My favourite TV show

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

My favourite TV show.

image.png

Right from when I was a kid, I've watched countless TV shows. I remember a lot of them back in the days and each time I flash back, I feel like getting the full track of the shows in one disc. I watched

  • The rich also cry
  • Beyond a dream
  • Wind of destiny
  • Tales by moonlight
  • Speak out, and so on.

I learnt a lot from all these TV series. The first three are drama. The fourth is a storytelling gathering of children, where they are made to believe tales to teach them a better way of life.
Speakout is a primary and secondary school program that involves singing, acting, and doing drama, all to depict the fight against child abuse, child trafficking, rape, and so on.
These TV Shows were unique, and I love them pretty well. But I have a favourite.

What is my favorite TV show?

Oops! You would love to watch it too if I unveil the cloth from the masquerade's face. I started watching this interesting show as far back in 2004, and that was when it started. Whenever it's time for the show, I leave whatever I'm doing and move close to the TV. The love for this show bought me a free dirty slap one day. I will talk about it soon. The title of the show is "Who wants to be a millionaire". It's a show sponsored by MTN, a mobile network. Before I start jisting about the show, let me take you through the dirty slap I got from my dad because of the show.

image.png

Long ago, my dad sent me on an important errand. I was home all through, but he didn't remember to send me until it was 5 minutes to the show

I was home all day, but he didn't send me to his friend's house the money he arranged with him. He told me to go there when it was 5 minutes to the show and went out. I couldn't say a word but I had my plans. Immediately he left, I prepared but didn't leave the house. From our house to his friend's house is 15 minutes on foot. That would be 30 minutes to and fro; not calculating the time I might waste before completing my assignment. I decided to watch the TV show before rushing down, but, it was a nasty decision. Unfortunately, my dad returned 15 minutes to the end of the show. Damn! I almost escaped, but it was ill luck.

He never knew I haven't gone. When he asked me for the money,, I began to look like a Lucozade. The moment he realized I haven't gone he gave me a one in a lifetime dirty slap that made me see stars and hear the sound of a nursery rhyme sounding Twinkle twinkle little star. No one told me before I rushed out and began to run towards Mr. Patrick's house. It's a day I would never forget in my life.

Who wants to be a millonaire?

It is an MTN sponsored program anchored by Frank Edoh. To get into the show, you have to send a code to 131, and each text cost like #200 (60 cents). The Numbers would be picked at random by the computer and the selected people would go for the show.

The selected people would do a mini quiz named "the fastest finger" to get on the hot seat. A question would be thrown to them, and the first person to answer the question correctly would be chanced to first play for the million.

About the play

Who wants to be a millionaire has a price of 10 million Naira ($23,000) for whoever could get 10 questions right with or without using 3 lifelines. What is lifeline?
Lifeline in who wants to be a millionaire are three chances given to contestants to get a possible answer to questions.
There is

  • phone a friend
  • Ask the audience, and
  • 50/50

The phone a friend allows the contestant to call any of his or her friends to help with an answer to a question given the privilege of interacting for 30 seconds.
The ask the audience is done by the contestant throwing the question to the audience, and the answer is displayed, showing a bar chart of the audience answer. Most times, the audience are always a good help, but they fail sometimes too.
The 50/50 delete two options, leaving one correct and wrong answer for the contestant to choose.

These are the three lifelines on who wants to be a millionaire.

There are 15 questions. The first five are for a guaranteed prize of #20,000. The 10th question is for #250,000 guaranteed, and the 15th question is for #10,000,000.

Few people won 2 million naira in the show, and countless went away with 500,000 naira. The best part of the show is that you can walk away with whatever you have if you are not sure of the next question, but if you feel you need to try and fail at some point, you might drop from a bigger earning to a lower one, so the game give chance for contestants to take a wise decision.

Has anyone ever won #10,000,000

One person did the wonders in the history of the show and no one from then broke his record. His name is Aroma. I watched this man live on the Nigerian Television Authority years ago on who wants to be a millionaire. He is super intelligent and brainy. He broke the record into pieces. Check out his video. Though it isn't complete, the needed part is available.




I love the show because I learn a lot from it. It makes me have the knowledge about many things and keeps me informed and in vogue. The educational power it has makes it one of the best TV Show during its time. The show stopped temporarily on 25 June 2017. It's been a while and I missed it so much. I hope it comes back soon.
Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

I wonder if Aroma had the big party!?

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

*** Make sure you check out this post...

Hahaha.. I don't know either, but from his acyions, he might spend spend done money in the club. Thank you for the pick.

I've seen the post, and I'm glad to be one of the curators.

I agree, it is a great show, I watch it almost every day... so much fun to play along from home. I always wonder what would happen if I ever got on the show, would I make it far or would I trip up on an early question..

Oh! That's great. You might go far if you have a wide idea about things generally. Some of the questions aren't difficult. Aslo with the three life lines, anyone stand a chance of going home with something.

In Australia, they've revamped it and call the show 'Million Dollar Hotseat',

They have a rotation of contestants, and if you don't know an answer you can pass... every time someone gets one wrong, they are eliminated and the top prize goes down by one level

Every night someone is answering a question for prize money, sometimes it's $5,000 sometimes over $100,000 sometimes that's the only question that person has to answer all night.

I think I need to check it out on YouTube. I love programs like that.

I think I need to
Check it out on YouTube. I
Love programs like that.

                 - beautychicks


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

haiku, leave me alone😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38