My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | Street art painted on the streets of Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay | #steemexclusive / 11 photos

in Steemit Travellast year

DSC_01.JPG

When I was in Colonia del Sacramento in Uruguay in January this year, it was because I wanted to explore the Old Town. This part of Colonia that makes up the historical Old Town is a UNESCO Hertage Site. The Old Town is small, but it's loaded with old colonial architecture and cobbled streets, that does make it a lovely place to walk around. Because the Old Town is small, it's easily seen within a day. I got a chance to take strolls into other areas of town, with newer architecture and street art. Some of it is amazing. On one of these strolls, I came across this “street art”. At the end of this pavement, we saw the tango dancers, which is a dance I associate with Argentina. But even the dance originated in Argentina, it seems it’s popular in Uruguay as well.



I usually associate street art with murals, but I have seen painted benches, stairs and also a bus that I would define as street art. But this is painted on a street / pavement that leads down to the harbor where the ferry from Buenos Aires arrives. When my sister and I (my travel companion) took a closer look, I recognize the lighthouse, buildings and old cars from Colonia.




The painted lighthouse looks like the lighthouse in the Old Town. It’s a landmark visible from anywhere in this part of town, since all the houses are one story houses. It is still functioning, guiding ships passing in the night. The man with a musical instrament, might symbolize local music or an instrument typical for Uruguay. But the cow typical. Uruguay is a country that produces lots of red meat. I understand the painted cow as a representative for this production of excellent meat. The lamp is also a typical lamp in the streets of the Old Town.


I have never tastet «mate» the local produce that «everybody» drinks. People carry this drink with them everywhere they go. Colonia is located by River de la Plata so this cup of mate seem to enjoy by the river front.





Buildings and an old car. Everywhere in town you will see these old cars. We even had one parked close to our hotel. An old truck was parked next to this painting on the street. A great Uruguayan piece of art portraing Colonia del Sacramento.


Powering up 100% of all liquid payout! Thanks for the support for making this possible for me each week lately, ty! 😂👍


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next travel post. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest powerup post, check out :
My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | Magnificent fort in Rajasthan, India – Amber Fort | #steemexclusive / 28 photos


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Photo

Sort:  
 last year 

These streets must be painted with a high quality paint 🎨 or a tight rule of not standing over the decorated sidewalks with such great art. The only way to maintain this in excellent condition.

 last year 

I think you are right! I didn't think about that, but it does look as in very good condition. It might be freshly paintedt? but I think it's the quality of the paint that must be the ansver :)

 last year 

I really think about quality in a strong way because there was a recent painting at the external stairs of a local park but those vibrant colors lost quickly their magic due to the bad used paint. 🙆🏻‍♀️

 last year 

What a shame! they really should use qaulity paint if they want it to last!

 last year 

Of course. Totally agree 💯

 last year 

the pictures on the street are very nice friends, and I'd like to take a closer look if I have time

 last year 

It really does look nice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58