"Looking back 2 years ago (July 2019 - August 2019): A short story of my 3 weeks NYSC Orientation Camp program in Batagarawa, Katsina State" by @niglys8

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

10% payout to @steemalive

INTRODUCTION

Greetings to all members here @steemalive community! I must commend the organizer of this contest @focusnow for bringing such an amazing contest to us here to write about the special moments we've had 2 years back.
The special moments we've had in the past are really worth writing about and kept as some sort of archive here on the steemit platform.
So, I'll be writing briefly about my NYSC orientation camp program in Batagarawa, Katsina State Nigeria.
2gsjgna1uruv8X2R8t7XDv5HGXyHWCCu4rKmbB5pmEzjYSmFgGfVVoUHJnnhcEsSUen75KSpbfxaRRhx2UnECeh752yGiMg59j93XX77WdGjbLvgvr.jpeg
Image source

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

MY 3 WEEKS ORIENTATION CAMP PROGRAM IN BATAGARAWA, KATSINA STATE FROM JULY- AUGUST 2019

After I graduated from Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka Anambra State where I obtained a Bachelor Of Science in Parasitology and Entomology in the year 2018, I had a little delay for my name to be shortlisted among those that would go for service immediately with no reasons because I made sure finished i my clearance in school on time. But in order not to stay idle, I worked in a private secondary school while waiting to serve my Fatherland. So around the ending week of July, 2019, 25th to be precise, the long awaited time came for me to become a corper!!

I went to the cyber cafe where I registered for my NYSC to collect my call-up letter and Lo and Behold! I was posted to Borno State😳
Who would have thought so? Though I intentionally chose the state while registering because of the benefits of getting an instant and free redeployment if posted there due to the security issues there.
My parents wept on my behalf when the news got to them but I also made it very clear to them that it was God at work. Who knows I might have been posted to a state where will not have been condusive for me and redeploying would have become very difficult for me as well.
So due to the security issues in Borno State, Prospective Corp members were not allowed to step a foot in Borno for the orientation camp program. They made a boarding girls high school in Batagarawa, Katsina State available for us to stay for the 21 days orientation camp and a free redeployment to any state of your choice after the orientation camp. So you see? It was really a blessing in disguise!
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

MY JOURNEY TO THE CAMP GROUND

My NYSC orientation camp journey was a very special moment for me because it was actually the first time in my life I was leaving the eastern part of the world to a very far place in the North. I left from home on the 27th of July, 2019 to the park at Aba to board a luxirious bus for my long journey. My journey to my orientation camp ground took a whole day and half and it was an exploring moment for me. I saw high mountains when we got to Kaduna State and big rivers in Jos and so many other exciting things. And when I finally got there to my camp ground on the 28th in the evening, I was checked in and thoroughly searched by the soldiers at the gate.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

REGISTRATION PROCESS AT THE CAMP GROUND

And I started with the registration process at the activity hall so as to get confirmed and also get a hostel, a mattress and my NYSC wears pack.
After this was successfully done, the first thing I did was to have a hot bath and hid under my blanket and slept off.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

SWEARING IN CEREMONY/OTHER CAMP ACTIVITIES

There were lots of activities in the camp ground and at that time we were preparing for our swearing in ceremony it is compulsory for every prospective corps member to participate. The soldiers always came to get us out of the hostel with their trumpet alarm but the most appreciated and sweet trumpet alarm to my ears and to other prospective corps members ears i guess is the one for food. Oh! how I wish I can demonstrate them here! Hahaha!
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
The next day was full of a lot of activities but I was still very much tired and stressed and I remember wearing my mufty instead of the white shorts and shirts uniform just to hide at mammy market to pretend like I'm not a corper.
The swearing in ceremony was successful and it's usually the first program that happens at the NYSC camp. I became a full fledged corper on the 30th of July, 2019 and I was no longer known as a prospective Corps member.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
FB_IMG_1638255139199.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
After the swearing in, lots of other activities like parades, man O'war drilling, skill acquisition training, platoon competitions and other social activities followed up.
I majorly participated in parades, man O'war drilling and platoon competitions.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
IMG-20190906-WA0015.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
The parade competition was very amazing, educative and healthy for me. I was trained like a soldier and it was also a form of excercise for me.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
FB_IMG_1638255072712.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
The man O'war drilling was mind blowing and scaring at the same time. Who would have thought that me that fears heights a lot would even dare to climb those ropes on a very high tree😯
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
IMG-20190828-WA0004.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
The cooking platoon competition was also amazing. I learnt about a meal called "Tuwo masara" I call it "Corn garri"
I was in plantoon 4 then and with our plantoon slogan as "BELIEVE" We believed we could make the Tuwo meal ourselves though it was our time making such meal in our entire life.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
FB_IMG_1638255001843.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg
The carnival was also a very memorable one.I saw lots of culture in dressing, dancing and even in the way people greet. Wow!!

