Thediarygame for 1/8/2024|| A day in my life as a chef, experiencing 8hours marathon cook

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 months ago

IMG_20240801_115058.jpg

On this faithful Thursday, I decided to stock up my freezer with food for the week as I knew I will not be chance to cook everyday at home.

I decided to stock up the freezer with natural drinks, soup and stew.

I went to the market the previous day to buy ingredients I will need for my cooking. Despite the prices of things in the market, I stick to my market list.

The things I cooked on this day

  • Pancake
  • Zobo drink
  • Tiger nut drink
  • Soy milk drink
  • Stew
  • White rice
  • Ketchup
  • Plantain chips

I had a kitchen assistants and of course my partner assisted me while my in-law was with baby, therefore, my support team was intact and ready for the marathon cook. So let's me tell you how it was.

First; Pancakes

I started with preparing pancakes for breakfast, my in-law had an appointment in the morning and so I decided to prepare a pancake so he and baby will take breakfast.

IMG_20240801_103105.jpg
Breakfast

For the pancake, I used flour, batter, milk, sugar onion, pepper etc to prepare. I did not join them in this breakfast because I don't eat fatty foods.

Second; soy milk

I already soaked soy beans, date and Tiger nut in water over night. So I washed the soybeans off and blended it using my blender, then sieved it, separating the chaff from the milk.

After that, I cooked it in low heat for about 20 minutes and boom my soy milk was ready to refrigerate.

IMG_20240801_073821.jpgwashedIMG_20240801_103040.jpgblendIMG_20240804_063647.jpgseive

Third; Tiger nut drink.

I already soaked the tigernut over night, so I blended it with coconut, sieved it then heat it on low heat for about 10 minutes then it was done. Then I added dates syrup that I prepared to it as sweetner

IMG_20240801_073827.jpgTigernutIMG_20240804_063724.jpgCoconutIMG_20240801_073833.jpgDate

Fourth; Zobo drink

I washed zobo ingredients and boiled them in an appropriate volume of water. Then I prepared for sweetner to sweetened my drink.

IMG_20240801_084944.jpg
Zobo, lemon grass and clove

After cooking the zobo for about 40 minutes, I sieved the drink from the chaff and keep it aside to cool, while I prepared the ingredients for sweetening. I washed and peeled pineapple and ginger for blending and added dates seed to it.

IMG_20240804_063859.jpgwashedIMG_20240804_063822.jpgpeeledIMG_20240801_103047.jpgblend and sieve

And all my drinks were ready to be chilled. Then I proceeded to cooking stew. I used snake gourd plant to make my stew. I will write the step by step tutorial soon on my blog.

I had my ingredients prepared and set aside for cooking

IMG_20240801_123612.jpg
Chicken steaming

IMG_20240801_133104.jpg
Stew ingredients

IMG_20240801_134946.jpg
Stew ready

IMG_20240801_135047.jpg
Ate it with white rice


IMG_20240801_141822.jpg

Finally, I prepared ketchup and fried plantain chips, I did this as a lesson course for engagement challenge contest for teaching team. I never did it before, it was my first time and I enjoyed my first experience of learning this recipe.

This week course was really great as I was happy to try new thing and the result was supper amazing. You can read about how I prepared it here SEC-S19 / W4 | Mise en place, Types of Roux and Mother Sauces.


So finally after spending about 8 hours marathon in the kitchen cooking all this, i decided to give myself a chilled break. Earlier that morning my friend called me that she will be preparing one of the special African dish, that is cocoyam so she invited me to come have a taste of that special meal.

IMG_20240801_183042.jpg
At my friend's house

IMG_20240804_071257.jpg
Cocoyam soup

I promise to visit her but due to the busy schedule of mine, I couldn't but I find out time on that thursday to visit her. I went there with some of the drinks I made for her kids.

She served me the delicious soup and cocoyam Poundo but my tummy was full already so I decided to take the food home. My baby had some fun time with her kids, she played at length and then we went back home happily and refreshed.

It was really an adventure day in my kitchen. I was tired but didn't really felt it because I had a good supporting team who worked with me in the kitchen.

Thank you for reading my dairy

Polish_20210708_192135556.png

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Wow looks like some sorts of Guinness book of record. What a well spent day cooking for the family. That's so good of you even with some busy schedule you set out time for that. I think next time you should compete with Hilda Bassey.

 2 months ago 

Hahaha 🤣🤣🤣

Thank you for your comments, 👍 I appreciate

Most times is good to test our ability, but seriously I was tired I can't compete with that girl. Hahaha

 2 months ago 

All I can see here is an hard working woman who prioritized her duties. You did a great job here @eliany. Preparing Pancake, Zobo drink, Tiger nut drink, Soy milk drink, ketchup, white rice, plantain chips and stew in one day is not an easy task but yet you achieved that. These 8 hours spent in the kitchen would have brought home for us an award from Guinness Book of Record🤭 but you failed to register. lol😃

Both the foods and drinks are looking healthy!

Thank you for sharing your daily tasks in detailed format!

 2 months ago 

I will think of that next time, hahahahhaaaaa

I just needed to do that on that day because it has been of help to me now and in few days to come.

 2 months ago 

Hello friend @eliany
You must have spent 8 hours in your kitchen but I think you got more success than expected and you made great recipes, I enjoyed reading them. As for the taste, you must have enjoyed it. I wish I had a chance to taste it too.

 2 months ago 

Oh it was really tasty and I still have them in my freezer, of course if possible I would have given you some.

 2 months ago 

Thanks for giving me some.

 2 months ago 

I want to visit you 😄😄. Keep the stew and tiger nuts drink for me. This is a wonderful diary.

 2 months ago 

Oh I'm waiting for your visits, thank you for your comments 👍 and support.

 2 months ago 

You are welcome 💞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68161.91
ETH 2649.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68