SECS 8 Week 6: How do I want to grow old?

Screenshot_20230403-214120.png

Nobody really wants to grow old. We all want the experience and wisdom that comes from living many years but we don't need the severe limitations that come with old age, nor do we want to die yes this is because our creator has made everything beautiful for us and he has put eternity in our hearts! You know what? If I had my ways or the choice then I will likely combine the wisdom of age with the vitality of youth, I know many of us will share this same sentiment but no old age is inescapable that is why it is good to plan for it while we are still young.

HOW DO I WANT TO AGE?

I called that period the Golden Years! I pray I shouldn't be plagued by serious illnesses, fears, or regrets. I want it to be a period of gracious tranquility for me, I want to grow very old and probably died at a good old age, yes old and satisfied. I don't want it to be a disaster like many believed, I don't want to be a burden to my children and grandchildren or depend financially on them. I want to achieve something great in life before then and get respect and honor.


30pMuWvaXHHtYyBk7k.gif
giphy

Far from spending a good deal of my leisure time visiting the hospital or going to the funerals of old friends or restlessly looking for what to do with idle time, I will be productive every day! I don't want to spend my old age in misery I want it to be an enjoyable one.

WHAT I'M DOING TO REACH THE OLD AGE I LONG FOR:

Good health through Exercise

To enjoy old age good health is so important and I'm planning to achieve good health through exercise. I will be getting sufficient exercise and I'm doing that now so that I won't find it hard then. Exercise will prevent sicknesses like heart attack, high blood pressure, being overweight, etc physical exercise makes the difference between enjoying life at 70 and being burdened by pains, aches, and boredom at that same age.


U8RXSRKv8uMPS.gif
giphy

No matter our age we can improve the quality of our health by exercising. There are many types of exercises we can enjoy such as swimming, walking, Dancing and many more!

Proper Nutrition:

I Have given thought to nutrition both quality and quantity. I'll continue to try as possible as I can to eat healthily, I'm doing that now and I will continue; this will help me to maintain a healthy weight till old age. I will cut more carbohydrates and take more vitamins, whole wheat, yogurt, and minerals I will try and avoid eating hot or ice-cold foods room temperature food will be okay.

Rest and Sleep:

To enjoy good health in old age I will get enough sleep and rest I will try not to be tense all day, and I won't take strong tea or coffee because this can affect my sleep. I won't chafe over the problems of the day, but I will be counting my blessings and I will try to be less sensitive as this help me to enjoy better sleep and good health.


hGTtqRheOj7KU.gif
giphy

Among the positive things I will be doing to induce sleep includes taking a class of wine or taking a hot bath before retiring for the day, drinking hot tea or warm milk can help too. Then good massage, I won't joke with this I will be going to the spa from time to time to have one, oh less I forget, brisk walking in the evening can help too, so I will be doing all this to enjoy my night and day also.

Financial Stability:

I'm planning not to be dependent on My Children to provide life necessities for me, things like shelter, food, clothing, and entertainment. No, instead I've begun saving for my old age, so I won't be a burden on this aspect, instead, I will be leaving properties and money for my children to inherit.

My Mental And Emotional Well-being:

I'm an extrovert, so I won't have many problems pertaining to this aspect. Moreover, I'm exercising self-control and discipline now and I've learned wisdom so that I will find it comparatively easy to make the required adjustment in old age. Then I will not need to learn courage, humility, and wisdom because I'm doing so now, I've learned to find joy in little things now And this will be a great help to me then. I take pleasure in a refreshing rain and a sunny ☀️ day. Haha.

I'M I AFRAID OF GROWING OLD?


RMk32NEpSgcIoljwwz.gif
giphy

NOPE! I'm not afraid of growing old because I believe each stage of life has its blessing I believe to age is an opportunity!

Old age has beauty of its own! it is only found in the way of righteousness, it will allow me to learn to experience a great deal and to reach a vantage point because of what I've suffered and enjoyed. Youth is impatient, impetuous, romantic, over-eager illusions and impractical but with age, I will learn to be more realistic more patient, see things as they are, be practical, and have more empathy.

AN OLDER ADULT WHO EXAMPLE I WILL FOLLOW

Screenshot_20230403-221446.png

Is none other than my beloved parents, my dad is in his early 70s but he's happy! They're not a burden for us, they're always grateful for the little you provide for them because he's still productive and has money of his own. They have a good sense of humor and are always ready to laugh and this is good for their body, mind, and heart, laughing is the best exercise so far.

They give a lot and this makes them happy, indeed there's more happiness in giving than there's in receiving! They always help the needy, strangers, family, and friends. I see them avoiding pampering themselves too much by not lazily yielding to all of their inclinations, or overdoing to exhaust themselves, they avoid extremes. They find joy in comforting other people by telling them the good news of the kingdom of God that is near, they keep their relationship with God intact and always pray 🙏 for others. So I want to be positive, encouraging, and happy like them when I grow old.

