The diary game || 3rd March, 2021|| Trust the process (100% power-up)steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive3 years ago

Dear diary, it's a Monday but I am home celebrating workers' day. I feel nostalgic today because I remember when I was still job hunting. Infact, it seemed like getting a good job was my heavy cross I had to bear.
IMG_20210503_202914_601.jpg
On my job hunting suit

I had finished my tertiary education with very good grades, everyone was expecting much from me and I thought oh wow the world is waiting for me to show what I have got.
IMG_20210503_203102_343.jpg
Convocation

From National Youth Service Corps where I was serving in a firm that wanted to retain me but I was 'proud' and felt I could do better than that. Besides you know how our Uncles' can promise us the world. That was my case. With the rise of insecurity in the north then coupled with the fact that I even lost a friend in Adamawa back then, any job offer tending towards the northern part of Nigeria was immediately disregarded.

IMG_20210503_203156_093.jpg
Oh my! NYSC

Like an elegant peacock, I bid youth service goodbye and reached it out to my promises full Uncles. One by one disappointments started rolling in.

Next came the job applications. Infact, even those I did not apply for invited me for interviews where to my utmost disappointment were job seekers like me looking for who to market their 'unknown' products and promising percentages that one wonders if it is attainable.

I went from one aptitude test to the other. At a point, it seemed I became a tourist albeit for more serious purposes. With the tension, I couldn't even notice beautiful sceneries because I hoped each one was the last.

At a point, I started accepting any job offers and starting letting go of my pride. I became many things. I went into making juices and smoothie, a secretary, a sales woman, a teacher...

I look back today and I say I have come a long way. It's not been easy but it surely is better now. The process has made me humble, tougher and more knowledgeable.
IMG_20210421_085138_056.jpg
Look at me so robust now!

To everyone, whether you are doing a white collar job or working on steemit or own a business, or the CEO of your home affairs, trust me we all deserve a HAPPY WORKERS' DAY.

I am a member of steemalive and this is my introductory post

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail

Sort:  

Thanks for your long experience on your efforts to secure a job. It has not been an easy thing. However, we thank Jehovah that you finally succeded in getting one.
From,
Mr. JOSEPH AGWU OGBAJIE,
@johanjahb.

What an amazing write-up. Indeed job hunt in Nigeria is another job on its own. But we are grateful for where we are right now, and believing Him to take us beyond our current position.

Happy workers day to us dear

Amen. Thank you so much for going through my post.

Your post is quite a real life story

It is a real life story. Thanks for reading through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45