The diary game: 1/08/2020: Day 1 - From SPUD4STEEM to a friend's long awaited wedding ceremony.

in SteemAlive4 years ago (edited)

Today was really eventful for me. It was actually special because 2 events were being awaited. The first event was the long awaited #SPUD4STEEM and the other one was a friends wedding which has been put off severally due to COVID19.

*Note: Because of the activities your are about to read, I couldnt finish this post on 1/8/2020. So i completed it today 2/8/2020.

So I woke around 5.30am local time because I wanted to start early. I quickly checked the #spud4steem tag and I discovered only 2 participants. So I quickly went to action to participate on behalf of our @steemalive community by powering up 2000 Steem. By 5.45am, I was done with powering up the steem. I am the founder of @steemalive community. You can see the screenshots below of before and after the powerup.

Here is before the power up

image.png

And here is after the power up

image.png

As required after the powerup, I made a post on behalf of the community to announce our participation. You can read that post here

After the power up post, I went to our community on Whatsapp and annouced that we have officially participated in the #spud4steem event and our members where really excited. We hope to win a prize at the end of the event.

image.png

A friends long awaited wedding

After the interactions with members of @steemalive, I quickly prepared to go and out and meet other committee members for a friends wedding. This my friend has long fixed and had this wedding cancelled because of COVID19. But finally, after restrictions where eased a little, the final date was fixed 1/08/2020.

We quickly went to clean the hall where the marriage ceremony was to be held. Tricycles are a popular means of transport in my city. So while caught up in a brief traffic on the way, I took this picture below. You can see other tricycles in the traffic jam

1.jpg
Tricycles in a traffic holdup

At around 11am, the married talk began and ended after 1 hour. The couple had one of the happiest day of their lives. You can see happiness radiating from their faces because this wedding ceremony finally became a reality today. After the wedding ceremony, I rushed to take these pictures below. Take a look:

2.jpg
Bride and groom

3.jpg
Bride put on a nose mask and uses a sanitizer before entering the wedding venue.

7.jpg
Couple pose with the few attendees.

After the pictures, we quickly headed back to a small wedding reception organized by the couple. It was arranged in the african way with African dishes prepared for the few guests invited. It was at this reception that I was able to take a selfie with the couple while they where giving vote of thanks. I also took a shot with the Bestman. Here are the images

image.png
Me with the couple giving vote of thanks at the background

4.jpg
Me and the best man

5.jpg
Some of the guests enjoying Garri with Vegetable soup (A local dish)

I would have added a lot more pictures, but not to overwhelm you and break the rules, lets have these. Generally, t was really a happy occasion and an eventful day. After about 3 hours, the wedding reception was officially ended. I left for my home which is not too far from the reception venue. I was really tired, having left in the morning. Once I got home and took shower, I slept off and woke really late around 10.30pm local time. I still did not feel hunger, So I had no dinner. I started working on this diary game post and could not finish it. So i had to finish up and post it this sunday morning.

I am happy that the 2 long awaited events were done successfully - both the #spud4steem and the friends wedding. This story was how my 1st August 2020 played out and I hope you enjoyed reading it.
image.png

I belong to Team steemalive.
Click here to read about me!

image.png
Subscribe to SteemAlive Community

Sort:  

@focusnow, your day was well spent. I love attending weddings, it gives me this view of how mine will go, so i wouldn't be taken unaware of things to do on that day.
It is so beautiful participating in this diary game, i look forward to see more of your diaries. You are not looking bad in the picture anyway.

 4 years ago 

@talktofaith. Thank you for coming around. Weddings are really great occasions and we rejoice with the celebrants and can't wait for our day. Hope you are having a great day.

Yeah i did have a great day.

 4 years ago 

Enough enjoyment sir @focusnow what a blissful day;

I believe you had fun at the wedding ceremony, that soup is indeed tasty ,i guess , as those men relaxes to eat like that in the public, how were you able to capture them without them knowing it...hahahaha....

