Another shrine by the wayside 👹🍣🎎 Wonderful Japan

in Steem Japan7 days ago (edited)

IMG_1221.JPG

As I've already mentioned a few times, I'm always happy to explore new paths. It doesn't usually take much of an adventurous spirit, just a bit of spontaneity. Above all, it's about not always taking the familiar routes, but simply turning left or right without thinking twice and finding a newr way to your destination from there. I try to practice this spontaneity as often as I can, especially on my daily trips, and I have already come across some really interesting places that would otherwise have remained hidden from me.

Here in Japan, I often discover some smaller and sometimes even larger shrines and temples waiting for me along the way. Sometimes they may not be right next to the road, but I'm always happy to take a little detour. The world is simply too charming not to want to discover it.

Only recently, on my way back home, I took a completely new route, which was a little longer, but a pleasant change from the highway I normally take. The first time I discovered a small shrine on the right-hand side of the road on a hill, and the second time I passed I couldn't resist and simply had to stop and have a look around. I had some time on my hands and the weather was perfect, so there was no reason not to stop here for a while.

IMG_1222.JPG

From the main road, I could already see that the shrine stood on a small hill with a staircase leading up to it. Full of curiosity, I took the stairs and walked up them. The sun was shining above me and there were two stone toro lanterns to the left and right of the stairs, with a whole host of trees and bushes providing an inviting green backdrop.

IMG_1224.JPG

When I reached the top, I was greeted by two Komainu, as the stone statues representing lion dogs are called. The Komainu serve to protect the shrine and are supposed to keep trouble and misfortune away from this sacred place.

IMG_1223.JPG

But I hadn't come to cause trouble, so I introduced myself politely and paid my respects. I know how to behave in places like this, so I was allowed to pass and look around leisurely.

IMG_1225.JPG

As expected, the shrine building, which was erected for the kami living here, was rather simple. This is exactly how many of the shrines look, and I now associate this sight very strongly with our region and also with the people here.

IMG_1226.JPG

Even though I was the only one here at that moment to stop by this shrine, it certainly looks very different here on some days of the year. Especially on New Year's Day, when most of the residents from the neighborhood come here to pay their respects to the new year and ask for a little luck and success. And like most shrines, there is probably a festival once a year, which may even include a small procession through the surrounding streets and then back up the small hill up to the shrine. Then, there is likely to be a lot more hustle and bustle around here than on that day.

IMG_1227.JPG

If you look closely, on the left and right of the shrine roof you can see two small doves sitting. Many shrines have a few playful details that are sometimes not immediately obvious at first glance. Here, it was these two little doves that brought another big smile to my face.

IMG_1228.JPG

It was time for me to head down the stairs again and then back home. But it's precisely these spontaneous stops that always remind me of the magic of this country and the region I'm currently visiting. When I can escape my everyday life for a brief moment and explore new territory, it really puts me in a good mood. The smile on my lips still lingered and I took it with me, where it stayed for the rest of my journey back. Fortunately, I have now learned what is good for me, so I will happily repeat such spontaneous explorations at any time. Our world has so much to offer, we just have to look and seize the opportunities that come our way. Even if it's just a small shrine by the wayside that doesn't want to be overlooked....

blog-ende.png

Sort:  

Very nice places


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.
Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

@tipu curate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57610.17
ETH 3118.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39