๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ’ป 0000000000010000 Steemit Content Interface

in Steem Dev โ€ข 7 months ago

Having got back into the routine of coding, I've returned to an old project that I've been obsessing over for the past week. I've wanted to write an update numerous times but I kept thinking "just one more feature" so I didn't ever get around to it - often coding long into the night, despite the inevitable early start the following day!

Alas, I have (mostly) succeeded in getting to a good stage and am ready to find out what you think!

You may recall that @coding-gorilla was the account that I used to share my coding updates and I was working on a new interface for Steemit. I got disheartened when concerns were raised about logging in and at that point, I decided to move on to the Club Status tool instead. Since then, I've continued using my new interface to curate content which I've found much easier to do as I can remove a huge amount of shit.

With my rejuvinated passion for coding and an improved hosting provider (who won't delete my site on a whim), I've rewritten that interface so that it's far easier to maintain and build upon - which has also allowed me to include a few additional features.

image.png
Separator-code.png

๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ Target Audience

I've designed the site for people who want to blog and find content that they're interested in more easily. It's very much designed with a curators mindset and this is reflected by the features included so far.

Separator-code.png

๐Ÿšซ Exclusions

The easiest place to start is by stating the things that you won't see by default (which you can include if you wish to do so).

  1. Bot Users - By default, any user that has delegated to a known voting bot will have their content hidden. I'm aware that not all bot users post utter crap everyday to get their vote but unfortunately for those few, the majority do.
  2. Blacklisted Tags - Similar to the above, there are some tags which are a tell-tale sign of shit content. krsuccess is the most used shit-spam-fest-bum-hole-crap.
  3. Blacklisted Users - These might be known plagiarists or they might just post the same photo every day. Whatever they've done for me to feel that they've wronged me, their content's also hidden by default.

If you do choose to view their content, I've included an appropriate icon so that you know.

Hopefully genuine users will thank me for this - there's a lot of shit, lazy content...

image.png
Separator-code.png

๐Ÿ”ฅ Burn STEEM

Steemit loves a bit of burn at the moment so I've highlighted all of the posts that use the burnsteem25 hashtag. I also spent far too long animating it but it's the details that make me feel proud of my work!

This tag also guarantees you an Engagement Challenge entry or Diary Game.

image.png
Separator-code.png

๐Ÿท Tags

Just like the previous time I released this interface, the popular tags and tag cloud are back and working. Each additional tag will allow you to target more and more specific content.

Separator-code.png

๐Ÿ“ฌ Active Posts Only

At the moment, the interface will only display content that has not yet paid out. I might change this in the future but today, it's just active posts.

Separator-code.png

โ™ฃ Club Status

Also like the previous release, the username is clickable which will take you through to my club status tool and the can of worms that might open.

image.png
Separator-code.png

โญ Future Ideas

I've already got a bit of a to-do list which I'm happy to add to if you have any ideas. It currently comprises of (in no particular order):

  1. Pagination at the bottom of the page.
  2. Top level navigation - structure to be decided but will include an "Active Communities" tab - which will lead to a more interesting community page - which I could let community leaders customise - for a donation to me ๐Ÿ˜‰
  3. Promoted Content - automated by transfers to the @null or @the-gorilla accounts.
  4. Promoted Authors - full width content for specific users - could be in conjunction with promoted content.

Separator-code.png

๐Ÿ˜ƒ The Joy of Coding

Whilst writing this, not everything went smoothly so I also thought I'd share some interesting features.

  1. One thing that I talked about it my last update was the improved memory management that I'd learned so I included this from the outset. It's very easy to write a chunk of code with the priority of just getting it working but I made the conscious effort to destroy every variable that was created so that I don't overdo the memory usage.

  2. Similar to how I monitored memory consumption, I also monitored load speeds and one section in particular performed extremely badly - Voting Bot Delegations. There wasn't much I could do to optimise the code and this feature alone would take 3 seconds to complete. Since delegations don't update very often, I decided that this information could be stored on a file on the server and one poor user ever 12 hours would get a 3 second performance hit when this list gets updated.

