Stories once told

in Freewriters3 years ago

The stories told in my childhood were fairy tales.

If my aunt visited us and sneaked upstairs she told about the three puglets. Each time a new adventure she made up. The theme was one of the pictures on the lamp. I remember the lamp, that it was dark geen but not the pictures on it. In my mind there were only three. The story she told was short but long enough for some who was not allowed to be in my bedroom and it gave me something to think about. It helped to forget that empty feeling, the feeling of not being accepted and the fear I still felt at that time.

My parents never told me any story neither did my grandparents. There was no need to I could read at a young age and they were no storytellers. The sound of my mother's voice was terrible it hurt my ears and my father mainly dictated words to write properly and be ahead of my classmates.
The only other stories came straight from the Bible. Actually always the same stories told in an unattractive way at home, most likely more interesting at school (the day was started with a prayer and Bible story) and Sunday school.

Stories are so relaxing and while writing this I suddenly remember Kindergarten. That teacher told a story too I assume at noon. We little children lay on mats on the ground and fell asleep. Not one of us could tell if the stories we have been told were different stories or always the same story. I do remember I liked the teacher and she cared.

Kindergarten still existed at that time and little children played, drank milk at school, were given their medication, eczema was treated and they had the right to sleep. Thirty years ago Kindergarten came to an end. Children no matter how young have to visit school. There's no time for stories or a nap to be a child anymore.

The prompt for the #freewrite is written in bold and provided by @mariannewest. If you like to join the freewriters do so. It takes 5 minutes of your time.

https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-131-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-the-stories-we-have-been-told

The stories I once started...

I never ended this series but they are told.
Tale 1: Once upon... a Life Tale - Merry

Tale 2: Once upon... A Life Tale - Goodheart

Tale 3: Once upon... A Life Tale - Queenie

Tale 4: Once upon... A Life Tale - Alien

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Freewrite House contests

  1. Tell us about a favourite freewrite

  2. A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

loopgrn.gif

Need support?

https://steemit.com/hive-166850/@wakeupkitty.pal/giveaway-an-upvote-for-a-read522d255f8d2cest

loopgrn.gif

#ccc = hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

#wakeupkitty #forthechildren


Posted using PLAY STEEM https://playsteem.app

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @wakeupkitty! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @tyrnannoght
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wakeupkitty :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67