Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

✨Assallam O Alikum✨

Greetings from me! I hope you're all doing well. I'm participating in a very interesting contest. Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation organized by @goodybest mam.

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

My name is Afifa Noor, and I belong to Punjab, Pakistan. Pakistan is a country where each province has its own language, customs, and traditions. Similarly, the people living there have their own unique way of living and cultural practices. My mother tongue is Punjabi, but it's not my national language. I can understand Punjabi but can't speak it fluently. Since childhood, I've been speaking Urdu, which is Pakistan's national language. Urdu is a rich language that has adopted words from various languages, which is why my upbringing in the city and my husband's language is also Urdu. That's why my children also speak and understand Urdu.

IMG-20240503-WA0027.jpg

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

Pakistan is rich in cultural heritage, and you'll find a diverse range of cultures here. As I mentioned earlier, each province in Pakistan has its own language and unique way of living, and similarly, their traditions are also distinct. We celebrate Eid-al-Fitr and Eid-al-Azha with traditional foods, clothes, and family gatherings.

IMG-20240503-WA0030.jpgIMG-20240424-WA0002.jpg

Additionally, Pakistani weddings are unique due to traditional functions like Mayoon, Mehndi, and Walima. Our cuisine is famous worldwide for its flavors, and traditional dishes like Biryani, Karahi, and Kebabs are an essential part of special occasions. Moreover, Sufism and poetry hold great significance in our culture. During national celebrations like Independence Day, classical performances are specially featured in mushairas (poetic gatherings).

To preserve our traditions, we emphasize family gatherings where traditional foods are preferred. Moreover, we share stories of our national heroes and martyrs who sacrificed their lives for the country with our children. Occasionally, musical gatherings are organized where the poetry of Sufi saints is sung. Additionally, traditional activities are organized among students to create awareness and promote our cultural heritage.

I would like to invite @inudi , @woka-happiness and @maryamnadeem to participate in this contest

Thanks for visiting my Blog

Regards

@creative.streams

Sort:  
 2 months ago 
It is nice to read about your culture, I was in Karachi in 2006 (if I was not wrong) and delivered earthquake aid support from IFRC Indonesia. Wish you luck and keep improving your creativity and quality. Cheers

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community. We encourage you to keep posting your quality content and support each other in the community

comment

DescriptionInformation
Verified UserNewcomer
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Bot Free
BeneficiaryNo
burnsteem25No
Status ClubClub5050
AI Article✅ Original (Human text!)
I invite you to support @pennsif.witness to grow across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

Thank you so much for such a nice review sir .

 2 months ago 

Punjabi is your native language while Urdu is your official language, you can write very well in English too, can you speak English? Thanks for sharing some of your traditions with us and how it's been passed orally to the next generation. I appreciate your entry!

Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement! While I'm not fluent in speaking English, I can write in it with some ease. However, I often rely on translation tools to help me express myself in English, as my official language is Urdu. I write in Urdu and then translate it into English, so please excuse any imperfections.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61