That's all that I can think of for now - I'm sure I've forgotten something but that's not unusual.

I suppose all that's left is for me to share a link...

๐Ÿ‘‰ https://raptor.in.ua/steemit.php ๐Ÿ‘ˆ

ย 

Separator-tools.png

the-gorilla's Club Status Tool

In case you didn't know, I've created a tool to help users review their club status - showing them where their power's coming from, how much they're powering up, transferring out and who they share a wallet with amongst other things.

Please use it wisely.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Launch Club Status Tool ๐Ÿ‘ˆ

Footer-Bottom.png

Sort: ย 
ย 7 months agoย (edited)

I have several ideas. Some may be silly, it's all up to you.

  • Many people "live" in certain communities. I think it would be good to add a list of communities on the right. These are also tags, but it would be good if they were in the form of community names.

  • I think people will miss the ability to vote directly from your interface. Perhaps in the future you will need to think about how to turn your project into a full-fledged separate interface.

  • I know this is a drawback, but I would recommend adding at least one ad block. You would get profit from your activity and you would have more motivation. If the project becomes popular, you can use part of the profit to buy STEEM and burn it.

  • It would be good if you could also read your feed here. I think there are problems with this. If you could figure out how to clean your feed of reports and contests, it would be invaluable.

  • Would it be possible to give the reader an option in which language he wants to see the posts? Or what is the minimum length of posts he would like to read? The idea is that the reader would have as many opportunities as possible for individual arrangements.

These are all just ideas for thought :)

Would it be possible to give the reader an option in which language he wants to see the posts?

That would be a good thing. It would also prevent the duplication of content in many articles are written in their native language and then added with an often poor translation using a translator. This is pure poison for listings and search engine rankings.

One of the Hive condensers has added an "AI button" with which you can translate the corresponding articles directly. I think at peakd.com. Maybe @the-gorilla can "spy" there. :)

If you could figure out how to clean your feed of reports and contests, it would be invaluable.

Yeah. I'm so bored of dozens of articles with the same title like "Engagement Challenge of the week XY" and the automatic lists with "Articles of the Engagement Challenge of the week XY" that I'm already starting to publish satirical engagement challenges about it. :D

The only difference: This "challenge" brings funny, creative answers. #lol

ย 7 months agoย 

Yeah. I'm so bored of dozens of articles with the same title like "Engagement Challenge of the week XY" and the automatic lists with "Articles of the Engagement Challenge of the week XY" that I'm already starting to publish satirical engagement challenges about it. :D

Shhh, don't tell anybody but I unmuted these tags before putting it on public display ๐Ÿคญ

One of the Hive condensers has added an "AI button"

This is a good idea. Such a button would be a very convenient solution.

I'm so bored of dozens of articles with the same title

Overall, I have nothing against the Engagement Challenge. Moreover, I agree that a platform like Steemit should have some big contests. But in most cases, contest posts are inferior to ordinary posts written by good bloggers in terms of interest. Therefore, I rarely read them.

contest posts are inferior to ordinary posts written by good bloggers in terms of interest.

Most of these "bloggers" are not bloggers. They are simple upvote hunters. I've been publishing online since the late 90s. Back then. When there were no CMS, blog systems or social networks. At that time it was still exhausting in email newsgroups or self-assembled html pages.

A good blogger has no time for such challenges because he has so many ideas and article topics in his head, the day should have 48 hours.

They don't need a topic assignment like a 6th grade essay. Only someone who is as creative as a gray cement wall needs those things.

a platform like Steemit should have some big contests

A few years ago there was an account that acquired interested parties for good content outside the Steem microcosm. For reviews, product tests or ratings of new platforms, apps or websites.

These were not judged by Steemians in upvote circles, but objectively by outsiders who had nothing to do with Steem. They were also very well rewarded.

New Steemit users also had a chance if the quality of their articles was good enough. It didn't matter how big the wallet was or what level of play aka reputation level you had on Steemit.

I've been publishing online since the late 90s.

You got me interested. Do you have a website or do you publish on any other platforms? And I see that you sometimes post on Steemit. Do you think this platform has potential?

Loading...

