CONTEST: Top Sci-Fi movie of the 90's

in Netflix & Streaming2 years ago (edited)

I'll be awarding a total of 10 SBD to several winners to this contest.


image.png
src

The rules to this are simple:

  • The movie you choose needs to be a Science Fiction film released in the 1990's
  • Your writeup needs to be your own work, detecting plagiarism is actually pretty easy so please don't do it.
  • I am more interested in your personal feelings about the film rather than hearing about the plot
  • The post must be in English because it is the only language I can read
  • Include an image or two and make it at least 200 words
  • The post must be put in this community because I wont see it otherwise

I'll go ahead and tell you my favorite Sci-Fi film of the 1990's.


image.png
src

Total Recall was amazing to me because Arnold was in his prime physical condition in 1990 and basically any film he was in ended up being a hit. I really enjoy sci-fi in a general sense but this one was really cutting edge considering the technology that existed at the time. Between the aliens, the various gadgets, and even the famous lady with 3 boobs, it all just kind of worked.


image.png
src

One of the main things about this film that really appealed to me was the fact that it wasn't predictable like a lot of other films are. Even when the film was over you are left asking yourself if what we just saw on screen was actually real, or if it was just a simulation.


image.png
src
A super hot Sharon Stone definitely didn't hurt the overall film either

It was also pretty mind-blowingly realistic looking considering that in 1990 we didn't exactly have a great deal of CGI capabilities yet. Going back and seeing it now would probably be pretty entertaining still, but it would look pretty dated compared to what we can do in films today. It was a relatively inexpensive film as well with a budget well under $100 million. You wont see many films that cover this sort of science fiction breadth released these days at that price.

I saw this film twice in theaters and have seen it many times at home as well. I've purchased it on both VHS and DVD - both of which I unfortunately lost in a move years ago.


So use that as an example. I'm not suggesting I am the best at this I just know that if you make a 1300 word diatribe about your favorite movie no one is going to read all of it, including me.

I'll upvote all posts to 100% for anyone that enters and distribute the 10 SBD reward accordingly to a number of winners. Good luck!

Oh, one last thing: Please post a link to your entry in the response section of this post to make it easier for me to find it.

Sort:  

Great initiative, and a great look down memory lane for me. My entry is here:
https://steemit.com/hive-166960/@walkerlv/armageddon-a-simpler-movie-for-simpler-times

Some interesting dopey films here. Thanks to all the people who participate in this contest, it is a pleasure to read your posts. My review for the contest can be found at https://steemit.com/hive-166960/@peerynt/movie-review-brave-new-world-1998

Thanks for the opportunity @netflixr . I'm participating right away!

Where's the link to your post?

Thats a cool competition and I made my entry here....
https://steemit.com/hive-166960/@krabistu/what-is-the-matrix

I have seen this movie "Total Recall" several times in theatres and also whenever it relocates in star movies or HBO, Ima big fan of Arnold for his adventurous acting and choosing films.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64