 Steem = 5.34 euros according Bitvavo

Kopie van Sheep(1).jpg

My Tip

Ladies and Gentleman.
If you don't like to end up like me be more selfish, please. Reward yourself first (you can save or invest it) and after that you can pay your bills!
If it comes to paying: Save before you buy!
Think ten times before you spend. Stay out of debts, it will cost you stress, more stress, headaches, anxiety and sleepless nights plus you will make enemies if you always borrow, live on the expenses of others and do not pay your rent. So pay your landlord and if you don't want to pay build your own hut or go live in a tent.

What you earn, those few cents per post, which is the case for many, is yours. I don't think it's all about being a good writer and neither do you. Smart indeed is what you have to be, on Steemit and in your daily life.

There's always something to eat

One of my children ate paper as a toddler and my son ate dogfood like other children eat cookies (own free will).
Since both are expensive I advise you to take a walk outside. In nature you will find more food than you thought possible. Although what is available will not feed your family for an entire year it's a good start. What you call weeds might be herbs, good for tea, vitamins, minerals, syrups (cough), soups, lettuce and you also might find flowers, fruits, mushrooms, nuts and so on.

Flowers

20240523_133735.jpg

You can eat many flowers

so have a look.
The poppy is a famous one and I make syrup (cough, soar throat, relaxing and a good night rest) out of it.
Before you pick the flowers let those insects do their job. Next you fill a jar.

20240523_140751.jpg



20240520_114635.jpg

You can add a bit lemon if you like.

20240520_115442.jpg

Pour boiled water over it, place the lid on it and let it stay about 24 hours. Is it warm with you less hours can be enough. My jars stayed longer because I was busy and not in the mood.

20240528_132727.jpg

You can spoon the flowers and lemon out of the jar and the rest goes through a sieve.
It's nice dark red like cherries, mulberries, beetroot.

20240528_132938.jpg

20240528_133348.jpg

I had 1.2 liters and made 1.5 out of it by adding boiled water. Next put your pot on a fire and all you have to do is adding sugar and stirring. Once it boils allow the syrup to boil gently for 3 minutes.

20240528_140009.jpg

Last step: clean your bottles/jars and fill them to the brim next close them.

20240528_151448.jpg

My bottles were filled to the brim, but once the syrup cools, the level of the liquid drops.


Needed: 1 liter + 750 grams sugar (some people use 500 grams and so did I). Instead of sugar you can use honey but I never gave that a try. I saved the last syrup I made about 6 years and I just found a small jar. It's still in a good condition.

17169102261713738847126777128549.jpg

Note
Do not throw away food just because you think it might be spoiled. Use your eyes, nose and taste.
Of course you can use this syrup for lemonade as well. I made mine stronger by putting more flowers into a jar and using the seeds as well.

20240523_141705.jpg

My dear friend @blessedlife this post is dedicated to you. We already spoke about the possibility of using flowers. Let me know one day what works for you.


☆・・・★・・・・・★・・・☆

How to power up

Of course you dear reader are not interested in me powering up again. I can't blame you for that or skipping this part. Old or new Steemians know how to do it since it costs SP don't do this frequently. I usued to do this once a year (or twice) now it's once a month.

wallet

log in with your active key

History - bitvavo is fast for a change
👇

Screenshot_20240528-163745_Samsung Internet.jpg

Power up

Screenshot_20240528-163842_Samsung Internet.jpg

Confirm (OK) and ready.



This contest is hosted by @vishwara and she can tell you exactly what to do if you have questions.

@patjewell hierbij, een fijne avond en slaap zacht 🍀💕


PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png


Header/Photogrid: Canva
Photos: all taken by me
28-5-2024
I am a mobile phone user only


I upvote comments and (good) entertaining stories. @hive-169911 is my hive (community). I will grow its SP to upvote stories only. Please, do NOT post in it!
If you wrote something good you can tag me, original (no AI-written) stories/tales only. You do not need to join a club to be read and upvoted and you can post wherever you like. I suggest the freewriters or @hive-107855 the Dream Steem. Use the tag # story and I find you.
Happy Writing @wakeupkitty

Since May 12, 2024

Tales&Stories paid a total reward of 96 Steem in UVF to story writers on Steemit.

