๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿผโ€๐Ÿ’ป #Proposal-86: Communities Update

in Steem Dev โ€ข 5 days ago

Has it really been 4 weeks since my last update?

That's far too long and I'm sorry for the delay. Things have been progressing and I've reached a point where I'm about 90% happy - I'll highlight the bits that I'm unsure about as I go along and would appreciate any thoughts that you have.

Carousel

Concluding the work that I was doing on the carousel, my focus was on tidying it up and getting it working reliably at all resolutions.

My approach for implementing the carousel, is to add a style to a wrapper component and use this to target and adjust existing styles. This means that the code which pushes out the posts list remains largely unmodified - I'll explain this in detail when we're nearer to deploying the code.

What this approach has meant, is that it can take longer to identify why something is displaying the way it is (and potentially ignoring the properties that I'm setting). This can be frustrating but I get there in the end.

The carousel has a maximum height set and the image is scaled to fill the width of the area. For images that are shorter, there will be additional white space between the content and the voting bar.

This works reasonably well in most scenarios although posts which have a shorter (or no) image won't look as good.

As I mentioned, I also spent a reasonable amount of time adjusting the display for different widths (it defaults to the existing "blog" view on narrow/mobile devices). Some elements were defined not to wrap (like the voting bar) which took some unravelling!

The most troublesome resolutions were the "narrow" widths which appear just before a "snapping point".

For example, 1200px:

And 768px:

Community Banner

I've also spent a lot of time building up the community banner.

For this area, I wanted to pull in information that currently exists in the Right Panel as well as helping the Community Page to be more visually appealing.

The more graphical element relies upon the existing @hive-XXXXXX account having profile and cover images set, otherwise a charcoal background is displayed (like an unedited Profile)

A good example is the Korean Community which currently looks like this:

and in new world would look like this:

By including the "key information" within the banner, this can be removed from the Right Panel, allowing the other information to shift up. In most cases, this would move the Description "above the fold" (do people still talk about "the fold" in design?)

In the case of Deutsch Unplugged, it would look like this (note that I'm on a widescreen laptop)

Even without a pretty cover image, this feels a lot more inviting than the existing, text-heavy approach.

All of the existing functionality that has been migrated has also been hooked up.

Once again, this has presented some challenges with narrower resolutions.

When the width gets narrower on the existing site and the Right Panel disappears, a "cut-down" version is included at the top of the page:

Whilst most of this information is now contained within the banner, "Activity Log" and the moderator functions (Roles & Settings) are not - and there's not existing space to fit them in.

This has led to the current solution of including them underneath the banner - a solution which I'm not particularly happy with at the moment (I don't believe they're important enough to be given the prominence that they now have).

This has allowed me to remove the existing CommunityPaneMobile component because everything in the existing component is now managed within my new component.

Test URL

For those interested in having a look, I've uploaded the current version here - https://condenser-r64jisicxa-ul.a.run.app

Footer-Top-green.png

I welcome any ideas that you might have regarding any of this - particularly related to the Activity Log and Moderator Functions.









ย 

ย 

Separator-code.png

the-gorilla's Alternative Steemit Interface

In case you didn't know, I've created an interface to help you find content that you're interested in more easily.

Posts by voting bot users, abusers and spam tags are hidden and you can search by multiple tags - allowing you to find the content that you're interested in more easily.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Launch Alternative Steemit Interface ๐Ÿ‘ˆ




Separator-tools.png

the-gorilla's Club Status Tool

I've also created a tool to help users review their club status - showing them where their power's coming from, how much they're powering up, transferring out and who they share a wallet with amongst other things.

Please use it wisely.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Launch Club Status Tool ๐Ÿ‘ˆ

Footer-Bottom.png

Sort: ย 
ย 5 days agoย 

I really like the idea for the community page. I agree with you that a few little things could still be optimised.

I opened the DU page on your server. I have the following suggestions:

  • The profile picture could be a little smaller.
  • The font could also be a little smaller, especially for the fields "subscriber", "rewards" and "poster". The labels takes up too much space.
  • The space saved could then perhaps be used to place the "moderators" and "logs".

Question: Why is the profile picture not displayed on DU? On the Korean site works it fine.

For images that are shorter, there will be additional white space between the content and the voting bar.

As you say, it doesn't look good with shorter images. I would suggest fixing the image size and scaling the images without distortion.
Another alternative would be a longer text. However, the extractBodySummary function would have to be modified for this. This function ensures that the text from the body field is cleaned and shortened. Customisation would probably be difficult here, as the free space is only controlled by CSS.

By the way:
If you have reached an intermediate status again that I can integrate for testing, you are welcome to send me the branch link. The PR version is currently running very well on https://steemit.moecki.online. So I'm a permanent tester ... and maybe some others on this server :-)

ย 3 days agoย 

Sad

XRecorder_06072024_180715.jpg

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

Coincidentally, I was just looking at your profile the other day because I was afraid I had missed an update.

Not a problem with your changes, but while you're in there... Can you do anything about the readability of some of the notifications in "night mode"? Some of them are very difficult to read, especially on android.

ย 5 days agoย (edited)

If you are 90% happy it makes me happyโ€ฆ :-))

Besides it looks brilliant! Gonna take a detailed view at homeโ€ฆ ;-)

ย 5 days agoย 

MuppetsMuppetShowGIF.gif

XRecorder_06072024_180715.jpg

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

Well done! I LOVE the community display.
I've logged into the test site, but it takes forever to load.
It might be the internet on my side. I will take another look later.

do people still talk about "the fold" in design?

I do, but you should know by now that I am pretty old school.
(โ€ขเธดโ€ฟโ€ขเธด)

Also voted the parent comments of moecki and remlaps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29