My Entry Into The Cherry Blossom Photography Contest #1

in Steem Japan3 years ago

IMG_7449.jpg

When I think of Sakura I think of tradition, so what better place to view tradition than at a temple? Enter Takahata Fudoson Kongoji.

Takahata Fudoson Kongoji is a very old Buddhist temple complex dating back to around 701 A.D. It's located about 30minutes west of Shinjuku and is a very popular tourist attraction in the small town of Takahata, Hino.

The temple is only a few stops from my home so a couple of years ago I went down there to do some sight seeing. Lucky for me it was also hanami season so I was able to get some nice pictures of the sakura.

This photo was took me a few minutes to figure out how I wanted to present it.
IMG_7449.jpg

As I was finishing up my walk of the temple grounds I stumbled upon the tree overhanging the walkway.

IMG_7447.jpg

My first attempt was a failure.

IMG_7448Taka.jpg

The second try was the one I like the most. It is the first image in this post.

The third attempt I tried to move the temple building more into frame, but it just didn't look right to me.

IMG_7453 (1).jpg

What do you think?

Here are some additional pictures from the temple grounds.

IMG_7423.jpg

IMG_7406.jpg

While hanami season is coming to a close, the temple is still worth paying a visit anytime of year.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

OMG... my grandma used to live there!

Really? In Takahata? I live a few stops away. I was surprised to see that the temple grounds date back to 701 AD. I wonder if your grandmother has any stories about the temple?

 3 years ago 

Yeah I think my grandma was one of those Bosatsu from 701 AD hahaha
I went to school over there too, taking Keio line everyday to Sakuragaoka

Wow, I knew Japanese lived long, but 1300 years!

Keio is a great line. Cheap and fast.

 3 years ago 

花見コンテストにご応募ありがとうございました!
自分のも含めて、お気に入りの花見画像トップ 3
あれば教えてください。

https://steemit.com/created/sakurajapan

Thank you so much for your Sakura entry!
Including your post, please tell us your Top 3 favorites posts? (if you have)

#sakurajapan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43