Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 2 (Week 3)|KWIKSPAR By @patjewell

in SteemAlive2 years ago



KWIKSPAR BALLITO VILLAGE

Being a new resident in our area the need to buy food is on top of our “to buy” list.

I decided this morning to not only visit a supermarket I have never shopped from but also a supermarket chain I don’t buy from, KWIKSPAR. The only reason for not shopping at one of the outlets before is that there wasn’t one near me.

1932 – SPAR opened its doors in Netherland as DE SPAR
1940 – The name was changed to SPAR
1963 – SPAR started operating in South Africa with four retail formats, SPAR, SPAR Express, KWIKSPAR and SUPERSPAR

The SPAR group is currently operating in 48 countries therefor there will be some of my Steemian friends who will be able to compare this supermarket with one in their area.

They say that first impressions are lasting impressions. If this is the case I can still see myself shopping from this supermarket for a very long time. From entering the shop I felt welcomed. There were flowers at the door, ample shopping trolleys and staff welcoming shoppers.

I invite you to enjoy the shopping experience with me.



Name of business: KWIKSPAR BALLITO VILLAGE
Contact details: +27 32 946 1536
Location: 22 Sandra Road, 4399 Ballito, South Africa.

Image Source Image Source

Available Products

Whatever you are looking for to buy at a supermarket was available at KWIKSPAR from fruit, vegetables, fresh food, cooked food, tinned food, drinks, cleaning material as well as personal hygiene products.

The first stop was the bread section. Although there was not the same variety from what I have seen from other supermarkets the bread was fresh with expiring dates set for next week. The price for the normal white and brown bread was similar compared to other supermarkets.

What was nice was the variety of homemade rusks they were selling. My stepson just love rusk and although it was not on my shopping list I had to buy for him. If you can get homemade rusks from a supermarket you buy it without looking at what it cost.

I just had to stop at the meat section so that I could take a photo of the biltong they were selling for all those Steemians who enjoyed my biltong post.

What was nice of KWIKSPAR was the variety. There were garlic, peri-peri and pepper biltong. What was also interesting was the air dried bacon strips they were selling. You will see them right in the front of the display cabinet.



I did find that the biltong was on the expensive side and that you can buy for cheaper from a butchery.

Cost of normal biltong: R 420.00 per kg. (South African rand), +/- 120 STEEM per kg.

My last stop I want to share with you is the cold section. My family loves omelettes and a ham and cheese omelette on a Saturday is just what the doctor ordered. Here I compared the prices of the various ham.

What impressed me was the different types of ham they were selling.
• Sandwich ham
• Cooked ham
• Hickory ham
• Capicola
• Gypsey ham
• Honey and mustard
• Prosciutto ham

Cost of normal cooked ham: R 24.00 per 200 gram (South African rand), +/- 7 STEEM per 200 gram.

Products Bought

ItemDescriptionSA RandSteem
Full cream milk 2 litreR 26.997.7 STEEM
Pepsi max 2 litreR 12.503.57 STEEM
Pecan nut rusks 450gR 62.9917.99 STEEM
White bread 700gR 17.494.99 STEEM
Note:Price of STEEM based on R 3.50 for 1 STEEM



Overview

Of importance is that supermarkets meet the expectations of the shoppers. In today’s economic environment there is a constant war over recognition of the different brands with the results that supermarkets cannot afford not to differentiate themselves.

It is a must that supermarkets satisfied the need of the shoppers.

Did KWIKSPAR BALLITO VILLAGE passed the test?

SECTIONSCORE out of 10
Location8
Experience9
Service10
Variety10
Quality10
Costing8
Specials6
Isle space7
Friendliness9
Parking5
TOTAL SCORE8.2

Lasting Impression

On paying at the till counter I was asked if I want a bag. I said yes. To my surprise I was given brown bags. This was new from any of my supermarket shopping.

I was curious as to how much I paid for these bags and could not wait to get home. To my horror I had to discover that it was R 3,00 or +/- 1 STEEM for one bag.

I took a closer look and discovered that from each brown bag purchased the full amount goes to gender violence.
My disappointment quickly changed to a big smile.



KWIKSPAR BALLITO VILLAGE won me over! They will for sure see me again.

I invite: @malikusman1 @divineeko @adylinah
Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Nice review of kwikspar which is a super market that sells quality products like fresh bread,grilled meat,air dried bacon,nuts,milk and other edible products.It is also interesting to see that you patronized them by buying as much as 19 items.@patjewell

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club100
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown2.1/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2/2.5
Total8.1/10

Thanks for the review my friend.
I am indeed in Club100. I powered up all my earnings last Sunday. :-)

The STEEM currently in my wallet is my earnings for this week. I don't do power ups every day.

Very good post @patjewell. One small query - has the store moved recently, or changed their exterior as Google Streetview appears to have a very different look for the store than your first photo?

Or is there another of this same store very nearby?

Screenshot 2022-06-26 064850.png

Thank you for the remark about a good post!
As for the Spar, change of ownership and upgrade to a Kwikspar.
https://www.theballitomagazine.co.za/change-of-ownership-for-ballito-spar-at-the-beach/
Now I cannot help to wonder… have you been here before? Are you from here? Or, would you like to be from here? 😊

Dankie. Dit is lekker om op hoogte te bly van die plaaslike nuus. 😁

Nee!!! Ek glo dit nie! Slaan my met 'n nat vis!
Het jy al van Steemit gehoor? Ek sal graag jou nommer wil hê sodat ek jou meer daarvan kan vertel. (•ิ‿•ิ)

asseblief ek wil ook graag weet 😁

Ons gaan vir ewig wag 😊

LoL julle twee is snaaks ek dink julle sal my op 'n tutoriaal in Afrikaans neem😎😎

 2 years ago 

Yes, you are right. You are in club100

Hi, the user patjewell just made (in 3 month(s)):

  • CASH OUTS: 0 STEEM
  • POWER UPs: 5544.537 STEEM

CLUB100: ✅ Elegible. You should power up .

