Art Attack! #16: A Cute Neko Comic! 🐱

in OnChainArt4 years ago

0.jpg

Hey Steemit!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my paintings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So a couple months back, I was browsing reddit when I saw this really cute poem on one of the wholesome subreddits that I'm in:

0.1.jpg

I think it was written by a young girl in preschool or something like that. It was so adorable and it actually inspired me to make it into a comic!

I immediately thought of modelling the cats after the cats in Neko Atsume (the mobile cat collecting game) because I love how the nekos look! They're all so cute! :3

image.png

Just look at all the cute kitties!

The poem was actually really fitting for a comic, since there are only 4 lines and it fit 4 frames exactly. All I really had to do was come up with the poses for the cats. I consulted some sprites from the actual Neko Atsume game and this was what I sketched out:

1.jpg

After some size adjustments, it was time to get outlining!

2.jpg

3.jpg

And time to get colouring! Since I wanted this to be a simple one, I kept the background white, and used markers (classic comic style). And this sketchbook was a cheap one and not really suited for paints anyway.

4.jpg

I know the proportions of the kitties aren't that perfect (esp in the third panel), but I think they looked okay anyway.

This was what the first panel looked like after I was done:

4.1.jpg

Admittedly, I believe this cat was traced, that's why it looks the best. :3

I know some people are against tracing, saying things like "it's not real art if you just trace" or something like that, but personally I think tracing is fine, and actually it can be really helpful especially for beginners. I mean if you wanna trace things or recreate things, just the act of making something is art. To me, at least. So don't let people shame you out of doing things.

4.2.jpg

One thing I don't really like when it comes to colouring with markers is the streaks that can be very visible up close.

4.3.jpg

I think the yellow and purple might've been a mistake here. Maybe I should've made it into a Christmas sweater with red and green or something. The other 2 are good though.

4.4.jpg

And here's what the comic looked like in its entirety!

5.jpg

I actually really liked how this turned out. It's cute, simple, and wholesome. Some parts might not be perfect, but hey, it works. I shared this on reddit and got my first reddit award too!

image.png

There were so many nice comments on the reddit and it made me smile to see so many people appreciating my art. 😊 I normally don't care if people see my art or not, but you know, it's always nice to be acknowledged in some way. And nice comments always make someone's day, so if you like something, definitely leave a nice comment! The internet get a bad rep for being so full of hate (with good reason tbf) so let's spread the love alright!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #15: Avatar Symbolism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47