Yea, the #SPUD4STEEM was a huge success, you did marvelously well,

I hope to attend your own wedding ceremony in known distance time....smilesss...

❤❤❤
Faith cares

 4 years ago (edited)

@dlioness. Hahahahahaha, my own wedding ceremony? Well we hope it happens sooner than later. Yes, I captured them eating that soup and they really enjoyed it. I actually had fun, although I was stressed up by the time I came back. But overall, it was happy day.

 4 years ago 

@focusnow you had a great day indeed.The wedding went well and was colourful.That soup looks yummy and desirable.I am glad you played a wonderful role in the wedding as regards to helping out with work.That shows you are a real friend of the celebrant.Over all, you had a busy and interesting day.
From @samuel20

 4 years ago 

@samuel20. Yes ooo. People are now asking me when it's my turn ooo. Even our community members @steemalive are asking for date, hahahaha. But we are happy to help the couple make the day memorable.

 4 years ago 

Yeahhhh💃💃💃@focusnow! It obvious you had fun oo. Let me talk about the food a little😛 yes yes I love Vegetable soup, one of my best though. Those men really mean business, they are really enjoying the food. Beautiful picture you've got there, they are all nice.

❣️❣️❣️
harrygwec

 4 years ago 

@harrygwec. That soup is irresistible. Even as I was helping to share the good, I warned them to keep my own aside first. Before I hear stories. It was a nice outing overall.

 4 years ago 

Lol @focusnow, you didn't want to carry last on that. Very important 😃. But you did the right thing by putting yours aside first, else you would be left out. Yeah and you indeed enjoyed yourself.

❣️❣️❣️
harrygwec

 4 years ago 

It must have been a really fun day for you. I know you've eagerly anticipated the #spud4steem contest and being able to power up that amount is very satisfying. I definitely wouldn't ask how your day went,it's obvious as you're beaming with smiles. I guess you also did justice to the meals at the wedding ;)

doppley :)

 4 years ago 

Thank you @doppley. The day was absolutely full of joy and happiness. Helping him to settle down was a thing we enjoyed doing. Yes for the #spud4steem, we are happy at the effort we made and we hope to do more in the nearest future.

Tricycles are a popular means of transport in my city.

Here also tricycles are the very common means to commute and we mostly call it as "autoriskshaw" or simply "auto".

You can see happiness radiating from their faces because this wedding ceremony finally became a reality today.

Marriage is something everyone has their dream in their own way and when it becomes a reality, happiness is obvious to radiate, but in these uncertain time, the couple extend that extra bit of happiness as the marriage has also become uncertain because of unprecedented situation that the whole world is going through. Convey my best wishes to the newly married couples.

Nice to read your 1st day my friend. I hope this energy will continue throughout this game.

Have a great day.

Steem on.

 4 years ago 

@sapwood. Happy to know we share the same means of transport in the city. Yes we wish the couple well and hope they will ride out the storm marriage brings, especially in these times of great uncertainties. Thank you for checking out my first diary post.

My pleasure.

 4 years ago 

That's a great diary report,you really had a fun filled day,I wish the couple's happy married life. I am particularly interested on that local dish,it looks very nutritious.

 4 years ago 

@whitestallion. That soup is a trademark of the Edda people in Ebonyi state. They call it Egburuegbu. This one was specially made by the bride's mum. So you expect to have a lot of goodies inside. We are happy for the couple and wish them the best things of life.

You had a really good day sire... The #spudforsteem was successful for @steemalive community , all thank to you . Happy married life to the couple

Mesonia
❤️❤️

 4 years ago (edited)

It was really a memorable day @focusnow that u had. I am happy that u were able to meet up. I appreciate ur being able to meet up with the challenge of being part of wedding organising committee. That vegetable soup must really be yummy, lols. Where is my own cake? Am really looking forward to enjoying ur daily activities till this game is over.

 4 years ago 

@focusnow it was indeed a stressful day for you taking part in the wedding arrangements and taking up the activities for #SPUD4STEEM. I hope you had a good rest after the whole day?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67317.89
ETH 2666.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70