Art Attack! #17: Meeting Booties at a Spooky Party! 👻

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

0.jpg

Hey Steemit!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my paintings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

Back in October 2019, I learned of inktober via posts on instagram! If you're out of the loop like I was, Inktober is a month long art challenge created by artist Jake Parker that is focused on improving skill and developing positive drawing habits. Every day for the month of October anyone participating in the Inktober challenge creates an ink drawing and posts it online.

The rules are pretty simple:

Capture.PNG

So the whole point of inktober is there are one-word prompts for every day of October. And using the prompts, you have to draw something in ink/pencil, preferably everyday, but your schedule is up to you of course. It's not a contest or competition or anything, it’s a challenge to see how much you can improve your art in a month, and to be inspired or to help inspire other artists to do the same.⁣ Apparently this has been going on since 2016!

I thought it was such a neat idea and since I was getting into the groove of doing art every week, I thought I'd give it a shot. These were the prompts for inktober 2019:

2019promptlist.png

I didn't do every single prompt, or even most of it, since I only learned about inktober more than half the month in. And I was still new to art so I didn't have ideas for most of them. Until, the 22nd!

The Ghost prompt was an interesting one, and the first thing I thought of was Napstablook from Undertale! So I decided to look for more ghosts in video games and this was what I came up with:

1.jpg

So we have Polterpup (from Luigi's Mansion), Lady Bow (from Paper Mario), Bomb Boo (from Super Mario Galaxy), a regular Boo from Mario, and the Pacman ghosts; Blinky, Pinky and Inky, and Napstablook. And they're all having a Halloween party! With Napstablook as DJ of course.
(Btw the title of this post is a pun on Beauties, but Booties, cos you know, they're ghosts. Geddit 😆)

I used one of my new sketchbooks, which was good for ink and nothing else. So it was perfect for this challenge.

This was after outlining:

2.jpg

And yes, I misspelled Halloween, I didn't realise until it was too late because I ran out of space. Woops. 😅

By right, this would've been my piece for the challenge. But I wanted to add some colour. Using markers of course. So technically, still ink.

And the result was this!

0.jpg

I thought the colour added quite a bit to the piece, and I especially liked the greenish spotlights.

And I was totally blasting this song while doing this piece:

I also posted this piece on the Undertale subreddit and got a lot of nice comments!

Tbh I think this was my only submission for inktober, since I had other ideas I wanted to work on at the time. But the whole point is to keep doing art consistently which was what I was doing so it's alright. I'm definitely looking forward to this year's inktober though! Now that I have a new ink-only style going, I'm excited to try the challenge in full - one piece a day, let's go!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #16: A Cute Neko Comic! 🐱

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

thanks for the upvote @followforupvotes! ^-^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50