Open Happiness (Week 8): Touching lives through Selfless Giving!

in SteemAlive3 years ago

1.jpg
divider2.jpg

Introduction

We welcome you to another opportunity to touch lives through Selfless giving. Goodevening. We have not been able to host this event for some time now due to circumstances beyond our control. But now we are back and better. Tonight, you have an opportunity to share something with others and touch there lives. Giving makes us happy. Lets share what we have and Open happiness for others. Welcome once again to this opportunity. Together we can

Pls click here to learn more about Open Happiness.

divider2.jpg

Open Talk

Each time we host the Open happiness event, we also do an Open talk where we discuss issues that concerns everyone. So get ready as you join us in the comment section of this post to discuss something that concerns all of us.

For the open talk to start, the sponsor will make the first comment on this post and raise the topic for discussion. Then members of the community can join the discussion and free express their opinions on the subject matter for 30 minutes.

As a participant, what do you need to do?

  1. Wait for the Host to start the discussion.
  2. Respond to as many persons as you can.
  3. Always refresh your page to see new comments
  4. Be creative, relate personal experiences, ask questions, avoid short comments.
  5. Make it fun too

@focusnow would be the hosts tonight. He has donated 30 Steem for the Open talk tonight.

divider2.jpg

Conclusion

Open Happiness is loved by our community members. After all, who of us does not enjoy recieving gifts. You can actually support this project by participating in the discussions. More important, help us realize the goal of Open Happiness by being generous. You do not have to be rich to be give. A little airtime, cash, Steem or Sbd, or other gifts will go a long way to make someone smile.

We thank the Steemit team for always supporting our projects. To you our valued member, we thank you for supporting SteemAlive community. Together, we can rewrite history. Together we can touch lives through selfless giving. Let us Open Happiness!!! Together we can!!!!

Written by: @focusnow
For: @steemalive

divider2.jpg

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Goodevening friends. Lets talk:

Childhood dreams

  • What did you dream to become when you were a Child?
  • Was it the Career you are pursuing now?
  • If no, what changed? What are you doing now?
 3 years ago 

Wonderful topic for today.

I dreamt of becoming a nurse when I was growing up. I liked nurses and I like taking care of people.

That is not what I am into now.

It all changed when I couldn't gain admission into the nursing school for more than 2yearsm I then decided to change my mind.

I am currently a steemian.

 3 years ago 

Hahahaha. Waooh. Nursing is a great career. But its sad you couldnt gain the admission needed to study it. May I know how you felt then after trying and failing twice?

 3 years ago 

Well, I wasn't happy at all. But I had to move on. I was adviced to change my dream which I did. And instead of nursing, I am now an accountant though not a practicing one

 3 years ago 

You must be very good in mathematics to even think of accounting in the first place. Hope am right? Was it a difficult course. Like from the outside, i feel its all about mathematics

 3 years ago 

Well, while in school, I deed my best to understand mathematics till the point that it became my favorite.

Accounting is the simplest course ever. I enjoyed it and even hopped to write a professional exam like ICAN and become a chattered accountant. But that didn't work out either.
Account is not just about mathematics. It has several aspects.

 3 years ago 

A good steemian at that

 3 years ago 

Indeed ma'am
I am also a steemian currently

 3 years ago 

Wow! That was a nice dream @ngoenyi, its a pity that your pursued it for 2years, and still could not find. It actually happened to me though.

mine was to become a doctor but considering the schooling sector of the country, I had to change becaue I know I will not be offered an admission to study that course, even when I beat the score in JAMB.

It was really a pity, I really happy to see you as a full te steemian! Its good, and it is payimg off, so enjoy the money !

 3 years ago (edited)

It is usually very annoying, not getting what you want in life. But at the same time, I am grateful that life has other options. So instead of being frustrated, one has to take the available option and move on. After all, all what we want is to take care of our needs when they arise.
Thank you for your nice reply. We move

 3 years ago 

Being a nurse would have fit you but being a steemian fits you better.
You wouldn't have had enough time to train us if you were a nurse. Anyways, I don't think it's too late to still apply. Or is it?

I wanted being and electrical engineer and no it is not the career I'm pursuing now, lol jamb change am for me o. I succeeded in finishing my first degree in Building Technology because my cut off mark was not enough for Elect/Elect I ended up liking building tech though, and I am thinking of furthering my career in that path

 3 years ago 

Waooh. Quite a Story. Happy you liked what you later studied. But may I know how you felt initially after not being able to pursue your first dream?