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



ย 7 months agoย 

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, a few of them are on my to-do list which is reassuring ๐Ÿ™‚

With the communities, my plan is to include a top navigation item "communities" which would list all of the active communities in alphabetical order (apart from the trash communities that are nothing but spam). I think that this should be fairly straightforward with the way I've structured the code.

I'm probably going to leave out voting or any functionality that requires the user to enter their key. The security implications and potential accusations of wrongdoing are something that I've seen xpilar experience.

I've included the functionality to have promoted content before every block of 5 posts. I've been able to implement the functionality today which currently looks at people who have transferred STEEM or SBD to @null or @the-gorilla account. The priority is based upon who transfers the most and it's accumulative (which is how I think null works). If you take a look at the interface, you'll see it now ๐Ÿ™‚

I've thought a bit about a "user dashboard", potentially with a "message board" style interface. I think that we'd often visit a post, comment on it and then never return to see what other people have said. I think that it would be fairly straightforward to highlight all new comments on a post since you last interacted with it (either via a comment or a voted comment). I think there's certainly potential to do something in this space that Steemit doesn't currently offer.

I've thought about people being able to filter content by language - I haven't investigated how difficult that would be and am not really sure how I could implement it with content that is dual-language. It would probably be possible to add additional filters / search criteria although I'm not entirely sure how I'd implement them just yet ๐Ÿค”

with a "message board"

Yes, I think Steemit is definitely missing something like that. It would be nice to have important and necessary current publications "at hand", but I have no idea how to automate this.

As the discussion showed, you can still add several interesting features to your project. But don't rush, I'm sure you don't have much time for this every day :)

A slightly different question. Is it possible in some more or less easy way, maybe based on your helper curator, to make a search tool for the longest active comments. Sometimes I come across comments that are more valuable and longer than posts, but they don't get any rewards.

ย 7 months agoย 

An interesting thought about comments - I used to do the "Top commenter" but that only really worked because it was within a single community. There are a lot more comments than posts but it might be possible to cycle through them and only keep the longer ones. I'll leave my subconscious to work on that one!

This is why I'm focusing on read-only capabilities at the moment, too.

The security implications and potential accusations of wrongdoing are something that I've seen xpilar experience.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



ย 7 months agoย 

Thanks @o1eh ๐Ÿ‘

Those are some pretty fantastic suggestions (except for the advertising... ๐Ÿ˜‰)!
I would like to add a suggestion/question at this point: Dear @the-gorilla, is it possible to hide "pinned posts"? There are so many communities (like WoX... ๐Ÿซฃ) that I don't like to visit because I have to scroll for 10 minutes to the new (unpinned) posts.

ย 7 months agoย 

At the moment, pinned posts aren't prioritised on my interface. When I implement communities, I think that I've got to treat them differently but the idea I'm planning to use shouldn't take up more room than a single "promoted" post.

Do you remember the Steem Foods community? That was by far the worse for pinned posts - the admin had pinned nearly 100 of their own content and nobody elses. It was beyond ridiculous.

Of course I remember...
At the same time, there are still so many communities and moderators that are ridiculous. I call it "wisdom of age" (or self-protection?) that I stopped thinking about it. Your site will support me in the progression of this process... ;-)

ย 7 months agoย 

I'll do my best ๐Ÿ™‚

Yes, such a problem exists. It would be nice if pinned posts had their own column.

Very nice. I love the attention to burning & promotion, and I see that you've already implemented this - at least to some extent:

Promoted Content - automated by transfers to the @null or @the-gorilla accounts.

For the flame icons, do you verify that they actually have the @null beneficiary set, or do you rely on the #burnsteem25 tag?

I agree on this point:

Bot Users - By default, any user that has delegated to a known voting bot will have their content hidden. I'm aware that not all bot users post utter crap everyday to get their vote but unfortunately for those few, the majority do.

There are some bot users who do post decent content, but they're wildly outnumbered by the other ones. It might be nice to add a whitelist, but of course maintaining it would be a chore, so maybe not worth the effort.

Anyway, thank you!

Oh, and I almost forgot, you might want to check the link behind here:

I'm not sure if that's really where you want it to go?

