The wounded captain: Episode 1 (Taboo on playmate)

in RECREATIVE STEEM2 years ago (edited)

knight-1776935_1280.png
Source

Taboo on playmates

A rich young widower who has only one son sometimes takes consolation in the fact that he could always re-marry. This is not always so with a rich man who suddenly finds that he is in the twilight of his life. Starting all over in terms of marriage is always difficult. That was the situation Akpatta found himself after his second wife's death leaving him to care for their only son, Abia.

It was no wonder then that Akpatta made up his mind to preserve Abia and protect his life against all odds. As an only son of a rich man. Abia lacked nothing. He had the best shirts, trousers and shoes
that boutiques could afford. His room was set like
rooms that one finds in catalogues- a radio, a TV set, apiano, a bed with water mattress and all that could
make life comfortable.

His father knew too well the biblical saying 'evil communications corrupt good manners' so he decided to warn Abia against undue association and over-familiarity with his peer group who lived around them. So was it that one day Akpatta sent for his son to warn him against undue association with his neigbhours' children.

My son, you know I love you and I want you to be happy always. It is unfortunate that your mother died when you were six months old. I am your father and will act in the capacity of a mother to you. What ever you want, ask me and I will grant your request. My servants shall do all the domestic work in this house. I will give you the much needed protection. But I don't want you to go outside this compound and play with anybody. People in this village do not like us since I am the only important figure here. "Abia looked steadily at his father and asked: "Father, who are to be my playmates now that you have forbidden me from going out to play?"

Akpatta looked at his son in bewilderment. To him the question was rather irrelevant for he expected him to know. He replied: "the cats and the dogs in this house are enough company for you. If you feel that you need more company, then get down to your school work and do some reading."

The sniffs that came from Abia showed that he had begun to cry. Akpatta barked like a combatant soldier, "Don't be a sissy in my house. Now let me warn you, the day you disobey me and leave this compound to play with any one outside, something terrible will happen to you to prove to you that I am your father who gave you light."

Conclusion

Thank you for reading the short story. I hope you enjoyed reading through it. Episode 2 of this story will be published next week. Please don't miss it.
Bye for now. I love you ...

Best wishes
By @udyliciouz

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Hi, @udyliciouz,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @graceleon.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Loading...

Your post has been supported by @simonnwigwe from Team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 30%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.

Voting date: 02/01/2023

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59