SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

Language is a very vital part of human existence. Not just humans but all other living things around us tend to communicate in their own unique language.

feedback-2990424_1280.webp

Pixabay

The birds, the fishes, trees, plants, dolphins and all the others have their own distinct and unique way of communicating. This particular trait of living things make creation even more magnificent.

Concentrating on humans, the languages of the world are tremendous not even including the secrete languages and yet each group understand and communicate fluently amongst themselves. Sometimes it makes one ponder how languages really came about.

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

My country is Nigeria, one of the most popular and populous black nation in the world. In Nigeria, the ethnic groups are basically divided into three; Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba (wazobia) but aside this classification there are over 300 ethnic groups and currently more than 500 languages in my country.

This is just for Nigeria, not counting in all other African Nations. There is often a misconception amongst foreigners that Africans all speak the same language, with this information, hopefully that has been cleared.

Personally, I come from Akwa Ibom and there are over twenty languages spoken in Akwa Ibom with the major spoken languages being; Anaang, Ibibio, Eket and Oron. There are also many minor languages.

flag-1208864_1280.jpg

Pixabay

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

Apart from English language which is a major means of communication in Nigeria, I am also familiar with my native dialect, Anaang, and then Ibibio and French from secondary school knowledge.

I have a sound knowledge of English language because of how relevant it is in the educational system. Right from nursery school even to the higher institution, English language is taught and held in high esteem.

My native dialect is from home, the usual communication between my parents, relatives and also siblings. Returning back to Akwa Ibom also aided in polishing my Anaang very well.

Ibibio is commonly spoken here in Uyo and considerating, it is quite similar to Anaang with some distinct differences, it is almost easy to pick up.

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

It has improved my life and relationship very well as I can converse with my room mates and course mates better. I can also understand their conversations owing to my knowledge of my native dialect.

A good knowledge of English language puts you an edge over others in business and life generally. Your ability to communicate fluently is mostly used to rate your value and also most times you intelligence.

With a good knowledge of English language, you can pass information around the world and make relevant impact world wide. Information is power, communication is the key to access this power.

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

mother-tongue-4723300_1280.jpg

Pixabay

Definitely, I would love to share this knowledge of the languages I know with my children in the future. I would also prefer they learn other native and foreign languages too so they can make more influence and communicate more freely with a wide range of people.

I intend to do this because I understand the value of communication. Through communication information is shared hence probably dangers are avoided also opportunities can be accessed.

Most especially and very important, I want my children to be able to converse soundly in their native language so that they will always know their roots and also flow with their people.

Thank you very much for taking time to read through.

I would love to invite my friends; @blessb, @usoro01 and @bossj23 to partake in this contest.

Sort:  
 6 months ago 

Hello, hope your day is going well.You are from Nigeria, there are over 500 languages. You're familiar with English, Anaang , Ibibio, and French.

Knowing these languages has improved Your life by enhancing communication with roommates and course mates.,you will teach this language to your childrens, really enjoyed reading your blog wish you success 💐🤗❤️.

 6 months ago 

Thank you for engaging friend. I am glad you read through.

 6 months ago 

Nigeria es un país que me resulta interesante por su gran riqueza cultural y linguística, distintas tribus con idiomas distintos que convergen en esta nación. El Inglés es el idioma universal y uno de los más usados en Nigeria para comunicarse.

Éxitos en el concurso.

 6 months ago 

Thank you friend for engaging and also for dropping this comment.

 6 months ago 

Regards,

Foreigners often have a misconception that Africans all speak the same language, with this information, hopefully it is cleared up.

I have a better idea now because I thought so too. Language helps us relate to others.
Good luck to you.

 6 months ago 

I am glad you learnt from this piece. I appreciate you dropping this comment.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Loading...

Hello friend of the language world! 🌐🗣️ Your entry took me on a fascinating linguistic journey! 🌍 More than 500 languages in Nigeria? That's a carnival of languages! 🎉 And here I was thinking my dilemma was choosing between Spanish and English! 😂

I loved how you shared your connection with Anaang, Ibibio, and even the French from high school! 🇫🇷 You're like a budding polyglot! 🌟 Do you see yourself running a language academy in the future? 🎓

And yes, English is the MVP in the business and life world. 🚀 Mastering that language is like having a super powerful magic wand! ✨ Information is power, and you have the secret code! 💬

It's great that you want to pass on your knowledge to your future children! 👶📚 They'll be little language maestros in diapers! Anaang classes for babies, perhaps? 😄 That would be adorable!

Thanks for sharing your amazing linguistic diversity. I wish you success on your polyglot journey and also to your future multilingual kids! 🌈👶

 6 months ago 

Thank you very much @viajarparasanar, I am really delighted you read through and also for this comment.

You have written a beautiful summary of all I have written. It is very obvious that you went through the post.

This is one of the best comment I have read today. All the best friend.

 6 months ago 

Being able to communicate with one another is very very important.
Its actually very important as well to be able to teach our children especially their native language

 6 months ago (edited)

This is true @queenella. Communication is a vital part of human existence and we should teach this to our kids too.

 6 months ago 

Agwo Anaang ade agwo uko. You've written well, as one that is from Anaang I am very proud of my dialect. There is a girl I met here who was always speaking phonetic, I confronted her and asked her why she was ashamed of her mother tongue. She claimed she wasn't scared of it. Anyways you have written well and I wish you success in the contest.

 6 months ago 

My very own brother, thank you for this nice comment. Indeed we should always be proud of our native dialect.

Hello friend

The country is blessed with lots of languages as you stressed almost 500 languages and counting, you emphasised as you have learnt some languages in akwa ibom amidst all. You are also fluent with French and also English language bas we are all taught the language from an early age to college level. I'm glad it has helped you communicate with your roommate and course mates too. I enjoyed your entry and success in the challenge my dear friend

 6 months ago 

Thank you very much for taking time to read through and for supporting this post. Very much appreciated.

Pleasures my dear friend

 6 months ago 

I found your entry very valuable and rich, I like your resolve to teach your children languages as communication aids us in all situations

 6 months ago 

Thank you for reading through. It is very important that we share our knowledge with the little ones. I appreciate this comment.

I think black and white are all human and all are created by Allah Ta'ala. I think some other country has 300 ethnic groups. I was more surprised that there are more than 500 languages ​​spoken in your country. You have very beautifully presented the characteristics of your country's language and ethnic language, which I like very much.

 6 months ago 

Thank you for stopping by. The languages in the world are very diverse and many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48