Time doesn’t heal all wounds...

in Ukraine on Steem28 days ago (edited)



I know it is often said that time heals all wounds, but the truth is that it is not always true. There are times when wounds are so deep that no matter how long it takes, they just never heal. Or is it the case that we don’t want it to heal?

Our holiday home is on the Garden Route of South Africa, close to the town of Plettenberg Bay, which is a well-known holiday destination for many South Africans. It holds a specific beauty, with beautiful mountains on one side and the ocean with its long beaches on the other. It is an area covered in native Fynbos (a type of vegetation) and home to various wildlife sanctuaries, private game reserves, points for bird viewing, and exquisite walking trails. It also has a rich marine life, from whales giving birth to the young, dolphins playing in the waves, and seagulls stealing the bait of the fishermen.

Although we know Plettenberg Bay like the palms of our hands, there is always something new to see, and a drive around town is always on the agenda.

December 11, 2015

It was on one of these drives that I took the following photo.



Coming from Johannesburg, where all the homes are safely tucked in behind high walls and electric fencing, I just fell in love with this house tucked away in nature. No walls, no electric fence, no automated gate, and no sign of “Trespassers will be prosecuted.” It stole my heart, not for the home but for the picture of bricks and nature in harmony.

August 15, 2017

Massive fires were burning in June for weeks. These fires stretched all along the Garden Route, from the seaside town of Knysna past Plettenberg Bay, all the way to Keurboomstrand, where our holiday home is. We were on an overseas holiday, but friends kept us informed of what was happening. We were ready to jump on the first plane back to South Africa.

With our return, we dropped our suitcases, packed new ones, and left. Eager to see the damages and to start repair work.

We were not prepared for what we saw. Our first stop was in Knysna, where houses and businesses were burned to the ground.
After Knysna, we took a drive through Plettenberg Bay, and that is when I took the following photo.



My favorite home in Plett was no more. It was destroyed by nature.
As for our own home, it still stood proud!

December 30, 2017

It was with a lot of anticipation that I took the drive a couple of months later. In my mind, I had a picture of the house being restored and resting once again in the tranquility of its beautiful surroundings, with dogs playing on the green grass. Deep was my disappointment, as it was not the case.



There was no sign of any restoration to the house. All that I found was nature slowly but surely restoring itself.

24 November 2019

Two years later, there was still no sign of rebuilding the house. Nature was now the king of the castle. My perfect postcard picture was now also spoiled by the new barns built by the farmer next door.



What also got me was that on my phone it no longer shows as “Plettenberg Bay” but as “Brakkloof.”
Brak – brackish water
Kloof - a gap or a mountain pass

Even the name lost its beauty.

During this holiday, I met a lady whose friends were the owners of the house. I enquired about what was happening. Why are they not restoring the house? She answered that, in their eyes, they lost beauty forever. Restoring the house is not going to bring back what they had.

I vow never to go back again.

That brings me back to time, which doesn’t heal all wounds… Some wounds are so deep that they become part of us, and it is not easy to let go.

Maybe it is time for me to go back.

image.png

The photos are my own and the main image was created with Canva
ACCOUNT SUMMARY:02 May 2024
Club statusClub100
Transfer to vesting:7,314.000 STEEM
Normal transfer:56 STEEM (Competitions and charity)
Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  

It was a beautiful, quiet place. And - please don't get me wrong: it is still a beautiful, quiet place!

Go there! Enjoy your memories and nature, which is reclaiming what man had wrested from it for a while. The magic of this place is not lost! It is changing (and that is the course of time!)

You are right! After writing the post, my feet are itching to return.
I was like a nuaghty child last night and had a peek on Google Earth to see if there were any changes, but the last image was taken in September 2019. I was glad as it would have spoiled the moment for me.

I can ask my sister-in-law to go and have a look, as she is now staying at our holiday home, but it will not be the same. I want to go myself. (•ิ‿•ิ)

image.png

Saya setuju dengan perkataan anda dimana tidak semua luka dapat disembuhkan oleh waktu, postingan yang sangat luar biasa

Thank you! Not only for the visit to my post but also for your kind words. 🎕

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Its break my heart when I read your post.. the title of your post makes my heart tremble..
You bring the truth for all of us here..

Awh... A big hug from me to you! (づ๑•ᴗ•๑)づꕤ
Hopefully you will forgive me for making your heart tremble.

Time does not heal all wounds ,people just move on in the long run;pain turns into strength.life!

Greetings dear @patjewell.l adore you

Guess what? You are right! 🎕

PS: I adore you also!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 28 days ago 

I'm glad you decided to take part in the photo memories contest again! 😊

I just had to. My fingers were itching. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 27 days ago 

What an amazing treatment! 😄

Such a touching story and yes those pictures brings back memories back. So also sorry to hear about what happens to your house years ago. Quite must have been difficult to swallow in

Awh but we were the lucky ones. Nothing happened to our home. (•ิ‿•ิ)

This house reminds me of the one @wakeupkitty's grandpa built, it is always us from afar that see it as a place where renovations and colours could change everything and bring a new feeling, but the owners and people that have been there going back might awaken memories they choose to forget and might just be a constant reminder or a mistake in the past. Time might not heal the wounds but it will make the pains less felt.

Actuallt, renovations do the trick since with each brick, stone, piece of wood we put someting of us in it, it's old but also new. The house and soil shouldn't be abandoned.

My hrandpa's house found new people I hope it makes them happy. The gardens are still the same. 🙂

I hope so too, I hope it becomes a peaceful home for them. But hope it feels fine seeing other people in the house now

If we were those people yes 🙃

Oh yes! I remember reading her post about the house. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Time might not heal the wounds but it will make the pains less felt.

This is so true! I have seen it over and over again in my life. The pain does get easier, and in most cases, it even disappears. It is the memories that stay forever and ever.

The place looks great, so do those bricks and the window is too. It has plenty of potention even if the entire house isn'r rebuilt. It's sad it's abandoned because of old pain.

For the last two years, we were unable to go down to our place, but I can tell you one thing: after writing this post, I am dying to go back. Who knows? I might just be surprised.

PS: Aparantely, they suffered great losses with the fire. Not even a photo left.

I can feel it itching. Go have a look asap. I hope you find a nice surprise.
Don't forget to share the photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68094.05
ETH 3777.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71