Contest!The Diary Game #42: Share your day with us! Processing Garri(cassava flakes)for home use

in Steem For Ladies3 months ago (edited)

IMG_20240601_131556_182.jpg

Hello my fellow Steemian friends, welcome to my today's dairy. I'm excited to share my day with you all.

Morning Activities

Today was a sunny day just exactly as the weather setting on my phone has predicted. I woke up very early in the morning twilight heading to the farm I contacted for buying of cassava for garri processing. Thank God as busy as my schedule in that early morning hours was, I could had some quiet time with my maker by reading few Biblical scriptures and observed meditation.

As I reached the farm, the cassava was already harvested scaled at the amount of money I had bidded with the saler. I hired a motorcyclist to convey it to my house. At the beginning I was somehow angry with the farmer, because I felt she cheated me for the quantity she gave me for the amount I transfered to her. But when I poured it out from the sack I bagged it, my neighbour came in and commended the woman, that she is nice to sell a 100kg of cassava to me at 10k an amount that equals 25 steems. It was at that moment I reflected on how much garri is sold at a 1 thousand Naira, I started to appreciate the woman.

Afternoon Activities

Uploading image #2...

By Afternoon I started peeling the cassava, washed it ready to take it to the mill for grinding and draining of the water. My nieces help me to carry it to the cassava mill in my neighbourhood. By tomorrow the grinded cassava will have been dried as the water is drained out, I will take it to the house for frying using traditional fire. The reasons I go to the farm to buy it directly from the farmer is to cut cost of buying from the market women. Also to have the original taste of native garri that I use my hand to fry unlike the usual market own that they use machine to process.

IMG_20240601_131416_461.jpg

For non-native, garri is cassava flakes produced by processing fresh cassava, draining out the cassava water in 1-2 days, sieving out the chaff and frying it in garri frying pot. You add palm oil to colour it yellow or leave it white. Garri is the top most of the staple food eaten by almost every family in the country. It's consumed by baking it and eaten as swallow with soup or by soaking in water and be sipping with groundnut or fish.

Evening Activities

In the evening I went to the neighbouring market to buy few things for cooking of soup for my family. As I returned from the market, I sat down to prepare the soup. And as the meal was ready I sat down and ate with my family. By the time we finished eating it was after 8pm. Well, that wasn't a nice time to eat swallow food to avoid weight gain and indigestion but it didn't really bothered me as my appetite was hungering for swallow, I couldn't help but to add hard food to my eating menu in at least after two days past

When I was done eating, I rested for some minutes, then surfed online to check updates and to write this dairy..

Conclusion

As my day came to a close, I felt satisfied because I was able to procure that cassava for garri. That has saved me some cost and the hassles. I will enjoy my native garri with my family, I think with the quantity it will come out, we can be using it at least for 3 weeks without buying from outsiders. If you wouldn't mind, you can use this method also to produce good quality garri for less for your family.

All pictures were taken from my phone

Special Mention

@patjewell
@okere-blessing
@eveetim

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

Many thanks @josepha for your voting support, I really appreciate the token of your kindness, keep enjoying and celebrating your up-lift

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44