Oh! talk about the weather in Katsina, Very hot and harsh in the day "My fair skin almost got burnt and turned to black" but my God intervened on my behalf 😅
And it is always very very very cold in the night and early mornings. At first I was buying hot water from the mammy market but it started consuming the little money I had so I had to adjust to having my bath during the break period in the afternoons and finally washing my face, legs, armpit and other parts in the night after the day's activities.

Of all the lectures taught, the most enjoyable one for me was that of how to speak the basic Hausa language. At least I can say some basic things in Hausa language. Hahaha!
The people of Hausa specifically Batagarawa are very nice and accommodating. I had some chat with the abokinas in the market and the allajahs as well and it was all fun for me.
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

NYSC CAMP DEPARTURE

After my 3 weeks orientation camp program which ended on the 17th of August 2019, we had our closing ceremony to seal up the camp activities. It almost felt like I should stay back because the experience was fun and unforgettable. But I just had to redeploy to the state of my choice. And I successfully redeployed to Ogun State and of course I had an amazing moment there too! Story for another day!
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

NYSC ORIENTATION CAMP PHOTO LIBRARY

IMG-20190906-WA0007.jpgIMG-20190906-WA0012.jpg
FB_IMG_1638255105316.jpgDSC_1364.JPG
IMG-20190828-WA0000.jpgIMG-20190827-WA0016.jpg
FB_IMG_1638255051425.jpgFB_IMG_1638255029848.jpg

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

CONCLUSION

Looking back to my NYSC orientation camp moments has really given a better understanding of what life outside being an Easterner is. The 3 weeks I spent there gave me a better understanding about the basic language, tradition, dressing and religion of the Hausas. I'm so glad I've come this far, all thanks to God.
Thanks for reading through!

Cc:
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@samuel20

Warm regards,
@niglys8

Sort:  

Hahahahaha,
that was a great application of wisdom you did there you know!!! Applying borno so you can be deployed to any state of your choice 😃
I'm thinking of doing same oooo😁😁

This is beautiful experience, your service must have been an awesome one for you...

Success in the contest 🙌

Hahaha! I know right?
And it worked like magic for me.
Thank you!

 3 years ago 

You sure had an amazing time in the camp but how far with SAED lectures from your side?
Was it as boring as my side?
Oh no i turned into charcoal completely also because of excess heat in the north and I could imagine how your skin was.
Nice entry and best of luck

Yes! the skill aquisition training was awesome.. I joined the fishery SAED training and i got enough value.

Hahaha! People in the north are really trying oo! The scorching sun and heat is damm too much but just like i said in my story;
My God intervened on my behalf because i nearly got burnt from the harsh weather there

Thank you!

 3 years ago (edited)

It was really an adventurous experience you have got there. I must commend the effort
of those who introduced NYSC because it has exposed many people to many memorable experiences including certain skill acquisitions. If not for NYSC some Easterners wouldn't dare to travel to the North and vice versa. I must confess, you look so cute in your NYSC khaki. SO ELEGANT-LOOKING that I will suggest you Keep wearing it even after your service year. Thanks for sharing this experience with us @niglys8

Yes oo! The NYSC program is a very nice initiative helping to bridge the gap in our cultural differences and helping us to have in mind that we are one.

Hahaha! I wish i can continue wearing it too cus i admired myself in the uniform but the phase has passed😃

Thanks for reading through!

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you for thanking me, my dearly beloved sister from another mother

You're welcome bro!

Wao! You really had your way then...deploying to any state of your choice was really a bonus for you. The system has changed now,a prospective coper is not allowed to choose anymore,the system chooses for you. Your surehad an awesome experience at camp..nice entry @niglys8

Yes oo! Being deployed to Borno State made it easy and possible for.
Awww! Change is constant, thank God it was not like this during my own time.

Oh yes! I did
Thank you for reading through!

The next day was full of a lot of activities but I was still very much tired and stressed and I remember wearing my mufty instead of the white shorts and shirts uniform just to hide at mammy market to pretend like I'm not a corper.

I can see you don't like stress that means I'm not in this alone😂😂

Thank God the harsh weather didn't turn you into a blacky

Hahahaha! At all at all oo!
I hate stress😀

Yea! God intervened on my behalf😄

We thank God for always coming through for us

Yea!
Thanks for reading through ma'am..

It is wonderful experience but a stressful one also.

Success in the contest and a good memory shared .

Yes dear!
Thank you!

You look so beautiful in that otondo regalia. Congrats.

Thank you ma'am!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43