Choices! What will it be? #71

in Steem For Ladies3 days ago
I was at a friend's party when I heard, "Hello," he said, extending his arms and holding me tightly.

I looked at that stranger and replied, "Hello" in a low voice, and tried to free myself from his tight hug.

'How are you, my friend?' He patted me several times with such force that I wasn't feeling comfortable.

"How are you doing? How is your wife? And the children?"

"Thank you," I said politely. "Everything is fine."

Did he mistake me for someone else?

whisky-8381815_640.jpg

Source

A friend who had noticed me came up to me. Before he could talk to me, this stranger took him in his arms and said, “Hi.”

He patted my friend on the back and asked about his wife and children. My friend replied, “Yes, thank you, they are all fine.”

“Who is this man?” I asked my friend when that man went to the other side of the room.

I have never seen him,” he said. “I thought he was your."

I replied. “Let us ask the host.”

We asked our host, “Who is this friend of yours?”

That man was at that moment hugging a person and moving further ahead to grab another one.

The host said. “I thought he was with you.”

“No way,” my friend said. “I have never seen him. He may have come with someone else.”

“Maybe,” the host said, “well, it doesn’t matter. He seems to know a lot of people. Friends of my friends are always welcome at my place, especially if they are friendly."

‘Friendly’ was the right word. This man seems to know everyone. By now, he had hugged everyone at the party.

He hugged the host and said, “This is a splendid party. Thank you for inviting me. Now I am leaving. I have to go to two more parties."

“Who was he?" Every person in the party was asking this question to each other. It seemed that no one knew him. He had just come to the city, he was everywhere in every party, at house parties, government functions, political meetings, religious events, social functions, weddings, and even funeral processions.

Once he told me his name was Jamy, and then he left me midway and walked out with his arms outstretched to embrace another guest. He didn't like to be out of focus.

People used to say that Jamy loved publicity, and he knew every important person, and even mentioned the name of every important person in his conversation.

For instance, I heard him say, "I told Modi on my last visit to New Delhi that whenever he spoke on international issues, he should mention this."

“Modi...who?” I asked hesitantly.

You don’t know your Prime Minister? He is my old friend. I said to him, “Listen, Narendra, if you want to win the election, you must handle Rahul Gandhi carefully.”

buddha-statue-546458_640.jpg

Source

Jamy never shied away from talking to ordinary people like us, and, when needed, he would ask for our advice on his problems.

"Listen, I want to talk to you about something."

Then he would ask in a mysterious voice, "What kind of place is Australia? You have lived there for a long time. You must know about it."

"Australia," I said. "It is a nice place. Are you going there?"

Jamy smiled and said, "'Holidays! But keep this to yourself. I have not decided yet."

Jamy had made similar enquiries with others about every country, you name it, America, England, Italy, and Switzerland.

However, none of us seem to know what he did, but he said he did something very important, and his income was good. He always wore expensive clothes, and used expensive perfumes. Apart from his clothes and upkeep, he had other signs of prosperity.

Jamy had talked to every citizen of the city and enquired about the health of their wives and children. At times, he would also visit people's offices and say, "I was just passing by."

He would say, "If there is one thing that can be said for certain in life, it is death." There was a deep truth in what Jamy said, and he was a master at presenting deep truths in his discussions.

One day, the morning newspapers reported that the wife of a former minister had passed away. Jamy was there and seemed very sad at the lady's death.

He embraced us all, but this time he was crying loudly. "We were all deeply moved by his crying, and we began to think that the lady must have been a close relative of his. But the truth was that he had never met the former minister or his late wife.

But Jamy was an emotional person, so when the former minister came out, he hugged him and kept crying loudly for a long time. I thought he needed consolation more than the minister.

When he calmed down, he started consoling and explained to everyone that life is short, and there is no option but to accept it—everyone has to die one day.

He sighed deeply and said to the former president, 'God has taken away your beloved wife; may her soul rest in peace. He paused for a moment and added, "But he has left you to take care of your children and grandchildren. Now think, if he had taken you first and left your wife to take care of the children, what would have been her condition?"

The old gentleman accepted that God is both just and merciful. But now his turn has come, and after him, he will take care of his family.

"Yes, there is no doubt about it! He will definitely do so. God is great, but man also must take measures to secure his future."

The old gentleman accepted both of Jamy's points—that God is generous and that he should also make arrangements for his future. Their conversation continued till we reached the cremation ground.

Jamy started having a long discussion with the former minister, so we left them alone.

Jamy took out a paper from his pocket and started reading it to the former minister. We thought it must be some religious sermon because he was carefully listening to every word of it.

umbrella-2904775_640.jpg

Source

In the end, Jamy said that he had to attend another ceremony and left.

Later, we came to know Jamy was an insurance agent, and he sold a policy to the former minister. So that was the secret of this friendly man and the mystery of his income.

Let me invite my dear friend who is happy with my income on this site @senehasa and @jyoti-thelight who already has a good income.

@steemladies
@wox-helpfund

Sort:  
 3 days ago 

We are not here to live every day; we will leave this earth one day, but we can carry with us our good name and value. So, in this world, we can live in harmony with everyone, enjoying each other's company and loving one another. Jamy seemed to be enjoying his life rather than suffering through it. Good luck with the contest, and thank you for the invitation.

Oh yes, I agree Jamy is a good guy who cares for everyone especially when the matter is related to life and death. Every insurance agent is a happy and helpful or at least shows it off in his actions. That's the secret of his income.

 3 days ago 

That is their professional way, but not every insurance agent can act like that; it requires skill.

 2 days ago 

Maybe if I had known Jamy earlier in my life, I would have changed my career.

If my daughter were here, she would have told you that the moral of the story is that you must never underestimate the friendliness of mankind. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you. I enjoyed your income story.

Good luck with the contest!

You said, "earlier"! In my case, I was too late and I call myself a marketing professional 😂I am sure I would have learned a few lessons from Jamy if he had been my teacher in business school 😄

 2 days ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated."
Your post will be submitted on Monday, 12 August 2024.

Well done!
@patjewell

Thank you so much!

 9 hours ago 

💕


Hello there, you have posted a great quality post and we are happy to support you, stay up with good quality publications

Curated by : @𝖾𝗅-𝗇𝖺𝗂𝗅𝗎𝗅

Thank you @𝖾𝗅-𝗇𝖺𝗂𝗅𝗎𝗅, much appreciated.

 3 days ago 
Estado del club#Club100
Exclusivo de Steem
Libre de plagio
Sin bots
Votación CSI[? ] (14.3 ( 0.00 % self, 174 upvotes, 128 accounts, last 7d)
Damas de Steem10%
Burnsteem250%
Contenido de IAHumano
Recuento de palabras1,033

Saludos gracias por compartir tu participación con nosotros te deseo el mayor de los éxitos.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53