Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W1: My dreams in childhood by @yuceetoria

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

What were the dreams you had in childhood for the future.

First, I want to appreciate @patjewell for inviting to this contest, it is an amazing one.

As a child, my were told that all dreams are valid and that we could achieve the world if we wanted, the possibilities were endless, and we were so sure and excited that we could achieve them. As you grow up, hit with world's challenges from government and pressure from family, some of those dreams take back chair and never see the light of the day.

I dreamt of traveling the world, seeing the world in its different shades. Take a journal of every experience. I dreamt of teaching the world on a storm and making a powerful impact anywhere I go.

1658320329674.jpg
Image Source

Career-wise, My dream for my childhood was that when I grow up, I will become a teacher like my mother. Those were the words you would hear me say. I loved speaking, and teaching knows new ones around me one or two things, but as I grew up so did these dreams grow up with me and change.
After a while, I decide that it was a lawyer that I wanted to be, then I would never agree to a thing, I would argue until the other person concedes to the argument in my favor. My family members started calling me a lawyer.

Who supported you in that dreams.

Every parent wishes for their children to be successful, becoming what they wish for and taking over the world. A parent's role should be to gently nudge their children towards being a better version of themselves. Often, parents tend to push their child their dreams and insecurities, making the child incapable of deciding for themselves.
My parents were supportive and guided me on what to read and do to fulfill my dreams.

Which one of those dreams have you achieved.

I teach, not in the format that I wanted as a child, teaching in the classrooms. I teach via my writing, with my writing I can educate thousands of people reading my business blog on how they become better in their careers. It may not seem much now, but I am birthing something bigger than what I had envisioned.

Which one did you not achieve, What do you think went wrong?

My decision of being a lawyer was taken out of my hand when I didn't get admission after applying to the university four times. I was frustrated with the system, wondering when I would finally be grateful for admission. Instead of waiting for more years, I applied to study Mass Communication at the Polytechnic. One of the best decisions that I have made.

My dreams of traveling will still materialize for me, maybe not now but in the future.
Anything is possible.

I invite @okere-blessing, @confydence and @emmanu to take part in this contest

#steemkids-s3w1 #steemexclusive #nigeria
#lifestyle #club5050

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...
 2 years ago 

You story is really quite sympathetic and I really feel for it just the fact that you are able to choose and dream of so many things in your life went you were a kids.
Firstly by traveling round the world and also if becoming a teacher just like your mom and later on fulfill the dream of lawyer is really impressive.
Also for the fact that your family really supported you to achieve these dream of your by sending you to.school and you ended up not being a professional in class room but your able to impact people on the business
Even though you love to became a lawyer but didn't success but am sure it never to late to accomplish those dream of your.

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much @tangwe-rene, I pray so. Thank you for visiting my blog.

 2 years ago 

You are highly welcome my good friend

 2 years ago 

This contest is interesting. Thanks i will do my best to write.

 2 years ago 

Yes, it is. I await your entry.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.


Curated By - @samuel20
Curation Team - Lifestyle Curation Team

 2 years ago 

Woow you had alot of dreams when growing up and the dream of becoming a teacher and lawyer are quite nice and interesting dreams because I had also dreamed of such professions when growing up. It's good to know that you admired your mom as a teacher and you where aspiring to grow up and be like her. Well, though you aren't a classroom teacher now, I'm happy to hear that your business blog is pretty good which people can learn alot from it when going through your articles

I am sorry to hear about your dreams of becoming a lawyer which gradually melted as you couldn't succeed because you weren't taking in the admission school after applying it over and over on 4 different years. However, I'm happy to hear that you finally enroll into Mass Communication at the Polytechnic which was one of the best decisions that you ever made in your life. I wish you many success in your life and may God guide you all along

 2 years ago 

Yes, studying mass really helped me, thank you for your wishes. I pray I still I achieve my dream later on. Thank you for visiting my blog.

 2 years ago 

Yes you will definitely achieve your dreams in future if you work hard for it my dear

I wish you much success in life, as a graduate of mass communication, you did great even though you were not able to achieve your childhood dream.

 2 years ago 

It wasn't easy but we make do with what we have. Thank you for engaging @olabillions

Awesome, we truly make do with what we have, thanks for the reply
You are welcome

 2 years ago 

I'm so grateful that you decided to make a post about your childhood dreams. You have a beautiful way in which you write. Keep on steeming!

After a while, I decide that it was a lawyer that I wanted to be, then I would never agree to a thing

O gosh, you put a big smile on my face with this statement (•ิ‿•ิ) It sounded just like me!
Good luck for the contest!

 2 years ago 

Thank you Ma'am @patjewell for the invite, I had to make my entry.

 2 years ago 

Whoop whoop!

 2 years ago 

The educational system and admission hurdles have taken a few dreams away from many young people, as far as I know here in Nigeria. You can imagine a person who aspired to become a medical doctor but was admitted into Animal science department, that's a whole lot distance to what he/she has chosen.

In most cases, this can be attributed to insufficient grade for a particular course or a way the institution is controlling their admission into certain courses. I understand you very well on this and I wish you best on life.

 2 years ago 

Nigeria can kill someone's dreams, it's not even funny but what can we do. We move ahead. Thank you for engaging in my blog

 2 years ago 

Although you did not achieve your dream of being a lawyer, today you are a great communicator.

You had a fundamental support, which was that of your parents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65809.66
ETH 2680.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95