Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W2: Natural Disaster In My Place - NigeriasteemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago

IMG-20221014-WA0017.jpg



Hi Friends!

It's the Second week already, I hope you enjoy the ongoing challenge contest. Today I want to tell you about the natural disaster we are suffering here in Nigeria.

Flood In Nigeria:

We are currently experiencing serious flooding in Nigeria. The flood damaged a lot of infrastructures and a significant number of people died. People have been displaced from their homes.

IMG-20221014-WA0018.jpg

Areas they affect:

The flooding has turned into a major disaster, and the worst part of it is that many people were not prepared for it. Among the states affected in Nigeria includes Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Rivers, Cross River, Delta, Imo, Edo, Anambra, Benue, and Adamawa States etc.

How do they cause ruin?

So far more than 600 people lost their lives, and Nearly 30,000 (Thirty thousand) houses were destroyed because of the flood in my country. Infrastructure like Roads, Street lights, hospitals, schools, super-markets, transformers, recreational centers, etc has been destroyed.

IMG-20221020-WA0010.jpg

How are the people affected?

The people are negatively affected, they are rendered homeless, this is the worst flooding we ever experienced in the past decades. The news indicates that nearly 1.4 Million people are displaced from their Communities and most have lost their lifetime properties and loved ones to flood.

The worst thing is as it is we still expect the flood to continue till the end of November, especially in some states like Cross River, Delta, Rivers and Bayelsa.

The most probably cause of it:

We are used to flooding during the rainy season, but these years own is unusual and the causes include:

  • Climate Change, and Heavy Rainfalls

And Another Factor is the Emergency Release of Excess water from Dams for both Cameroon and Nigeria.

The operator of the LADO dam in the Cameroon Republic releases excess water from their reservoir on the 13th of September, and the water flows down to Nigeria through river Benue, so flood was expected in states that have already experienced Heavy Rainfall.

IMG-20221020-WA0007_1.jpg

History has it that Nigeria and Cameron had reached a conscientious agreement 40years ago to build what is called Buffer Dam dam which will be 2 and a half bigger in size than the Cameroon LADO Dam so that when the LADO dam releases water the buffer dam will hold it. But, sadly, our Government didn't build the said Dam after they agreed to it. The dam was supposed to be in Adamawa State, it would have supplied light to north Cameroon and also assist with irrigation.

IMG-20221014-WA0016_1.jpg

Our Government failed woefully, they Don't build the dam till today, these are the reason we used to experience massive floods each time Cameroon opens its dam.

Was there a prior alert from the Government?

Yes, the was a prior warning from the Government Agency Since last year that flooding might likely occur in the aforementioned places, how sad people did not take it to heart, they didn't prepare for it.

What can you do in case of a situation like that?


Screenshot_20221019-094312.png
Source

I prepared for a situation like this, in order not to be taken unawares. I've gotten my go-bag ready and keep it where I can easily access it, in the bag I've put things that are so important which will take me at least 3days. Below is the least of the things in my go-bag:

  • Nonperishable food that will take me at least 3days and a manual opener.
  • water for drinking and cleaning up
  • toiletries, first aid kit, and medicines
  • my important documents like insurance and means of identification
  • flashlight, batteries, power bank, or inverter
  • hand-crank radio and whistle
  • sturdy footwear and seasonal clothing
  • cash, dust masks, emergency blanket, and garbage bags. And as a nursing mother I am, I've added my baby's formula, diapers, etc.


Conclusions:

We are living in a perilous time, so we need always be alert to dangers and be ready for any unforeseen occurrences. Moreover, we should always heed the warning about a particular expected happening so that we won't be caught unguarded. All the same my heart goes out to all those affected by this natural disaster. I will like my friends @eliany, @patjewell and @gracyakan to join this contest.

Picturelocation
Photo Credit@goodybest
Captured withiphone 8pro
News LocationAkwa Ibom State
1st and 2nd Picturelocation: Mgbuoba Port Harcourt
What3word:location
3rd picturesKolokuma Opokuma local government area Bayelsa
What3wordlocation
4th & 5th picturesEdit Eket L.G.A Akwa Ibom State
What3wordlocation

Written by:
@goodybest

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Oh god.. the flood damage in your area looks really bad, the flood level submerged the house. I feel anxious and worried what about the people around it? I hope they get a puddle from the government and related parties.

Thank you for the information you have shared. Good luck in this contest.
Regards

 2 years ago 

The situation is scary. I also hope the Government will mitigate the situation. Thanks for your good wishes I appreciate!

 2 years ago 

This is really a terrible experience I must say, as lives and properties are lost on a regular basis. I put it to the government that they have failed woefully, and the country is paying for their act of negligence. The Dasin Hausa Dam at Adamawa is reportedly 90% to completion, and the current government isn't making any budget for it anymore.
These are some of the major reasons we should vote the right presidential candidate (Mr Peter Obi) come February 2023. Thanks for sharing dear and goodluck in this contest.

 2 years ago 

The Dasin Hausa Dam at Adamawa is reportedly 90% to completion.

Imagine something that supposed to be built since 40Years ago. May God Almighty help us all. I appreciate your contribution!

 2 years ago 

Floods cause us a lot of damage. The place you showed was very damaged. Your post is very well presented. Good luck to you. Thank you for sharing your beautiful post with us.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for engaging on my post. I appreciate!

 2 years ago 

es fuerte la situacion en tu pais cuando acontencen las inundaciones aqui en Venezuela estan pasando cosas similares espero en Dios las lluvias no prosigan saludos y bendiciones!

 2 years ago 

I hope to God the rains do not continue greetings and blessings!

This is our prayer too, I appreciate your good wishes. Thanks and bless you too.

 2 years ago 

Actually this is really terrible, I could imagine how this people feels, even though there was warning against this disasters it obvious this people didn't have where to go out to so they think it won't happen. Well, our hope that soon this earth will be a beautiful place for people to live happily always strengthen me any time I see images like this, it's it easy with this people. Thank you for sharing this with us I appreciate I wish you success

 2 years ago 

Yes dear we are hoping on a better future, where we won't be affected by natural disasters like this again. Thanks for visiting me, I appreciate your wonderful contribution.

 2 years ago 

You gave the real story of the disaster we're witnessing in my dear country. It was a clear failure from the government to put in place control measures before hand rather than been reactionary in it's measures.

I hope this could be corrected as soon as possible. Other effects like poor transportation services and other health challenges cannot be overemphasized.

Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

I also hope so, because right now so many roads leading to other states is taking by flood, and this means slow down in economic activities and business. I appreciate your nice contribution @xkool24

 2 years ago 

Exactly, this will all lead to inflation.
Thanks @goodybest

 2 years ago 

The amount of lives lost and houses destroyed by the flood is heart breaking.

If the issue of the dam was handled appropriately, things wouldn't have escalated this much.

 2 years ago 

Absolutely! I appreciate your nice comment, thanks for visiting me.

 2 years ago 

That looks really bad. The houses are almost drowned. It's sad to hear that people had to lose their lives. Hope everything is okay now..

 2 years ago 

The situation is bad, I mean really bad the flood has covered so many houses, and roads, and it's not getting any better instead it's worse than before as heavy rain storm is falling everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59762.43
ETH 2663.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41