What if? I HAD BEEN AN ARTIST? I wonder...

in RECREATIVE STEEMlast year (edited)



If I was an artist made with Canva

I’ve often told my Steemian friends that when it comes to art I was standing last in line when it was handed out.

As a child being an artist had one meaning for me, painting or drawing. As I grow up I discovered that art stretches so much further. Lately, I read that art is how you arrange elements that engage your emotions.

My mom was right. The way I set the table, decorate a birthday cake, or, pack my books is a form of art. Some days I also do it better than other days. It must be when the emotions are not running so high that my “art” is at its best.

Is that then also why Paul Cezanne painted a series of paintings of Mont Sainte-Victoire? To be in line with his emotions, his mood swings, or as it is written his curiosity and frustrations.



Collage of various of the paintings from www.wikiart.org

Have I ever dreamed about becoming an artist?


Nope.. never!

Well, that is as far as I can remember. Being an artist was not in my dreams and it never crossed my mind not as a child and not now that I am older.

Maybe it was because I never trust myself to be an artist.

Maybe I never believed in my ability to be creative.

Maybe it was because I felt intimidated by the work of other artists.

Or maybe I lacked the drive for personal satisfaction through art.

I appreciate, I am attracted to, and I am fascinated by art.


I enjoy visits to art exhibitions, wandering in art markets, and visiting street vendors selling art. Not to mention looking at outside sculptures in parks. I might not be an artist by hand but I am definitely an artist by heart.

I’ve also read up on the work of a few artists. One, in particular, is William Kentridge from my own country.

What I love about him is the versatility of his works from sculpture, painting, and drawings, to filming. He is just such an artist icon.



Image Source

I admire those who can put anything, even a piece of charcoal, in their hands and make a success of it.

Have I ever practiced the arts?


I applaud artists who can take up a chair in front of a piano and transform us with their music. One specific artist who can do exactly that is Rocco de Villiers.

I invite you to not only listen but also watch what this man is capable of doing with those ebony and ivory keys of a piano.

Unbelievable! Art at its best!

You don’t need to know a specific language to understand what he is saying. The name of the piece, “Liewe Hemel, Liewe Aarde” translated as “Dear Heaven, Dear Earth.”

When my daughter was tiny I wanted so badly for us to play the piano. In the end, I bought one and we started our lessons. When I got to the 2nd week of practicing “Twinkle twinkle little star” I gave up. Playing the piano was not for me.
I was way too impatient to master it.

Have I ever deeply and at length thought about becoming an artist?


Not really. But if I had to consider it way back in my life there are two forms of art that I would have given a second thought.

Firstly, being a graffiti or street artist.

Graffiti as it is the “art with words” and I love the use of words.
I will often sit with a piece of paper in my hand writing words and slogans.

Street art as it speaks to the soul. Street art is so vibrant, so electric and so inviting.

In fact, I told my husband the other night that I would have loved to have a can of spray paint in my hands when I was younger.
If only I was 30 years younger!

If I was any of these two I most properly would not have been married. I would have traveled the world living out of a backpack “coloring” buildings, bridges, bus terminals, and pavements. I would not have painted the towns red but with vibrant colors.

Secondly, being a photographer.

I love taking photos. The capturing of moments, details, expressions, nature, and people. It is through photography that we pick up the small things in life that make a big difference in our lives. Documentation is what I will call photography.

If I was a photographer I doubt very much that I would have had my own studio. I would also have traveled with the difference that I would have published a coffee table range of books or even a travel magazine.

Some time ago I started to take photos of “windpompe” (windpumps or windmills). That is what I would like to do right now. Traveling the country adding more photos to my collection. I will then print a book together with the stories that go with each one of them. The joys and the hardships of each of them and their owners.

image.png

Art, the way in which we can capture our moods and tell our stories.

I invite the following Steemians to participate; @apnigrich @petface @emmawalt

Link to contest

CC: @marvinvelasquez

Iss.jpg

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
 last year 

!upvote 100

Hello my dear @patjewell
since I started listening and watching Rocco in your video, in that stunning natural setting with his colors and his body expression made music,
I started to vibrate together with him.
I think you are a great artist of lyrics, of knowing how to build sentences that make sense to your readers.
Besides, your photographs are very neat.
It is true what you say, art is closely linked to our emotions.
If you are one of those who decorate cakes creatively and neatly, if you are one of those who have a harmonious library, then you are definitely a great artist.
thank you for being part of our humble community.