Please @samuel20, you will need to revisit your review. Thanks

 2 years ago 

Alright.

 2 years ago 

Edited friend.

Thank you 🤛🏻

Initially I never know spare had a branch in south African, The structure looks nice 🙂.

Now you have learned something... Spar comes from South Africa. Just like Checkers .(•ิ‿•ิ)
It is nice to see a local brand in another country.
Thanks for the visit!

I've never heard of rusks before. Reading all these posts makes me feel like I've been to different stores, shops and markets. You have the isle space. 7 😅 so you love large isle spaces?

Ah! The next South African dish I can write about.
It is like taking bread like a hotcross bun then you bake it for a 2nd time at a low heat for a long time to dry it out.
You then dunk it like a biscuit in your coffee or tea 😊 It is super delicious!
Thanks for stopping by 🌼

Wow 😲 that's cool

The SPAR group is currently operating in 48 countries therefor there will be some of my Steemian friends who will be able to compare this supermarket with one in their area.

I am sure of this except in my country. This government officials are going to fight it for no reason.

Wow this is really a beautiful supermarket. It sells Amazing spice and I am sure you enjoyed the time you had there.

Thank you for the visit!
Funny enough, I first thought of doing a post about McDonald’s just to discover that it is only available in 4 Africa countries. All because of goverment issues.
How sad!
As for shopping I don’t like it but today’s was different and I enjoyed it, thank you.

This is interesting. Reading the history of SPAR is much meaningful to Nigerians because we have them here and we know its own by south Africans.

Same thing with Shoprite.

And the interesting part is that they have the same format of operation everywhere.

Thank you for sharibg this review.

Ah! So now you can compare apples with apples😊
Thanks for reading and replying to my post.
I appreciate it.

You are very much welcome

Sure when we take up resident in new place we familiarize ourselves first with the area, as you have rightly said buy food stuff comes first and going through your experience here it was not bad. I which you enjoyable environment.

Stay calm @patjewell

Thank you for the visit!
To crown it we have serious "loadshedding" or power cuts these days. Twice a day. This make shopping very difficult.
It was one thing which I failed to mention in my post. The shop had generators. (•ิ‿•ิ)

The review of kwikspar goes well, we don't have a branch here In Nigeria, I don't think so, out of the 48 countries, Nigeria is not registered, what a pity, I would have had a share of their packages and goods, with the bag inclusive.

They offer good product at a very commensurate price, but for their biltong, am curious as to why it was costly.

Greetings and blessings

I had a look and you don't have the Kwikspar outlets but you do have SPAR, the mother of all :-)

Specifically, there are eight stores in Lagos, two each in Abuja and Port Harcourt and one each in Enugu and Calabar

Thank your for your visit and your engagement!

Oh well, i have never been in neither of the state, reasons why i never came across it.

Thanks for the research on my behalf

What do the say? There is always a first time for everything 😊
South Africa is so big and I don’t think I’ve seen a quarter of it. I would love to do a road trip in my own country one day.

 2 years ago (edited)

South Africa is so big and I don’t think I’ve seen a quarter of it.

So true.

Likewise, a road trip will do a lot of good to meet new tribe, languages, culture and as Form of vacation

As it is I learned a bit of Zuly today as where we are now living is in KwaZulu Natal, land of the Zulu's. They even have a Zulu king. Such a proud tribe, rich in culture.
I am sure I am still going to learn a lot.

 2 years ago (edited)

Hmm let me inform the oracle(google) I need to see the type of tribe they are, their culture and language.

Zulu sounds ancient ma'am .

in the land of the zulu, haha.

Maybe a movies with that name can come up. I imagine that they only with leaves,
Or my imagination is just too wild haha

Indeed! You do have vivid imagination (•ิ‿•ิ)

A traditional Zulu village showing off the a Zulu hut and the tradition clothing.
These days very few stay in huts and the clothing is only worn on special days,

You have done a great review about this store, this is your first visit to this store, and I'm glad you love it there. I think their biltong is expensive because they is a big and well know supermarket. We will go and buy biltong from a butchery. Thanks for sharing and Good luck ma.

It is for me to say thank you for the visit! You are such a loyal supporter and I applaud you for that. 🎕
I don't like shopping full stop. I don't like being crowded and now that I am thinking back the shop was still yesterday. Maybe that also contribute to me enjoying it.

image.png

Are they all meat, they look like what we call suya her in Nigeria.

spar is doing very here in Nigeria infact it is my best place of shopping and I love them because they provide employment and opportunities to the masses.

Yip! That is all meat that was air dried which is the difference between biltong and suya.
Biltong - air dried
Suya - smoked dried

This is the first reply I've read about Spar in Nigeria. It is nice to read that Spar is your best place for shopping.
It warms my heart to read about the employment and opportunities they offer. It is wonderful!
Thank you for your reply!

I think air dried will be sweeter than the smoked one, I have tested the air dried from the northern part of Nigeria.

We ever air dry fish😊

Ma'am, this market is very good and it looks great. Its quality is also very good. You also bought something from there, one of which is Pepsi (drink) Seeing Pepsi makes my mouth water. hahahah🥰... Thanks for inviting me. Best of luck for the contest......

Greetings 🇵🇰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13