You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freewrite - Day 1216

in Freewriters4 years ago

LOL, 'cannot confirm or deny'. I've been using freewrites lately to practice reading in a more focused way, to notice what other writers are up to in the hopes of learning from them and using that practiced focused on my own fiction. From your work, I would assume that you are thinking about, or have studied, fiction as a craft, that you're consciously aware of the technical aspects of storytelling. What's your background? Have you spent a lot of time in creative writing classes?

Sort:  

No, but I went to a four-day seminar once in my early twenties. I took a lot of university classes without ever getting a degree, about 50% of that being musical studies with a focus on composition-..and another 40% was in the humanities, yes, a handful of philosophy, but when it came to creative writing I never wanted anyone to correct my spelling.

What about you-..do have experience in universities or other formal or otherwise education?

Interesting. I have a similar experience, in that I took many classes without graduating. I've also studied fiction with Gotham Writers Workshop and through my own reading. I think I've learned more about fiction outside of traditional universities than inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35