Contest: My first steps in STEEMIT | The Best Decision I Made This Year by @zology69

in Steemit Nursery3 years ago (edited)

E270C8C1-1B15-4A24-A659-EDC05667CCD7.jpeg

I joined steemit in late April this year through an introduction by my friends (@abdulkahargunu and @desiigner) after I heard them having a heated conversation on the direction of the SBD market some day. In the days before, I had observed them taking pictures of literally everything we did and when I asked, I was told it was for a diary game(which I knew nothing about at the time). I asked what it was and they explained. I was marvelled to discover that there was a social media that pays users for simply sharing about their day. Who would believe that? I asked to join and they helped me sign up. here is the link to my introduceyourself post.
WhatsApp Image 2021-04-29 at 8.48.01 PM.jpeg

I made my first post, an achievement task post, achievement one two weeks later because I had been very occupied with exam at the time and couldn’t meet my country rep, @njaywan for guidance. The very day I finished my exam and was about to head home, I went to the hostel of my country rep for some guidance on how to go about things. I have done my second achievement task 2 weeks ago and couldn’t finish the remaining because of assignments I have had and also because I have been really engaged. Markdowns are a nice way to present your post to attract viewers and so I really look forward to doing my achievement task 4 to learn more about them. I know a few markdowns already.

During the semester holidays was when my steemian in me awoke😎. I begun to check out communities, find and participate in contests and writing movie reviews and other stuff that I like doing. For me as a newbie, participating in contests was the easiest and best way to earn me some steem, build my reputation and following as well as have my content exposed to upvotes from steemit titans like steemcuarot01 and others. As much as participating in contests is about the reward, I have made the most out of some contests like building a sci-fi movie collection from the “tell us about your favorite science fiction movie” contest by the zero-to-infinity community. You can find my entry for the contesthere

Joining steemit, I have learnt a lot. I have learnt about how serious an offense plagiarism is both on steemit and in the real world and have learnt how to avoid it by using copyright-free images and citing my images. Quality and original posts have greater voting odds and I have done my best to learn to produce just that. I have also learned about crypto currency as I am a student of the steemit crypto academy. I have learnt how to use cryptocurrency and how to use some technical analysis tools like the Money Flow Index indicator, Bollinger Bands and The Wyckoff Method which we did just this week to help me make informed trade decisions to maximize my profits in the crypto markets. One thing I definitely observe is that my fingers have become familiar with my keyboard keys to say that my typing skills has seen a big improvement. My research and analytic abilities have also greatly been boosted as doing crypto academy assignments require a lot of research and analysis to produce quality original work.

Now here's what I don't understand, I have observed that sometimes when people will lower SP vote on your post that has already earned a good amount, your post reward decreases. How does this work? Is there like a negative upvote that people with lower SP have? I also don't understand how steem titans like steemcurator01 are able to control how much they give each person with their upvotes because different people get different amounts from them. I would also be lying if I said I've not being wondering how those steem giants got that big. I am thinking it is through investment and if so, how long did it take them to get that big.

My country reps,@njaywan, @oppongk and @nattybongo are the nicest people I’ve met so far. They correct me when I make mistakes and I’ve learnt some useful stuff through their tutorials and earned some steem through the contests they organize. They keep the steem ghana community alive. One of the communities I have participated most of my contests in is the bestofbangladesh community. I would like to also thank @eh-shohag and @sm-shagor for the hardwork they’re doing in that community. Those 2 are really doing well building their community and they also one of the nicest people I've met joining steemit even though the community curation account doesn’t have that much steem power. The dedication and efforts they put into growing the community is just admiring. It is going to come as a shocker to them because even they might not realize how encouraging their work has been to me. The little steem I got from their contests gave me a reason to open steemit every single day. I saw a post where he(@eh-shohag) was applying to become a country rep for bangladesh and I really wish him good luck.

I aspire to be like a lot of people on steemit but I think the users I am most dedicated to follow in their footstep are @belenguerra and @fendit. They both probably won’t know I even mentioned them because of their busy work and that is precisely what I like about them. They take on a lot of work running multiple communities, the writing and reviews being my favorite. I am a writer and that part of me connects with them and so I aspire to be like them in that sense. Also being a student of the steemit crypto academy, I aspire to be like my professor @fendit. She’s doing a great work there. I wish to become a crypto professor like her someday.

In 6 months time, I see myself being the admin of a big meme community here on steemit. I like memes and I believe we can do great steem promo work using them. I made a post with memes I created for promoting steemit yesterday. You can find the post here. According to my powerup plan, I should have 250SP by the weekend. That will be 250SP in you could say my second month. I expect to have not less than 1,500SP in 6 months as I plan to do a 250SP powerup monthly at the least.

Knowing what I know about steemit, I would be an enemy to any friend I know that I haven’t told about steemit. Besides almost all my friends are steemians now and we’re doing our best to bring more people on board. I have joined in several promo steem works, the most recent being the Campus Connect Ghana meetup at University for Development Studies, Ghana. We told them what steemit is, comparison between it and other social media, how it works, how you earn and the rewards you get. This is what I tell people to get them to join steemit. You can read a detailed post I made about it here
9EE211A5-C43E-4A8B-BCF1-8C9740C9B8AB.jpeg

7457F7AF-E9EC-4E50-8EAB-DFA691469692.jpeg

Reading about this contest surprised me a lot as I planned myself to make a post in this community with almost the same theme. I thank @steemitnursery for this great contest.

I invite my friends @fathiafatawu, @desiigner and @abdulkahargunu to tell us about their first step in steemit experiences too.

I’m sorry if you feel that this post was too long to read. My steem journey has entailed a lot in the shortest possible time. Thank you for reading😁

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello @zology69, thank you very much for participating in this beautiful contest, we are very happy that you have met incredible people here. I am happy that you are realizing your achievements as newcomer.

I am also sure that if you put effort and dedication you will increase your Steem Power much more than you expect in these next 6 months.

Thank you very much for participating.

By the way, I want to remind everyone who is watching this, that it is necessary to include the link of achievement 1 at the end of each of your posts within Steem Nursery. Thank you very much to all.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for the nice words. I will definitely raise my steem power expectation mark and I will do well to reach that mark. I also have in my post the link to my achievement 1 post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47