ย 7 months agoย 

Yes, I had a bit of time today and was able to implement some promotion content. I'd like to expand this so that "VIP" users content is also more prominent which is on my to-do list ๐Ÿ™‚

Currently for the flame icons, I'm only looking at the burnsteem25 tag rather than checking the beneficiaries. The beneficiaries are retrieved via a different API so I haven't implemented this yet. Given my focus upon performance and how quick the page currently loads, I could see how much of an impact this would have - if it's all good, then I could certainly include more information on the page.

I currently maintain the blacklisted authors manually (adding numerous every time I access the site and see some spam) - a list of 356 users so far - a whitelist shouldn't be too difficult, although I'd probably need the community to tell me which users. Perhaps the thought that if a bot user wants everybody to see their content, they could sacrifice some of their rewards to promote their content (which supersedes the blacklist).

Thanks for the heads-up about the logo link - it's fixed now ๐Ÿ™‚

I like this.

Perhaps the thought that if a bot user wants everybody to see their content, they could sacrifice some of their rewards to promote their content (which supersedes the blacklist).

ย 7 months agoย 

Thanks - it fits in nicely with some of the ideas in your post which I've just caught up on (and I see is top promotion on my site too ๐Ÿ˜€)

ย 7 months agoย 

Coming back to this...

For the flame icons, do you verify that they actually have the @null beneficiary set, or do you rely on the #burnsteem25 tag?

I've just remembered something I did to help identify posts that support wox-helpfund that only used a single query. I could use that to look up if a post really is burning STEEM and give posts that use the tag but aren't burning a different icon (๐Ÿ’ฉ)... imagine that pulsing like the flame... ๐Ÿค”

ย 7 months agoย 

I am very pleased that you are continuing to work on the project again.

Your new idea with the exclude options is very useful. Do I understand correctly that the three categories are hidden in the standard version? If I click on one of the options, will they be shown again?

Unfortunately, loading the page took an extremely long time for me. However, this is not due to the response from your server, but to the delivery of the images. Some of them are very large and therefore take a long time to load.
You could make the requested images a little smaller for the small preview images.
Example:
This very large image:
https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmeHDhG73CArS2H618LTaDtMMttHv61jDtXAuS2TXBUxvo/FotoGrid_20231203_101210790.jpg

could get as a smaller version with:
https://cdn.steemitimages.com/0x500/https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmeHDhG73CArS2H618LTaDtMMttHv61jDtXAuS2TXBUxvo/FotoGrid_20231203_101210790.jpg

Add the prefix https://cdn.steemitimages.com and the size as widthxheight.
If you want to keep the aspect ratio, you can define only one parameter with 0xheight or widthx0. So you can it adjust to your image-div.
Here you could get more informations about this: https://developers.steem.io/services/#services-imagehoster

ย 7 months agoย 

That's awesome, thank you. I'd read that it was possible to resize images but I wasn't able to get it working with the instructions that I found.

I've just implemented it so that the full width post uses 0x800, the half 0x400 and third 0x300 - do they load quicker for you?

ย 7 months agoย 

Great! Yes, it loads much faster now. :-))

ย 7 months agoย 

Excellent - thanks again for the suggestion ๐Ÿ‘

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



ย 7 months agoย 

Thank you :-)

Hopefully genuine users will thank me for this

THANK YOUโ€ฆ ๐Ÿคช

ย 7 months agoย 

CrazyCreepinGIF.gif

The front page is clear and well-organized with a beautiful design. I was really excited to see how the articles looked like. Click on an article...

... and I'm back at Steemit. #Damned :)

These exclusions are awesome.

krsuccess is the most used shit-spam-fest-bum-hole-crap.

#mademyday :D

I think one of these users are behind the steemit Twitter account. There is nothing with these holy "Engagement-Thing". No answer, no feedback, nothing. I think it's a badly coded bot. :D

Btw. What about social network sharing buttons?

ย 7 months agoย 

... and I'm back at Steemit. #Damned :)

Ha ha - sorry. I think that's worth doing if I go down the route of letting users log in which I'm hesitant to do.

