My Neighborhood Watch #41 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago (edited)

orphans-411949_640.jpgsource

Introduction

Hi steemians, it's your friend @eveetim sending you special Easter greetings.

Those of us who are Nigerians know that "Nigeria has happen to us," it's no more news. Due to the difficult faced by the Nigerians due to inflation, a great number of people are really going through a lot. Some people merely have food to eat and if they do so, they the food may not be worth it.

IMG_20240329_100006_303.jpg

Money bouquet for the celebrant

Happening in my neighborhood

So the happening in my neighbourhood is that one of my privileged neighbours celebrated her birthday on Friday 29th March, but decided that she'd cook and share with the community, especially the less privileged Nigerians who can't simply have or afford a good meal in a day.

One of my church members who is her housekeeper informed me about the event. I decided I'll go and render help as a volunteer. After feeding my children that Friday morning, I went to her house to give a helping hand to the caterer. It was there I got to know that I wasn't the only volunteer, others even made donations to see to the feeding of the people.

IMG_20240329_094213_239.jpg
Parboiled rice

The Nigerian party jollof rice was cooked, packed with meat and drinks, then others had snacks and drinks. Earlier she had gone to the hospital on Thursday to pay hospital bills for women who had not been able to settle their bills at the University of Uyo Teaching Hospital.

It was really a great event that made me see the plight of Nigerians in this difficult time. I mean people struggled to have a pack of food and a sachet water, we were almost stampeded due to struggles by the people. I could see the deep hunger in the faces of the people.

IMG_20240329_094218_018.jpg
Cooked pot of rice

The people thought the food was provided by the government, hence their struggle to get food for themselves and their children.

At the end, 300 packs of food and 500 packs of snacks and other items for the aged were given out. I felt happy and fulfilled like I was the one who provided everything, but no, I was happy because the people had joy on their faces. I remember a woman in one of the locations we went to. She was sadly seated. We called her, gave her a pack of food and beverages. The smile on her face was heart-warming.

IMG_20240329_133425_961.jpg
At one of the places to share the food

I couldn't take pictures of most of the scenes because I left my phone at home because of the fear of it being stolen or missing it in the process of rendering help.

Conclusion

Lend a helping hand if you have the opportunity, don't trash that food, someone maybe going to bed without food. "Nigeria has happened" to everyone in a very sad way.

I'm inviting my friends @realitytrend @unyime and @tripple-e tell us about the happenings in your neighborhood.

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator05. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.


Team 2.jpeg


Curated by : @waterjoe

Loading...
 4 months ago 

Hi dear,you really write well dear,you post is really amazing and insteresting truly, l love you post,your ideas are impressive,I like how you share the celebration that happen around your neighborhood, you really had a great day with your neighborhood, I will like also to come and join you to eat that Rice, enjoy your day dear
Best regards dear, Happy Easter Sunday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52