SteemAlive Presents: ProWritersHub (W6) - Getting help from extended family members - My story

in SteemAlive2 years ago

InShot_20220815_142409009.jpgdesigned with inshot app

Preface

Hi guys, I'm here again. We all have places we belong to, lineage, family line etc. Extended family members are people who share the same blood with us as relatives, aunts, uncles, cousins, nephews, nieces etc. I've got relatives from my Mom and Dad's family and of course I've noticed a whole lot on their behaviors and attitudes towards members of the family who ain't their children, parents or siblings.

I've actually noticed that my maternal extended family members are the worst set of people I could go to when faced with challenges, all they care about is themselves and what belongs to them, so I prefer dying alone with my wahalas

             While

Relatives from my father's side are awesome, superb and amazing set of people. They can go through odds to help each other out, they have a golden heart of which I'm proud of, that's why I'll forever be indebted to dad's family till death do us part😁. I've been helped severally by my paternal extended family members but I wanna share just one of such experience.

How it all happened

It all started when I found myself in a tight corner financially while the SSCE registration was ongoing, Dad had tried his best to clear all the examination fees before time. Just two-days to the examination, it was demanded that we pay the sum #8,000 for thumbprint and capturing as only eligible students would be given student's ID card as a permit into the exams hall.

My dad had too many pressures already and I didn't want to add to it, besides the family's financial status wasn't stable. I paid my way to the village without my dad's knowledge and went straight to my aunt's house. After helping her with some chores, I explained everything to her and although it was sudden, she gave me my fare back home and told me to come back the next day.

The next day dawned at me in my aunt's home as I was really desperate, I can't just loose my 6 years of education this way. My aunt gave me the needed amount and added some more for my other needs,I was more than grateful as she saved my butt and I was able to write the examination successfully.

My challenge

I was in a deep state of financial difficulty, I'm actually known in my family in terms of saving for future use but this at particular moment, I realized I didn't have Kobo on me. It was just so frustrating and I didn't want to bother dad, he's done a lot already.

Was she capable of helping??

Actually, I've merited help from various members of my paternal extended family and they've done that even without having to make request. Although my aunt has her own family and children, she's always the right person to run to when in trouble because she welcomes with open arms. She's is my closest aunt, friend and extended family member and I adore her

How I view my extended family members

Although, relatives from my mom's side exhibit the "I don't care attitude" towards us, I still give them the respect they deserve because we have the same blood running in us. God admonishes us not to revenge because vengeance is his, he will repay, besides what you want men to do to you, do likewise. I wish them the best that life offers, what goes up will always come down.

As for my paternal extended family members, they're the best. They're like body parts which cannot function without the other, I pray and hope the peace and unity found within themselves lasts till eternity.

Can I survive without the assistance of extended family members??

I paid my way to the village without my dad's knowledge and went straight to my aunt's house.

I forgot to explain why I did that, my dad has trained us to be independent of others, never to live our lives depending on others. I decided to visit my aunt without dad's knowledge because he would have told me to stay back that he'll see what he can do. Even after paying the money, my dad scolded and shouted at me severally for seeking help from a family woman who has her own responsibilities, she had to plead with my dad over the phone to take things easy with me.

I've decided to live with or without help. Even the Bible says that "each one will carry his own load", so I let that Bible verse shape my life. I can only ask for help when a situation is completely beyond my control.

Postface

I keep saying that family is gold whether nuclear or extended. What pulls family apart is the lack of love and trust amongst themselves. Therefore, we should endeavour to promote peace and love to strengthen the bonds in our respective families.

Special mention
@ijelady
@focusnow
@marajah

25%- #null

Sort:  

This is quite beautiful. Your paternal extended family is quite magnanimous.

 2 years ago 

Yeah and I really do appreciate them for that

 2 years ago 

yeah the really help her get an amazing way the I wish I was there one would also her aunty is really go give you money and also adding more for you

 2 years ago 

Good to hear that you have families that can help you when you are inneed. God bless your aunty for providing for you. I hope you will not forget her when you made it. Hahahaha.

 2 years ago 

Sure, she occupies the top right corner of my heart
I really love that soul and I'll return the favors someday

Wow @precious123 your aunty has been like my own uncle.
In everything we prayed for better family members

 2 years ago 

I dey tell you her aunty is really good and also giving her such huge amount of money that was enough and also gave to pocket money abeg your aunty the try for you she is really a good woman

 2 years ago (edited)

Am really sorry about relatives from your mothers side. The ones from your fathers side deserve some respect. I appreciate their help. Your case is somehow different oo. I noticed in Igbo land that its majorly the mothers side that will listen to you. What I mean is if you are to receive help, its likely from the mother's side. But then am happy that both sides did not abandon you like many have experienced.

CriteriaRating
Club75
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2.2/2.5
Use of Markdown2/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2.3/2.5
Total8.5/10
 2 years ago 

It is rare to see both sides of the family to show the same love toward each other. My joy is that, you have a family you can run to in times of distress.
Your Aunty is a super woman with heart if gold. May her bank account never lack money to withdraw.

 2 years ago 

Iseeeeeehhhhh

May it never lack money ooo and I pray she lives to reap the reward of her labor

 2 years ago 

Let Jehovah's will be done.

 2 years ago 

yeah her aunty is really supper good and I wish to have such person in my life indeed God will surely bless that woman

Hmm some how somehow you took a risk by visiting your aunt without your father's knowledge, to me I feel is bad.

 2 years ago 

Lol, na normal thing
I knew my dad won't allow me go, so I had to take the risk besides she's family jare

 2 years ago 

that's determination she really wanted that money and also her preoius anuty gave her she is really a good woman

 2 years ago 

abeg her aunty nah good woman and also she the try for you

My aunt gave me the needed amount and added some more for my other needs,I was more than grateful as she saved my butt and I was able to write the examination successfully.

which I have this kind of person she is really a good and helping himan being I love that

 2 years ago 

Smiles, don't worry you'll be blessed with one soonest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19