Homesteading: Goat and Sheep farming, a start to success - #2

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE10 months ago

Have you ever seen an African animal market before? , How much is a goat or a sheep in your environment, how many species do you have in your country…?

Maybe it’s high time you have a look at our animal market here in the city of Uyo. I wrote an article a year ago about the goat and sheep business and I think I covered some great points in that article which I may not likely repeat here. Maybe you can read it here...

But this write-up contains some little updates like the price and also showcases what the animal market looks like in my city.

I went there to make an enquiry about the present price of goats and sheep.

photo_2023-08-17_19-02-45.jpg

I was surprised to find out their prices, it wasn’t really something I was expecting. Prices were high even when it was not a festive period yet.

Most farmers visit this market to buy their goats, sheep and cows for farming…., whereas butchers also visit here too…., but I didn’t visit there as a butcher…..

This market is called Nasarawa Market,Uyo. This Market is known for animal sales. In fact, it's the biggest we have in my state/province.

The major people doing business here are mostly people from the northern part of the country, which is why it is called "Nassarawa". Nassarawa is a name of a state in the northern part of Nigeria.

For a long time now, through my research, I have discovered that goat and sheep farming is one of the most rewarding animal-rearing businesses in Nigeria.

One can easily take part in this type of farming…., maybe I will start that this week...😜

BUT, it involves a lot, not just buying them and keeping them, it involves dedicating a great deal of your money, time and care. So the bottom line is commitment.

I could remember some years back when my grandparents were alive and they reared some goats. It was just their job and they were committed to it. And back then, if you hurt one goat, you will miss one meal…., I mean, my grand Ma would deny you one meal…😁

She was too involved with her animal, which to me was a lot of commitment and a fine lesson to me. So, if I say, I have a degree in animal rearing locally, I am not wrong😁

The result of taking care of these animals can be experienced later in the future. Some engage in this type of farming to produce meat much later which is generally accepted and consumed by many, some use it for milk.

After finding the prices of goats and sheep in this market, I find out that my pocket can't afford that, so I left...., it was way too high. The goats were just mostly mature ones and it goes for 150,000 Naira which is approximately 1100 Steem using today's rate. There were other cheaper ones and even bigger ones.

In fact, the prices discouraged me, but I guess I was the one who made the mistake of going to the market. Do you know why? The species in the market are different from the ones that are bred at home here. Also, if I were to buy it from home..., maybe from someone, it won't be that expensive. Well, that was what I later discovered.

Locally, I have found a goat. It's a local breed and we call it '' Ebot Ibibio" in my native language. This family give birth to twin always, I hope to get two, that is one male and one female. But for now, I will get just a female.

And the seller wants to give them out at 500 Steem each going with today's Steem price.., I think this is much better...but I will pay for it in instalments for the two.

First I will pay for one which is female, that's what I can afford for now. These are just young goats. If it were to be matured one of this breed, it would go for 1000 Steem upward depending on the size.

But I think, it's better for me to get the small one, it would grow gradually and hopefully would produce more.

I will get more than 3 new goats by January or February next year, that is if I should buy them now and allow them to mate.

Hopefully, before December 2024, I should have a big family of different goats that will turn into a big farm. It will keep multiplying...., and just maybe, I would be surviving organically while getting busy with all these hustles...., I would be embracing the homestead lifestyle...and just maybe going organic in everything.

So, this week, I would welcome a new goat....., maybe she would do her introduction once she arrives...😊. My next update on this would be the arrival.

I have lias with a veterinarian, we have many of them here..., most especially for goats, sheep and dogs. This would be just in case I need him any moment.

Cast a witness vote for @pennsif.witness


Vote here

About Me

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

The money for a second goat is in your wallet.
No sheep as promised but a "small" start.
Never keep a single goat/sheep, they are very social animals an need a partner.
Maybe one Eric, one Nuka?!
Good luck, much success!

 10 months ago 

Oh my goodness 😳, this is more than a surprise to me this morning . Thank you so much for this huge gift, I will get the male at once.😁.

I really appreciate this big offer, thank you so so much 🙏 ❤

 10 months ago 

Wow!

I totally agree with you that rearing of animals indeed requires commitment and of course finance!

But I think I like this idea of rearing goats, it really a good business. My Dad while we were growing up did goat business and he made alot of money from it.

Am waiting for more update as you welcome your new goat next week

 10 months ago 

It's great to know your Dad did that. I think it's lucrative. It requires a lot of time and commitment. I watched my grandmother do the same for many years before she died. It's a commitment.

 10 months ago 

A single goat...? I understand your plan, but. But! Two. The single goat would otherwise only get extremely stupid ideas... And billy goats are... complicated. Didn't you want sheep...?

 10 months ago 

Yeah, I will get two....that is one male, and one female. But for now, since I can afford just one, I rather go for the female, I hope to get the male soon when I have enough money for that.

Didn't you want sheep...?

Sure thing, I will get this too. I also have plans to get a male and a female soon. I will go for the young ones just like the goat, I don't need the mature ones, they are expensive.

I have enough space and time for them, it would be a happy thing to take care of them too.

 10 months ago 

Billy goats, male goats that is, are really special...

 10 months ago 

Wow this is very fascinating

This is really a great business to venture into. Profit are made through rearing of animals especially Goat.
You are absolutely doing well Sir.

 10 months ago 

Oh wow! Thank you for this great surprise, I really appreciate it.

It's a happy goat day 🐐😊

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 10 months ago 

Thank you for the support, I appreciate

Here various aspects of cow goat and sheep are described and give a clear idea about their endowment, which is very instructive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66139.00
ETH 3537.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16