An extraordinary year in a few paragraphs -Reflections on my internship programme

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 months ago

IMG-20240522-WA0028.jpg

Two days ago, I had an interaction with a younger colleague who was curious to know how the past one year went by with me, I was very much eager to share my experience and even more eager to share with my steemit family. To make this quite interesting, I'll put it in a question and answer format.

Are you ready???
Let's move a year backward.

How did your internship programme differ from your expectations?

From the day I stepped into the teaching hospital as an intern pharmacist, I had a mix of excitement and apprehension. I really didn't know what lay ahead or what to expect, I was just eager to go in and explore. I didn't have much expectations, I just wanted to learn as much as I could while imparting my quota to society.

What skills have you developed or improved on during your internship?

My direct interaction with patients on a daily basis has improved my communication skills and patient centered care. I'm now very skilled at pharmacy management and inventory control. I have better organizational skills, good research skills and problem solving capacity. Through health talks and campaigns, I have improved on my public speaking ability and good confidence level.

How did your internship contribute to your personal and professional growth?

Personal growth: As I engaged with individuals from diverse backgrounds and with varying healthcare needs, I learnt the importance of empathy. You can imagine comforting a worried parent, providing practical assistance to a patient in distress, answering questions on medication side effects, this really reenforced my human connection.

Professional growth: I have gained a deeper understanding of various disease conditions, medications to resolve them, with their appropriate doses and frequency. I have collaborated with healthcare professionals in interdisciplinary teams, each day presenting new opportunities for learning and development.

Did you face any challenges during your internship?

I would say a capital YES. It wasn't easy balancing patient care with the poor health care system in the country. There was a time all healthcare professionals in the hospital went on strike, leaving patients and caregivers unattended to. Interns needed to work beyond schedule and office hours to cater for the needs of these ones.

Watching a patient die due to his or her ignorance, financial constraints, lack of equipment in the hospital, underemployed staff, nonchalant attitude of some workers, obsolete and manual processes to be followed e.t.c can be very discouraging.

The workload as an intern is very exhausting leaving me extremely overwhelmed and tired most of the time.

There was a period I became so frustrated and began doubting I'll be able to complete this program, but I must say that all this was just a catalyst for my growth. With determination and encouragement from my loved ones I pulled through.

What advice would you give to future interns embarking on a similar journey?

Be your best self, and be ready to learn. A Lot will be thrown at you but your desire to be thought will keep you going. Let money be your least motivation. Put your patient's needs and interests ahead of yours and be sure to excel in the profession.

What concluding words do you have?

The past one year was transformative. I was reshaped and remolded into a more passionate, competent and confident young pharmacist.

I hope to carry with me, the lessons I've learnt, the relationships I've built, the commitment I've developed into my journey in the profession.

To all my mentors and preceptors who generously shared their knowledge and wisdom, y'all are the best, thank you for bringing the best inside me.

Cheers to lifelong learning and growth

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

Great information 👍!

Congratulations for a successful one year medical internship.

It's obvious why you were absent for such a long time here...and it is understandable too.

Hopefully you can use that knowledge to help humanity at large. Perhaps, you can continue with your health talk series...? It was with a lot of values.

I wish you success in your next step on your medical career.

 3 months ago 

Thank you @ubongudofot for your kind words. The knowledge I've gained will definitely be shared.

Talking about my health series, I'll be back with that. I'm happy you saw that helpful.

!upvote 15


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ Participate in the "Seven Network" Community2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ ⚜💯.
This post was manually selected to be voted on by "Seven Network Project". (Manual Curation of Steem Seven).

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 140%

 3 months ago 

Thank you so much for your support

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 3 months ago 

Thank you for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community. We encourage you to keep posting quality content and support each other in the community.


DescriptionInformation
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
Support burnsteem25-
Support Community or Charity-
Status Club-
AI Article✅ Original (Human text!)
I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here
 3 months ago 

Thank you for the review

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53