Boss @focusnow it was a sad experience for me because I had already spent 3yrs at home doing nothing.
My colleagues some were already in 200 level

I just made up my mind to study it.
And I'm glad I did

 3 years ago 

Am happy you didnt dwell on the disappointment for too long. Now lets say you have the opportunity to go back and do whatever you want, what carrer would be your choice again

I will still choose that Elect/Elect
Especially the electronic aspects..

I remember in secondary School when our teacher asked us what we wanted to be when we grow o
My friend said doctor and I said engineer and the teacher said why do we want to be that?
My Friend was like "to save lives" and I was speechless na
I couldn't say "to save electronics" 😂😂

 3 years ago 

@chang, that was a wonderful aspiration. Lolz, you mean jamb changed it for you? This jamb of a thing is really painful. Sometimes, if you beat the score, you might not be given the admission too. I happy that you found another course that interested you. Thanks for sharimg with us your initial dream

Thanks for reading boss

 3 years ago 

Wow! Sometimes jamb can see into the future 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂
It's interesting as you are now comfortable with what you later studied. Besides, building technology is more patronized in Nigeria.
Thanks for sharing

Thanks u
And pls patronize me🥺

 3 years ago 

Of cause at the right time.
God bless our hustle

 3 years ago 

I dreamt of becoming a lawyer but as life will have it, when you ask for rice instead you end up getting beans but that is life because we will definitely pass through alot but once there is life, there is no hope.

No,is not the career I am pursuing now but still glad to I am still stand tall when things fell apart on my way to the top.

Alot took place, I lost my dad and the course I was offered in school was English instead of law I applied for but still yet, I don't lose because i know even inside the well, it's well with me.

 3 years ago 

Waooh. yours was quite a journey. Am sorry about the death of your dad. But how did you feel at the time you realized you couldnt study law

 3 years ago 

Very angry but that is life for you, life is a stage and everybody is an actor, when I could study law, I had to change my role and expect part 2 of it to be out but since it was forth coming, I decided to become the chief character and I don't have regret today.

 3 years ago 

Waooh. Thanks for your strenght of character. May I ask which other course or career you admire today?

 3 years ago 

I studied English in school and I was a teacher before the Covid-19 pandemic and I had to divert into being a security personnel. I love life and is because i am alive.

 3 years ago 

When I was a child I wanted to be a Nurse, because of the way I see people respect Nurses and Doctors, because they save lives.
Yes today am a Nurse in profession for ten years now,and have been happy practicing and seeing people get well out of my efforts and God's permission,@meymeyshop is a witness to that.

 3 years ago 

Waooh!!! this is really a big dream come true. Am happy for you. Can I ask you a question: Apart from nursing, which other profession would you have pursued?

 3 years ago 

Well,I loved been female pilot.but my father's money wasn't upto that level of study

 3 years ago 

Waooh. You are such a brave person. You didnt think about plane crashes? Am afriad of that.

 3 years ago 

Noooo,I love things that challenges my intelligence and strength.

 3 years ago 

Beauty you have mind ooo. Me I use to fear blood alot oooo. Kudos to you.

 3 years ago 

Nothing is there

 3 years ago 

Something is there ooooo....

Haha

 3 years ago 

Wow
Am glad to see someone that had a childhood dream and still live upto its fulfillment.
God bless you Ma'am

 3 years ago 

Thank you dear

 3 years ago 

Good evening everyone, I really like this question

When I was a child I dreamn't of been a soldier.

But the career that I'm pushing for now is becoming an Engineer, a petrochemical engineer to be precise.

What changed is the nature of the country, I withdrew the love of becoming a soldier I don't want to join and after which I will be sent to Sambisa forest to fight those deadly guys they call Bokoharam. I really like what I'm doing now when I'm done with my studies here I will simply go to UK for my Masters.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for your input Kingcent. Waooh. Joining the Army is not a popular choice among youths. What drew you to that profession at first

 3 years ago 

Respect!! In general if you are a soldier people fear you alot.

You can just put Military zone keep off

 3 years ago 

hahahahaha. Can you put there when you are with your friends? Was the fear factor the only motivation?

 3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone
Greetings to @steemalive community and my great mentor @focusnow,I feel good about open happiness this evening,its such an amazing topic and I will like to share my answer.

Childhood dreams...

Wow...

what did I dream to become when I was a child?

When I was a child,I've always dreamt of being a medical doctor. By all means I was determined to study medicine and I pursued that career to an extent but along the way my dream and passion changed because of certain circumstances.

Was it the career that am pursuing now?

The answer is no. I never get the opportunity to pursue my dream profession. Along the way of my career path,so many things happened ranging from not getting admission with my dream course down to financial challenges and all the rest of them,but the fact still remain that I didn't pursue my dream course.

If no,changed? What am doing now?

