ᔕᑕᗷ Week Chit-Chat (12/10 - 13/10) - Communities anno 2016

in ᔕᑕᗷ ᗰOᑎKEY ᗷᑌᔕIᑎEᔕᔕ15 hours ago (edited)

weekend chit chat5.jpg


No, I did not subscribe in 2016 and I wasn't the first Steemian. If it came to understanding this platform I missed a lot and had a hard time understanding how to join and be a part of a community. I just did something (I mainly read, commented, wrote, posted and that was it).

@stef1 wrote a post (see link underneath "dos and don'ts") about what Steemit looked like those very first years. I found it interesting to read and I agree that I felt unwelcome if it came to certain communities and I still do. Partly because the communities are big and they don't care if you post but also because of those communities who stand for a country or language and they rather see you leave than come (unless you are rich because a rich Steemian is everywhere welcome).

I wrote before that there was a time when I posted enthusiastically in a community and my post was muted. In harsh terms, I was told that I was not welcome unless I paid some fee. This was one of the first times I heard that a community on Steemit wasn't a club of like-minded you could join but where you were only welcome if you paid the owner. It was such a luxury those communities had back then. The "right" to ask for a fee. That same community did change its opinion. Perhaps the members started to complain or left? I never asked but I did decide that I wouldn't return not even if they begged me. So the first communities were a kind of club for VIP members and although they had a topic it wasn't that the best writers could be found there (although this community for sure was meant for writers and I found it via the freewriters a few of them were members.).

Gemini_Generated_Image_4u1era4u1era4u1e.jpg

I had a look at some old communities I and a few other accounts subscribed to till today.

  • curie - September 2016
  • dtube - July 2017
  • Qurator - September 2017
  • Steem Basic Income - November 2017
  • dblog - January 2018
  • Steempeak - March 2018
  • Etainclub - August 2018
  • Steemitbloggers - February 2018
    (powerhouse creatives)
  • Freewritehouse - March 2018
  • Steem alliance - January 2019
  • Threespeak - March 2019
  • Korea - November 2019
  • CCC - December 2019
  • Art Lovers - December 2019

For sure there were many more and a part of the communities you see here are all started by the same (group) of people with a certain goal in mind.

If I look at this small list of what Steemit had from 2016 I believe that wasn't bad at all. Are we doing better today as we did back then? I can't tell but one thing is sure Steemit offered more and the communities (I did not add my list of those started in 2020) were more focused on a topic (task) than being an island for one country only.

Till today I find this the most weird development on Steemit. I can understand a community will use a different language instead of English but why join a worldwide platform if you have no intentions to meet others than those living in the same country?
What is the benefit of having 6 communities doing all exactly the same and not one single one is willing/able to go for the culture, history and typical for that country's uniqueness?

Do's and don'ts for hives?

I think it's a good thing everyone can start one. It helps to organize posts and find like-minded if the community stands for a topic and is willing to focus on that and indeed is willing to grow slowly is a part of it just like being independent.
If there is a clear vision, and the community is not only focused on booming votes it will for sure grow. If you ask me there is nothing wrong with a community with only 6 -15 active members since if it comes to being active these are always the same people even if a community counts 2k members or more members.

What I miss most are people willing to engage and talk on Steemit and I don't understand why they can't find the time but do talk hours on Discord and WhatsApp.

Today is a good day to start removing all those communities I don't need and once added. No, not those of years ago but the new ones. I will not join them so it's better to leave and keep my list short.


ᒪIᑎKᔕ

Communities
The End of Student & Steem
Creating a Community, dos and don'ts

The Lumineers - The Ballad Of Cleopatra


13.10.2024

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64866.50
ETH 2555.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65