IMG_20230402_114813_578.jpg

Old age is a blessing and it can be enjoyable, it can be a time of contentment, peace of mind, and happiness! It should bring with it wisdom and learning to adjust to certain matters like finance, physical/mental health and emotional attitudes will also help. Most importantly faith in almighty God and his word is crucial, and applying his wise counsel will help us to enjoy old age. To that end, I would like to invite friends @gracyakan @vickydear and @eliany to take part in this contest. Thank you!

Sort:  
 last year 

It is good to age the body with dignity but keep the spirit eternally young.
It is natural to fear old age, not for its own sake, but because of the diseases or health complications it may bring.
We do not want to end up being a burden to others, but useful people until the end.
Logically, a great part of our success in aging with dignity depends on the care we take with our body in its nutrition, exercise and also with our mind, keeping us active at all times.
It is time not to let ourselves be overwhelmed by problems that are not within our reach to solve.

Insufficient money will always be a problem, but our attitude towards life, wisdom will be able to save many obstacles.

Our best example of longevity is our ancestors (parents and grandparents) who grew up with many economic limitations and without the comforts offered by today's technology.

You are blessed to still have your father in good health and with a clear mind.

Best wishes to you and your entire family.

অসাধারন ও খুবই অনুপ্রেরণামূলক পোস্ট। আমার পোস্টটি খুবই ভালো লাগার কারন-
১. আপনি বার্ধক্যকে খুবই স্বাভাবিক ভাবে ও সুন্দরভাবে নিয়েছেন। বৃদ্ধকালে সন্তানদের কাছে সম্মানিত ভাবে থাকতে চান তাদের জীবনে বোঝা বা ভারী হতে চাননি যা আপনার শক্তিশালি ব্যাক্তিত্বও প্রকাশ করে।
২. বার্ধ্যকে গ্রহনকরার ও বৃদ্ধকালে জীবন সুন্দর রাখার আপনার উদ্যোগ ও পরিকল্পনা যেমন ব্যায়াম,সুষম খাবার,আর্থিক ভাবে স্বাবলম্বী হবার প্রচেষ্টা ও মানসিক শান্তি ও দৃঢ়তা বজায় রাখা খুবই যুগোপযোগী ও বুদ্ধীমত্তার কাজ।
৩.আপনি বার্ধক্যকে ভয় পাননি এবং আপনার জীবনের পর্যায়গুলো সহজভাবে গ্রহনকরার সৎসাহস আছে।
৪. আপনার পিতামাতার প্রতি আপনার শ্রদ্ধা ও তাদের জীবন সুন্দর করে অবলোকন করে তা থেকে শিক্ষা গ্রহনকরার মানসিকতা ও সুন্দর দৃষ্টিভঙ্গী আমার খুবই ভালো লেগেছে!
আপনাকে অনেক অনেক শুভকামনা।ধন্যবাদ

Gosh! I admire good readers like you, who reads with understanding. I appreciate your meaningful contribution and commendations, thank you!

 last year 

Greetings
You have explained very well that proper nutrition and proper schedule for living a healthy life is very important.
Good luck for the contest ☺️
You can also visit my post about this contest. Thank you 😊

Loading...

Greetings
I really liked Golden Years, arriving without serious illnesses and above all without fears or remorse.
That exemplifies that he has led a life of Obedience to the Lord, he will see it in his healthy and calm old age.
I congratulate your exercise regimen, savings plan and all your activities for your own benefit.
Nice to read your post.
Blessings!!!

Aww I appreciate your wonderful commendations! And I'm glad that you liked my post. Thank you!

Its good hay you're not afraid to grow old. What you're doing now to prepare for that time is good. May you have a strong and healthy old age!

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags. Curated by: @waterjoe

I appreciate your support @waterjoe!

May you have a strong and healthy old age,remain blessed and good luck in the contest.

I appreciate your good wishes thank you!

You are welcome thanks

It's important to have a positive attitude towards aging, as it can help us enjoy life more and be happier. I'm glad to know that you have a clear vision of how you want to age and that you want to achieve something great in life before then. You have written very well. I wish you good luck in the contest! Plus, I've also participated. 😊

I appreciate your kind words, thanks for visiting me!

 last year 

Al llegar a la edad de adulto mayor, debemos estar preparados para enfrentar todo lo que conlleva está etapa de nuestra vida, por eso desde ya debemos tomar acciones al respecto como comenzar a cuidar nuestra salud, realizar ejercicios a diario para que cuando lleguemos a esa etapa nuestro cuerpo este preparado para todo esto, también pensar en tener ahorrado algo de dinero para no depender de nuestros hijos y ser unas personas sanas

You get it right 👍, thank you for visiting me, I appreciate your contribution!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63