Currently am doing nothing career wise. I've waited for 4years just to get admission into my dream course but didn't get,secondly as I advanced in age I found out that I only wanted to be a doctor because of the title and lastly when I finally got admitted into FUTO to study optometry,finance became a barrier so with all this challenges encountered,I decided not to pursue that career path again but instead I will go for a non lucrative course and pursue as a career.

Thanks to steemit,am currently a steemian.

 3 years ago 

That was quite an experience. Am sorry about all the challenges. But am sure you kept on fighting. How did you feel at the time you couldnt gain admission to study your dream course?

 3 years ago 

Well I never gave up fighting to become more useful for myself and the society at large,even though am not yet in school but i still believe that soonest I will actualize my dream

 3 years ago 

@focusnow please what career did you dreamed as a child and ???????? Lol

 3 years ago 

I loved a lot of craft work. I was always loosing things and trying to fix them back. So I loved mechanical engineering. I tried for 3 years and failed to gain an admission to study that course. I then accidently met a brother that was into Web designing. I joined as an apprentice in his firm. I grew this love for Computers and eventually studied Computer Science. If you give opportunity to go back and choose again, I wont think twice about Computer Science

 3 years ago 

Hmmmm,that was a good one.a second chance might come up.

 3 years ago 

Smiles. This is really a wonderful talk-show! I will apologize for coming late. Like I said earliar it is really a wonderful one.

Let me quickly tell you guys my dreams when i was a child. You know, as child there is childish mentality that you will have, lol, then with this mentality, I used to call myself a doctor, I had always loved this profession.

The actual reason behind this love was the practical aspect, it interested me so much that I could not control the passion for it.

The funny part is that, I am not pursuing it again, not because I don't like the profession, just that, I considered the condition of the country, having the mindset that gaining admission to the institution to study it would become a war, and so found myself today in the midst of computer scientist.

Today, I am not in the way of becoming a doctor. The joyous part of it, is that I so much love what I am doing now. If you're are following my writeup you will notice the career I'm pursuing now. Its a great one!

 3 years ago 

Ever since I was small, my dream is to become an engineer.
Yes,My discipline is Electrical and Electronics Engineering my dream course, actually it didn't come easy as we all know it is very hard to gain admission in Nigeria universities for courses like this.. I had to write Jamb three times, it was on my third attempt that I was finally admitted.

Being a medical doctor.

 3 years ago 

Oh I appreciate your feedback Sammy. That was a big dream. So what happened. What career are you pursuing now?

 3 years ago 

Doctor of the most high

 3 years ago 

Is a nice choice but university nowadays and with what is at stake, you don't offer the course of your choice again

 3 years ago 

So how is it going?

 3 years ago 
  1. My dream was just to be a consultant. Someone people can consult for their businesses and financial advise.
    2.Along the line, the game changed and focus was directed to another thing.
  2. Presently, that vision tends to be coming into place gradually, not fully blown out yet. But I am hoping it will finally be realised.
 3 years ago 

Nice to hear from you. Been a consultant is splendid. If I may ask is it a security consultant or what type of consultant?

 3 years ago 

Financial and investment consultant.

 3 years ago 

Well Sir, you can become a Steemit Consultant soonest - possibly a professor. But may I know why you loved the Consulting career at first

 3 years ago 

I observed that so many have money, but dont know where and how to invest. This reason is also accompanied out of compassion and kindness.

 3 years ago 

Indeed bro you must surely get there
Just keep pushing

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your best wished.

 3 years ago 

Woow! That's a wonderful dream @benton3, I would have loved you to be my business consultant 😊. Aww! Sometimes dreams changes.

 3 years ago 

That is very right. It changes due to situations. However one can still achieve that in his own little way.

 3 years ago 

Good evening everyone... All the bosses, I hail thee for doing this great job.
I couldn't comment earlier because I've been battling with network problems since afternoon.
But the steemian energy won't let me give up.
Growing up as a child, I dreamt of to becoming a newscaster.
Everyday after school, I'll sit in front of the mirror reading any book I could lay hands on and imagining seeing myself on the TV. (the mirror served as TV).
I admired all those people casting news on NTA... People like Cyril Stoba, Eugenia Abu etc.
But unfortunately and fortunately, I couldn't get admission on time and when it finally came, I was given educational course.
I accepted it as fate and today I am a trained, certified and proud teacher.
All thanks to God

This is fun abeg. Just had to laugh out loud as I read through.
As for me during childhood, I've always wanted to be an accountant. Sincerely God is seeing me through. I wrote jamb once and was given admission to study accounting. I just graduated 2019 set, about to go for youth service. I will love do my masters in accounting and also be a chattered accountant soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69