#steemit #poppy #recipe #sfl-powerupfriday #steemexclusive #kittywu #club100 #holland

#sbi-skip

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 last month (edited)
Club Statusclub100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI10.2 ( 0.00 % self, 78 upvotes, 56 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladies10%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count662
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Hi @wakeupkitty.pal,

Thank you for contributing 10% of your post to support community growth.

Wow... you have shared a wonderful tip. Indeed, we can find many natural medicines among what we call weeds. In Sri Lanka, there are many plants with Ayurvedic value. One of my favorites is morning glory tea. It has many health benefits and can also be used as a natural food coloring. I enjoyed reading your post. Thank you for taking part in the contest!

Thank you for participating…..

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 last month 

Perhaps you can share the morning glory? I love to see and read about it.
Thanks for your kind respond. I hope the good tips will help us all.

A great day 🍀❤️

 last month 

Hi, dear. Thank you so much for dedicating me this post, I appreciate it and love it. I really would love to give it a try to that syrup.
Where did you save that 6-years-old jar?
I agree with you we should not waste food unless we prove it's not eatable.

I think only need could make us understand that, fortunately, among grass and even growing up in the rocks there is medicine and food. Many people in my country knows herbs for the flu and other sickness, but some other little plants are full of components that can cure and also have vegetables proteins and minerals. And some say nature is so smart that some plants grow where they are needed, and I absolutely believe it.
Of course, I wouldn't take a plant from the streets since I live in a city.

I loooove your flowers and insect photos, and I loooove that 1 liter white pot 😍

Blessings 🫂

 last month 

Yo guardo las macetas en mi dormitorio, que es la habitación más oscura y normalmente la más fría. Las macetas oscuras también ayudarían o en una caja si es necesario debajo de la cama. A menos que la cama se derrumba, esto está bien. Lo que está bien hecho en, bien sellado no se estropea, a la luz puede decolorarse. Un sotano o si es necesario una parte mas baja en el suelo tambien se puede hacer.

La jarra de litro es antigua y esmaltada. Antes se usaba mucho. También la uso a diario para derretir chocolate al baño maría, para verter, hacer detergente lo que sea. Mucho mejor que el plástico y más ligera que el vidrio. A veces todavía los veo en tiendas de segunda mano o mercadillos y como las ollas de petróleo. Si veo una la compraré y os avisaré.

Es bueno utilizar todo lo que la naturaleza todavía ofrece y los conocimientos transmitidos. Cada país definitivamente tiene plantas valiosas, hierbas, consejos que funcionan. Todas esas píldoras químicas se recetan y se tragan demasiado rápido.

Gracias por su respuesta y me alegro de que le guste.

👋🍀❤️

 last month 

El syrup necesita ciertas condiciones para mantenerse, gracias por aclararlas todas. Pensé que se refrigeraba. Aquel de seis años es un tesoro que tenías bien guardado.

Tranquila. Aquí se le llama peltre a ese tipo de ollas, a mí me parecen hermosas, ya mayormente están en desuso, pero me siguen gustando. Solo había visto ese estilo en forma de jarra en un vídeo y me encantó para hacer jabones artesanales, o para cualquier cosa porque son una belleza y bastante prácticas.

Píldoras solo cuando no hay más opción.

 last month 

Puedes guardarlo en una nevera pero yo no tengo y mi habitación está más o menos al mismo tiempo si no más fría durante el invierno.

El "estaño" viene en todos los tipos y esquistos, cuencos (también para lavarse), tazas, platos, más probable ollas y pas pero también para el jabón, soda, sal y así sucesivamente. Con nosotros siempre es así. Tal vez alguna vez hubo negro o gris.

 last month 

Oh wow!
You did it!!! Well done! I suppose I will also have to join you. (•ิ‿•ิ)
I absolutely LOVE those flower photos and your tips.
Six years! That is a long time.

Best wishes! 🌹

Now you see without asking me you can manage.
Sorry if I'm late I struggle with Steemit access. Thanks for the tip.

Nice all that red!

 last month 

The drink looks really nice and I'm coming for it. Nice post!

 last month 

That's fine. It will relax or you fall asleep. Should I make you a bed?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55089.06
ETH 2939.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09