Btw. What about social network sharing buttons?

I've got the functionality hidden but I wasn't sure what the user would be sharing. If I had an interface for the individual posts, this would probably be worthwhile.

krsuccess is the most used shit-spam-fest-bum-hole-crap.

#mademyday :D

I'd forgotten how much you enjoy the odd swear word ๐Ÿ˜… I ran out of words that I wanted to use to describe that tag so it went a bit random!

this would probably be worthwhile.

I can certainly imagine that some would use it.
Even for authors who have other social media accounts to share their own articles there.

how much you enjoy the odd swear word ๐Ÿ˜…

Some things never change. :)

so it went a bit random!

Don't panic. You've got it right to the point. :D

I checked out your PHP based Steemit site and it looks great!

I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered before, but I'm wondering if this is open source code? Do you have a github or something where a person could check out your code? I am sure I could learn a lot from you and your code!

Thanks! :)

ย 7 months agoย 

Thank you - for the time being, I'm not planning to share my code.

I am sure I could learn a lot from you and your code!

You'd probably learn a lot of bad habits ๐Ÿ˜†

I'm not planning to share my code.

You'd probably learn a lot of bad habits ๐Ÿ˜†

That doesn't have to be negative. Better a bad habit than no habit.
Worst case, ChatGPT can fix it.

ย 7 months agoย 

Worst case, ChatGPT can fix it.

I wonder if ChatGPT could do a code review for me and suggest improvements... that's a good idea ๐Ÿค”

OK, you can't ask ChatGPT about political things. The result is even bigger bullshit than a mix of Wikipedia and a press conference with Sleepy Joe Biden.
But it's a paradise for programmers. Even if you're not a Goat of coding, cause you can enter everything in "your language".

For example: Create an auction platform like Ebay. Put a search function in the top right corner. Below a container for tags. Use Comic Sans font and the colours blue, red and green for the layout. Please use php + JavaScript for the code, etc.

You can also copy whole codes with the command: Make it smarter, cleaner, faster.

Or whole codes + an error message and ask where the error is or directly tell ChatGPT to fix it and make code suggestions.

Coding is one of the strengths of ChatGPT. Just give it a try. You will be amazed.

We could also ask @steemchiller. I bet he's at least played around with ChatGPT to find out what the AI can do.

ย 7 months agoย (edited)

I had a bit of a play last night with some code that I'd got working but I felt was quite messy... it did a nice job of tidying it up. So my optimism grew and I asked it to optimise a larger chunk of code for me... which it broke. But it's certainly an interesting idea. I've been thinking about learning NodeJS for a long time and also been thinking about learning about the Steemit codebase again... which was a total disaster last time... but I think it could help me to learn without the chore of finding good content via Google.

UPDATE: ChatGPT's "nice job of tidying it up" also didn't work - it just broke the site less obviously!

ChatGPT's "nice job of tidying it up" also didn't work - it just broke the site less obviously!

I'm currently playing with different AIs. (pictures, videos, music, etc.)
At first the results were lousy. But it's getting better over time. Not only because the AI is getting better. But because you learn how the AI " thinks" and how and which questions you need to ask.

I think that's the "big magic trick".

ย 7 months agoย 

No, GPT cannot be trusted unchecked. I have already noticed this with some code snippets.

Thanks for your reply! I know I also have many bad habits, but I guess we live and learn. Wishing you the best on all your projects!

Thank you for the December gift!

ย 7 months agoย 

You're welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

See I told you... Bullshit Baffles Brains!
You wonderful that we can now steer away from it!
Thank you!

ย 7 months agoย 

If you start using it, please let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

For sure! I'm burning to test it!

Greetings friend @the-gorilla

I'm glad you continued with this project, I like the presentation. I remember that here you could search by 2 or more tags to filter content, can you still do this?

ย 7 months agoย 

Yes, you certainly can. Simply keep selecting that tags that you're interested in and the list of posts that are included will get smaller and smaller ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, excellent

Thank you for your nice and hard work. I have nothing much to say but "Thank you". I have no expertise in such works but I know a great job when I see one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17