The Diary Game Wk1Day 1 || 23-05-24 || A Six-Weeks Project - Supporting and Creating an Impact in Public Schools

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago

IMG_20240524_155025.jpg
picture of the students in this class

It was a Thursday morning. People do call it throwback Thursday. It was my first day to visit a public or government school as the case may be. My preparations to visit this school was quite obvious because I've always yearn to be a public speaker, a speaker that impacts and breath in life to those lacking it mentally, socially, academically and otherwise.

1000295215.jpg

I left the house in a hurry with my finely dressed shirt and tie with a peach trouser. I boarded a vehicle as early as 6:30Am as my distance to the school is way too long.1000295211.jpg

Since I was in a hurry, I barely had enough time to eat my breakfast. I had to make some purchases on the street side. On alighting from the vehicle, I took to purchasing this street food which includes , bean cake and bread with Fanta drink. This was more like a snack meal as it wasn't a satisfying breakfast. It was just used to pass time and hold the stomach as well.

1000295214.jpg1000295212.jpg

1000295213.jpg

I boarded a bus down to different bus stop before getting to the final bus stop where the school is a stone throw. It was really long journey as I was able to create a content on steemit and then published it before my arrival to the junction. Above the junction lies a flyover created to control traffic jam and also build infrastructure in roads so to speak.

PXL_20240523_075956734.jpg

Transport to the junction100 naira0.24 steem
Street breakfast300 naira0.7 steem
Transport fare to the last bus stop500 naira1.2 steem

On getting to the junction, I was charged though I felt the journey was too long for the small fare charged. As a novice there, I asked around to be sure of movements and to ascertain this, I saw a lot of children of on check navy blue shirt and trouser for boys. The school is by the road and it's a large school but not as large as some public schools I've seen.

This is a picture of the school name on a plank board that looks old so to speakPXL_20240523_080925386.jpg

On entering the school compound, I saw lot of students and teachers as well. The number of teachers trooping in to sign time book was scary. I saw my fellow colleagues who was always there for the same purpose. We waited in a hall for the principal which happens to be very busy with catering for WAEC supervision and the likes. So we were opportune to meet the vice principal of the school who addressed us in a mild and friendly way.

PXL_20240523_080931420.jpg

She allocated us to classes which we were to create this impact in students who lack people to tell some some hard truths about life. I left for my allocated class in no time and it happened to be the senior class 2. The noise from a distance already scared me of the type of students there. I was to address them for the first time of which I did amicably. I tried minimizing the noise first to get an attention.

There are corpers in the school no doubt. They are always here to create and impact, to serve their country and to give service to humanity. I started by telling the whole class that it's a rare privilege for them to have me in their midst of which they should be very grateful. I also spelt out the importance of why they are in this class, an examination class at that. The incoordination was too alarming and no matter how hard you try, you won't be able to change that said; a fellow colleague.

I told her to give me a space of 6 weeks as stated already. She'll be surprised at what I'm able to accomplish or do. You may not be able to change the school but you can change individuals that can change the school for the better. I told her I'll give it a try at my own risk and discomfort. I created a calm atmosphere and did introduction proper not until their mathematics teacher interrupted for a class.

I opted out and was around the corner, observing the students while class was ongoing. The few time spent observing, I discovered 10 types of students in a public school during classes

The less concerned onesThe noise makers and trouble shooters
The sleepy headsThe sick ones
The unstable ones. They move like radicalsThe serious ones
The calm and confused onesThe lost and found sheep
Those who answer in affirmation so the class can end fastThe incomplete note gangs

1000295208.jpg

Incomplete notes is one of the major in public schools and sometimes, this springs from the lack of interest in students, not being carried along and confused. They just feel they don't have to copy what they don't understand.

1000295209.jpg

I created my first impact though silently. While the teacher was less concerned as to whether the students were following or not, I was behind the scenes motivating and encouraging the students to write their notes. Some of them would just be there in class, doing other things outside what is being taught. I spoke sense to them after the class.

1000295206.jpg

There's this boy I noticed who made a lasting impression on me. He is always deserted and alone. So I approached him and was concerned about his wellbeing. He seemed comfortable relaying things to me and then opened up what his challenge was. I asked why he wasn't part of the class. He said he was emotional downcast and ill at the same time.

He related how he wanted writing his WAEC examination since 2015 but lack of funds held him back. He reside at cross river state then with his parents but because of his love for education, he had to leave them to cater for himself as they didn't support his going to school. He believes so much that when there's a will, there's a way. He came to Akwa Ibom State to live as an errand boy with someone who treated him with contempt.

The only thing he was grateful about is that they allow him go to school and has agreed to sponsor him a little. The woman he stays with had deliberately refused to give him money to buy drugs and he's also suffering from ulcer. He only comes to school as it's better than receiving tormenting words all day.

1000295207.jpgPicture of the boy

There were lot of things he related to me that compelled me to helping him at least even if it's for his health. His story made me have a different view of students in public school. Most of them aren't with their parents, no good home training which makes them loose and no good advice from guidance. They live their lives the way they feel it's proper.

1000295203.jpg1000295202.jpg
1000295204.jpg1000295205.jpg

My aim that day was to find out the problems or challenges of these students so I'll know how to tackle and where to tackle. After spending quality time with these students, I left for home with my colleagues who took pictures with me before heading out of the school. We signed out early enough to attend lectures on Campus.

IMG_20240523_150402.jpgStreet food I bought

After the lecture, I left home and also bought some street food to hold my stomach before reaching the house. On getting back home, I was revived by the food available and also took to reflecting on certain things.

So the next thing is to do research and experiment. That was how my day ended but I also mentored some newbies on the platform. I helped @ubikool create his achievement 1 post.Screenshot_2024-05-24-18-05-10-199_com.whatsapp.w4b-edit.jpgAchievement 1 post

Aim: To raise a little fund from steemit before the six weeks elapses and use in supporting these students academically in terms of;

  • books
  • feeding if necessary
  • amends of properties etc....

Service to Humanity with Steem

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

You did a great job, it's not easy addressing these government students, even the private schools we teach you need so much energy to be able to make them stay calm.

Meanwhile, I really must salute your courage, you have passion to be a public speaker, it's obvious that you're beginning to function in that capacity.

Here's wishing you all the best.

 2 months ago 

It's not been easy especially in this government school where children come from different backgrounds and different character possessed. You guys really deserve a lot as teachers. Let me see what impact I can create in this school before leaving

 2 months ago 

I understand, here's sending you best wishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67