Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 40: My Worst Highschool Experience.

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago
My worst highschool experience

Hello talented writers, warmly greetings to you all... I will be sharing about my experience in highschool both the good ones and the specific one we're asked to write "the worst".

IMG_20231103_113335_172.jpg

Although in my country Nigeria, there's nothing like highschool, it is called secondary school.
The name of my secondary school was Cornelia Connelly college, In Afaha uko, Ikpa road, uyo Akwa Ibom state.

After writing my primary six mock exams, then was basic six, because I attended a nursery school. My mum's friend came to tell my mum about the school and honestly I didn't know the school before, apparently she was the one who convinced my mum to get me admitted there because her kids were also going to attend same school.

The first day I set my foot in the school compound, I was already in love with the school environment, the buildings and the scenery.
The school was wide and was like a different community because it was a Catholic school, a bording school and also some students who live closeby could also attend as day students.

There were beautiful structured buildings like the dormitories, the refectory, the white hall for candidates to write exams, library, the class room and the chapel!

My secondary school stand out has the best then, both in competition, cultural dance and the rest .
Like in Akwaibom state, the two wife's of our former governors where students there, Mrs oluma EkaEtte Akpabio and Mrs Martha Emmanuel and if you go to my school up till now her sculpture is still standing as a figure to encourage other girl child to work harder!

IMG_20231103_113149_364.jpg

Ha! Did I forget to tell you that it was a female only school? Like a girls school and filled with beautiful ladies. Hmm so those were the things and lots that made it stand out.!

My worst highschool experience

My worst experience was actually much! Yea because being a government school, the first thing that happened was I had to barb my hair and each time students make noise, and the class prefect had not given out the names of those students that made noise to the compound master, everyone was beaten. Whether you did made noise or not you will be punished!

The teachers there, especially youth corp members were so tactical. You failed their assignment you were either beaten at the back or at the feet and it was terrible.

Also my worst experience was when I was asked to joined others who made noise to crawl with my knee around my class block!
You can imagine that! But it is the truth! I can remember when I went to school late, and were asked to clear the grass, like with portion.
There was disciplinary measures but it was just to much and you're not given any chance to defend yourself or tell your reasons.

Now the worst of it all, was when I was in SSS3, the senior class and few days to write my waec exams, the compound master walked up to me and told me to kneel down in front of my juniors and use a scissors on my hair. It was so bad! I was literally crying and I hated that man!

Like I cannot begin to write out the worst experience I had but that not withstanding I also had good time, like the FEYREP that the former governors wife founded came to work hand in hand to make sure free pads were given to females students all over the state and our school was not excluded! Not only that, we were always praised when ever we go out for a football competition with others schools and lot more.

Was the any lesson learnt,kindly share

I learnt a lot during my six years of schooling in that school. I learnt hard-work, met some students who had to repeat a particular class but I didn't!
My counselor, Mrs Etido who before I graduated she was promoted as the vice principal, then as the counselor she took out time to teach us how to carry ourselves as a girl child. Her teachings were exceptional as she taught as a mother and as an adviser

To us who didn't have a mother and daughter relationship she filled in the gap, we were able to open up to her about the things we were worried about.

I practically, learnt my first sex education there. My mum didn't tell me anything.
Manners and all and the ones I had to experience when I was out form the school, these teachings kept me going.

Up till now, I can not forget my secondary school days. You know I used to think I would not miss my friends and the school it self, and the stress. but there's a time I used to seat back and remember the good memories and also the bad ones and I smile. I see my self laughing over my thoughts, because it was the best part of my teenage life as it mould me to my university life, so as I gained admission into the university , I promised myself that I will make the best time in there.

Thank you for reading my post, I invite @stef1, @goodybest and @adachukwu to participate in this contest.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...
 4 months ago 

Hello
We experience many things in our high school day both negative and positive, but there are worst thing that usually happen , telling me to cut glasses was the worst experience I had in my high school days, on Fridays we will spent to hole day cutting glasses that we still grow in a week time. But that thought me lesson shaa.
You really write well dear. Best regards.
Wish you luck in this contest.
Have a great day.

 4 months ago 

My dear, thank you
It was nit an easy thing o
Schooling in a government school, but am happy we made it out of it with flying colors.

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


Newcomer Team Curation Guidelines For March 2024
Curated by @fombae

Note:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39