Singer & Songwriter Greg Kihn Dead at 75 | The Greg Kihn Band was Best Known for 'Jeopardy'steemCreated with Sketch.

in American Steem2 months ago (edited)

The lead singer of the Greg Kihn Band passed away Tuesday after a battle with Alzheimer's. Kihn was originally born in Baltimore, Maryland, and then moved to California in the 1970s before eventually forming the band with his name.

Most from that era will remember him from the 'Jeopardy' song above (top 2 hit in America in May of 1983). Sadly, most of the younger generation will probably only know the Weird Al parody 'I Lost on Jeopardy' posted below (which wasn't that bad).

Music wasn't the only thing that Kihn was known for, though. He wrote several books including four non-fiction horror books: Horror Show (1996), Shade of Pale (1998), Big Rock Beat (1998), and Mojo Hand (1999). Not to mention a rock musicians' storybook with Joan Jett and Peter Townshend, among others, titled 'Carved in Rock: Short Stories by Musicians.' He also penned another novel in 2013, a Beatles-themed murder mystery story titled 'Rubber Soul.'

image.png
Screenshot via Martha Quinn/X

Rest in Peace Gregory Stanley Kihn | July 10, 1949 - August 13, 2024

Sort:  

I didn't know this. Very sad. More from Martha Quinn on X. There was a time when 75 would have seemed old to me, but not so much these days.

I had never heard the parody before (or at least I don't remember it), and wasn't aware of his writing.

My mother is 71, so it seems much younger to me these days as well. I added a screen shot from Martha...I hate we don't have the option to embed X posts on here. Also, just found out if you accidently hit enter in the tag section the article WILL post. Needless to say, I had not edited anything yet and it was a mess. My apologies, but it's fixed now if you caught the original. 🙄

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63931.86
ETH 2639.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83