Hellbound (2021) TV series | obiter dictum

in Netflix & Streaming3 years ago (edited)


Death can be a randomly occurring natural event, or it can be deliberately inflicted. The new South Korean series on Netflix named Hellbound are trying to find that exact point where we separate the former from the latter. The explorations throughout the six episodes are intriguing and engaging. Especially so because the matters appertaining to fundamentals of cults and religions had been brought in to make the ideas expressed tangible and relatable. This has resulted in a tale that vibes well with current trends when it comes to modern ideological bellwethers both, off- and online with either overt or covert agitation, zombified followers, videos taken using phones and serving as both, evidence and tools of influence, as well as issues that rise with adhering to doctrines; particularly when one is not capable of admitting to being wrong, especially when there’s lots at stake.

For those who know Ringu, Pulse and Death Note, Hellbound will seem like a new spin on that old trope of inevitable countdown of doom once someone has fulfilled the necessary conditions of triggering it. Ok, Death Note isn’t so much about triggering a countdown as it is about morals, but still, what we’ve got in this series is a morally righteous orphan Jeong Jin-soo with a background of strict religious upbringing, who throughout the series is concerned about – you guessed it – people doing right things. Part of his beliefs is summed up in the following sentence, “humans need meaning, otherwise they’d destroy themselves.” Our Jeong Jin-soo, much the same as Light Yagami in Death Note, knows what’s the right meaning to find, and what’s – not so much.
The essential feature all of aforementioned films share with Hellbound though is some kind of supernatural executioner, which delivers death to victims by following certain rules that cannot be changed. In case of Hellbound the executioners are three similar beings that all look like mountain trolls from Scandinavia. In my opinion, their design could have been better, however where the beings don’t fail is to personify the blows of fate a person would get, that would all eventually get the unlucky one dead (the ritual of that happening in the series is called “getting the decree”). This is one reason why I have no problem with Hellbound reusing that old trope of countdown and predestined passing – it does bring something of its own to the table.

Overall, Hellbound, as far as watching experience goes, is seamless: it develops things well, builds upon them, and doesn’t want you to figure out where it’s headed next plot-wise. This latter factor even surprised me in the episode 3, where at one point I thought that Hellbound has likely showed me all the tricks it’s had in its hat, and the rest of the series is going to simply be about finding out how exactly Jeong Jin-soo got the “trolls” doing his bidding. Nothing of that sort; I once again had been assured that the series isn’t about uncovering secrets as much as it’s about philosophy – the questions it provokes about things that people cannot control, and how those always prove to be so tempting to various individuals who need an opportunity to be at the center of attention, to matter by peddling some agenda, or acquire influence and power by means of creating doctrines.
As a paradox, its strong philosophical focus also looks as the reason why at times Hellbound falls below good standards of avoiding trivial plot holes. One striking example of that is in episode 1, where Jeong Jin-soo asks questions to the detective Jin Kyeong-hoon about a close relative of the latter – a strikingly easy way of immediately involving a close relative aside, the situation gets played out as if the law enforcement was, first and foremost, concerned about delivering universal justice, and not upholding the law. In that same scene the detective also listens to Jeong Jin-soo’s story about Tibet, but hasn’t got any detailed questions about beings that had been filmed earlier wreaking havoc in the city. All of a sudden I didn’t have questions about mystery surrounding all the events in the series, but was left wondering if the authors had to edit something out at the last moment so that the episode gets its proper length. Fortunately, moments like that are very few and far between, therefore let that not put you off of giving the series a watch – there are questions in it that each one of us had probably been asking for as long as we remember ourselves, but to which there may never be any definite answers.

Peer Ynt

Hellbound_unit_102_IMF001-still-shot-promo-photo-2021.jpg

Sort:  

I am becoming a fan of Korean series, they makes some sensational series such as Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha, Vincenzo, Stranger, Squid game, and now Hellbound. I pray to god give me some time to watch its episodes.hehehe

I started watching Korean cinema a few years ago. If you like the series you will probably also like the crime thrillers as well. I recommend starting with Oldboy and perhaps Memories of Murder .... there are many more great ones as well.

Thanks for the comment and mentioning some titles here. I looked those up and saw that, Squid Game aside, those don't particularly deal with anything abstract, or horror-like, and as such don't get to my list of priority watch. But I agree with the sentiment that South Korean cinema (Parasite, for instance) and series had become somewhat of a sensation lately, and I'm intrigued to see how this success affects the quality and story ideas in the future.

The review you gave us about the story is so great.

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it.

No need;)
I have posted a review about a drama and also my introduction it will be good if you go and check out my post and tell me if I posted it in a right way or not, That is my first post on Netflix & Streaming:)

That's a lot of words haha. I enjoyed this one a lot. In the first episode, which I thought was incredible, I thought that the series could be really good or that it could quickly become quite silly.

In the end I feel as though this is one of the best series I have ever seen on Netflix and it was nice to see that it left space for a season 2.

Every single actor in this is incredible, even the child actors. I normally can't stand child actors so this is saying a lot.

Hey. Thanks for the comment and noting the length of writing here :) I only tend to write something if I think I have something meaningful to say, and that usually involves a fair number of words. In fact, I think that many times the length of the writing is proportional to how much I have felt I've gained from watching something.

I agree about this being one of the best series on Netflix - for me it was the right amounts of horror, dynamism, substance as well as directions the story goes in. I completely agree about the finale - I think it prepared a solid ground for the next season; in fact, at one point I was thinking "that's it, I don't think there's anything interesting left to tell with this idea, so I won't be interested in season 2," but after watching the last episode of this season my mind had been completely changed.

It's like very intersting series.

The best part about the whole show was the ending. I liked how the supernatural element is not related to god and it reboots the dead people who died due to hell hounds attacking them. I am definitely waiting for second season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68