Contest: Daily Dynamics, Author of the week, Monday – Health - We are what we eat (2)

in Steem For Ladieslast year (edited)



Image Source

It is time for Monday Daily Dynamics and there is no better way to start the week than eating healthy.

Last time we looked at where the phrase “we are what we eat” came from and addressed three questions.

  • Why do you eat?
  • How do you eat?
  • When do you eat?

If you have missed the post, herewith the link

It is time for the next set of questions.

  • Which foods do you eat?
  • Where do you get these foods from and how do you get them?
  • How do you cook these foods?
  • With whom do you eat?

Which foods do you eat?

Personal preferences, habits, social functions, and customs largely determine which foods you eat.

We are all told that there are so-called good food and bad food. Rubbish! I strongly believe that there are no bad foods. Food is what we need to live and we get food with good nutritional value and food with not-so-good nutritional value. What we do need to look at is if the food that we are eating is vital for good health and suited if a weight loss program is followed.

We need to balance our food diet. There is nothing wrong with having a sweet tooth and you do not have to feel bad about loving chocolates but think twice about which chocolate you are going to eat before you do.

We are spoiled by the fact that we can buy “diet” sweets from supermarket counters.
These days the food environment that we live in caters to the various needs of people and all you have to do is to shop and make the right choices.

Some advice;

  • Fresh fruit and vegetables are best!
  • Dark green vegetables such as spinach and broccoli are important in any diet that you
  • might be following even when cooking for the family
  • Stay away from canned and processed foods as salt and sugar get added to these products
  • Take vitamin and mineral supplements if it is difficult for you to follow a healthy diet

Ask yourself the following questions;

  • Is the food that you are eating healthy?
  • Does the food that you eat contain a variety of nutrients?
  • Is your food choices balanced?

footer.jpg

Where do you get these foods from and how do you get them?

The days of the majority of people growing vegetables, fishing for fish, or hunting for food are way gone. These days we purchase food from supermarkets and specialty stores.

We have choices between food that you can take away and eat immediately, readymade meals that you buy and eat later in the comfort of your home or we can buy bulk, cook and store in our freezers or refrigerators.

Do you check the labels? I discovered that there were many products on the shelves without nutritional or ingredient information, difficult to believe but true. Do not buy products that are not labeled and stock plenty of unprocessed foods that carry essential nutrition.

My biggest advice to you would be to have a shopping list to avoid temptations and to eat before you do your shopping.

footer.jpg

How do you cook these foods?

Again we are all different. Some of us like good food combinations with innumerable flavors whereas others like their food plain and only with salt.
Sweetness is the one flavor that is universally accepted yet a taste for other spices etc. must be learned.

In some cases, if you were not brought up with the likes of spicy food, you might never get accustomed to it. You also get those that say no to tasting something different from the word go. That is what we are and changes are not always easy.

When advising on cooking your food I would rather stay away from the flavoring and focus on the process. The perception is that the easiest way of cooking is to fry something. All you need is a pan, oil and away you go. There are far healthier options than this, grill, bake, and steam.

By grilling your steak, roasting a leg of lamb, or steaming your vegetable you not only get rid of excess fat but also keep the flavor of the food. And do not tell me that you do not have time to cook healthily as it is not true. It saves time by grilling your meat and vegetables in the oven.

What can stop people from cooking at home might be the right equipment, not knowing the right way, or not having recipes. Again there is no reason for not having the right equipment, not knowing how, and not having the right recipes just switch on your television and watch a food channel.

footer.jpg

With whom do you eat?

There is a saying, “He who eats alone eats with Satan; he who eats with one other person eats with a tyrant and he who eats with two other people eats with the prophets”

It is dull eating alone and often this causes you to eat wrongly. On the other hand, whom you eat with has a direct effect on your intake. This can be either positive or negative.
If you find that you eat with someone that negatively influences your eating find reasons to be busy at meal times.

When eating out choose a restaurant that you know will cater to you and not to your partner and do not be shy about it. It is you that wants to eat healthily or who is on a diet and the company that you are with should have respect for it.

I never order a sauce with my food when eating out not even with my salad and always make sure that I tell the waiter no sauces. I will ask for a grilled steak or fish with a salad in place of the potato, rice, or vegetable of the day. I will never order just a salad as this is the most obvious thing to do when you are on a diet and only attract attention to you. I do not know about you but I hate being the center point of attention.

By sharing meals with someone I found it easier to stick to what I have to eat and also the portion size is normally just perfect!

footer.jpg

We have worked through all the questions and you should now be able to answer my question; if we truly are what we eat then what do your eating habits say about you?

My eating habits tell me that I need a drastic change.

See you next week with more information on “We are what we eat”.

footer.jpg

25% of this post is set to @abiga554 for #helpaurora
Read more

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here
Sort:  

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags.
Curated by: @eliany

BRINGING_MUSIC_TO_YOUR_EARS.gif

 last year 

@eliany
Thank you! 🎕
It is appreciated!

 last year 

Truly we are what we eat. After reading this I am going to do something about the things I eat.

 last year 

Haha! You sound just like me!
Thank you for the visit! 🎕

 last year 

We really should eat more vegetables and greens and less canned. People look for ease and not the natural and healthy.

We are what we eat. and the best thing is to eat well.

Thanks for sharing friend.

Happy night 🙏

 last year 

Let’s blame time for not eating the correct food 😊
Thanks for the visit my friend 🌸

 last year 

De nada amiga 💜 🙏

I wrote part of my thoughts and my answer on this topic in my post.

This topic is very interesting and makes us think once again about healthy food.
At home, on my dining table, there are a lot of vegetables grown in my garden. We often have meat that I raised myself - rabbit.
I would like to see my quail and chicken eggs on the table, and also lamb. And this was in my plans when my wife and I were building a new house. But 11 years ago I was offered a job that began to take a lot of my time. My wife is not my assistant in caring for animals. She also has a lot of work right now.
But we can fully provide ourselves with vegetables for winter consumption. The main problem of nutrition occurs in winter. In summer, everything is simple - I went out into the garden, picked onions from the garden, took a cucumber, tomato, other green grass and cooked myself a meal.
In terms of food, my wife and my children are omnivores, we can eat everything - oatmeal (porridge) for breakfast in the morning, and in the evening we often eat what's left of breakfast. If we have cooked a lot of porridge, then we will eat it. It's still a joke. But it often happens that way, especially on weekends. 😂

 last year 

Okay, I have to smile... two worlds apart.
Quail and porridge!
I love quail but, I prefer porridge (•ิ‿•ิ)
We call it "pap". In the morning you can eat it with butter, milk and sugar and in the evening with gravy and meat. To die for!

image.png

You're teasing me!
What did I eat for dinner today? My daughter ate my dinner, she didn't wait for me. I remembered. I ate 2 eggs with pickled cucumber and black bread. And drank tea.

I left pancakes with chicken for dinner yesterday. And I brought pancakes with pears to my daughter, because she refused to eat pancakes with meat this morning and I kept it for dinner. But I didn't scold her, I'm glad she had dinner without me. She doesn't eat much.

 last year 

A true daddy! Leaving the kid to eat.
I am sure you are her hero.(•ิ‿•ิ)

🙏🙏🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54