This post has already been voted.

 last year 

Awh such kind words and that on an empty tummy!
Thank you! 🎕
I appreciate everyone of them.

Rocco, he is just one of a kind. I love him too bits!
I can also not stop my body from swaying when I watch him or listen to his music. Never a boring moment with him.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! Your Comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support good comments anywhere..
Curated by : @stef1

 last year 

THANK YOU @stef1
;-)

I enjoy visits to art exhibitions, wandering in art markets, and visiting street vendors selling art. Not to mention looking at outside sculptures in parks. I might not be an artist by hand but I am definitely an artist by heart.

Probably, you said these words about changing

I've never been able to draw either. All my school drawings are a real torment. I understand how to draw it with my head, but my hands don't want to do it.

Maybe I should also write an article about creativity? More precisely, about the work of my youngest daughter?

 last year 

Probably, you said these words about changing

Haha! Probably...

Please!!! It will be awesome.
Write that post!

TEAM 1

Congratulations! Your Comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support good comments anywhere..
Curated by : @stef1

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 last year 

Thank you!

You're right we often feel intimidated by the work of other artists, because often we only see the results that seem unattainable, but if we get involved in the process we can all make art.

Then I think we need to find our own art form, the one we are passionate about.

It's a wonderful idea of ​​yours to create a book with photos and the stories associated with them!

 last year 

In the end... believe in yourself and don't compare yourself to others.
And that goes for Steemit as well.

We are all different and unique and somewhere out there is somebody that will like our posts or... our art. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you for the engagement and the great comment.

PS: Let's keep on writing!

I love how this piece explores the concept of art beyond traditional painting and drawing. 😍
You beautifully express how art can be found in everyday activities, from setting a table to decorating a cake. 😊
It's also interesting to see your reflections on why they never pursued an art career, despite their appreciation for it. 🧐
I appreciate how you share their admiration for different types of artists, from William Kentridge to Rocco de Villiers. 👍
Lastly, I think it's inspiring how you end with their dreams of becoming a street artist or photographer, showcasing how art can truly take on different forms and can be accessible to anyone.👌🙏
 last year 

It is my turn to say... well done!
This is a brilliant comment on a post and I do hope that one of the curators sees it.
All that is left for me to say is... thank you for your kind words. It inspires we to do so much more when I get comments like this. THANK YOU! ☕
PS: I hope we are going to see your entries in the next engagement challenge that starts on Monday.

 last year 

Being a graffiti artist is also an art form, the work they do in the selection of colors and make strokes with a spray paint can is not something easy.
I am also fond of photography, I am more of capturing moments rather than poses, it seems to me that the artistic vein of photography lies in knowing how to capture those moments.
It is a great honor to have your participation. Welcome!

DescriptionInformation ✅or ❌
Plagiarism Free#steemexclusive
Bot FreeClub#club100

Te invitamos a seguir las redes sociales para Steem y Steemit:

@steemesp@steemeng@steem.ind

Moderador en  Recreative Steem

 Instagram YouTube Twitter

 last year 

Thank you! At last you got an entry from me (•ิ‿•ิ)

Hi, @patjewell,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @graceleon.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @franyeligonzalez at 40%.

His publication has been awarded for being one of the winners of the contest of the user @marvinvelasquez.

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality contests for a chance to earn valuable upvotes from our team of curators and why not be selected for an additional upvote in the weekly list of Top Contests.

 last year (edited)
 last year 

Hello @patjewell, Art is around us everywhere. For example, blogging is considered art.

When I open my computer and start writing an article on my blog, inspiration comes to me like any other artist. He writes with his brush, sings with his voice, or plays his instrument... I play the keyboard and create some articles.

 last year 

You are right... I can join the club!
I am an artist, my keyboard can produce the most amazing tunes.
Thank you for leaving an awesome comment! ☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56