Steemit Engagement Challenge S6/W1 - The Joy Of ParenthoodsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year


20221124_202553.png
Designed using Pixellab App Family Clipart

INTRODUCTION

Being a parent transforms your life forever as it comes with the wonderful feeling of fulfillment. When you carry your newfound bundle of joy in your arms, one might wonder what it signifies to be a parent. Being a parent means much more than you being called the mother or father of a baby. Here you get to see what means to be a parent and the blessings and joy that comes with it.

WHO IS A PARENT?

baby-2717347_1280.jpg
Image Source: PIXABAY

Going through the dictionaries, one gets to see the diverse meaning of who a parent is.

a mother or father of a person or an animal, or someone who looks after a person in the same way that a parent does - Cambridge Dictionary

For most of us, a parent is a biological representative for a child, i.e someone who has given or put to birth. However, this is not always the case as those who go through the process of adoption are just as parents as any biological mothers or fathers.

I would say, a parent is anyone standing as a legal guardian to a child. Someone who cares for a child from the point of their early years up until adulthood.

A parent is a person who provides for a young child financially, emotionally, socially, and educationally. A parent is someone that counsels and prepares a young child on how to navigate life’s many ordeals and difficulties.

Then if parents do all these, what joys do they derive in doing all these and more?

JOYS EXPERIENCED BY PARENTS FOR BECOMING PARENTS?

family-1237701_1280.jpg
Image Source: PIXABAY

The joys experienced by parents are numerous to count as different people have different reasons for becoming parents. As the saying, "As our faces are different, so are our heart desires". Therefore, this feeling of joy ranges from different reasons such as social, psychological, emotional, etc which may include some or all of the following.

  • The feeling of giving birth
  • Watching the kids grow
  • Seeing the world through their eyes
  • Togetherness
  • Self-esteem etc.

Becoming a parent comes with the joy of having a child of your own. A child of your image, a living being out of you, someone to carry your name as their surname and extend your legacy. This is the number-one joy of every parent thus the saying "Blood is thicker than Water".

At birth, Parents swim in oxytocin, the “love hormone” as soon as they carry their newborn baby, made to help them bond and care for the baby. Parents even experience rises in oxytocin levels from just watching pictures of their baby, hearing their noises, or smelling their scent which also controls milk production and expression. This joy is experienced by both extended families as their family continuity is sure.

Watching the kids grow up before their parent's eyes is counted as a blessing that one can never imagine.
That first baby rolls over or sits up is likened to a new light suddenly shining. Parents tend to celebrate their children's first spoken word or the first step.

These wonderful feelings don’t stop in childhood. Feats such as graduation and passing their driver’s permit test are thrilling to parents more than it is to the kids. To some parents, every step and every moment of their kids is an honor to watch and share among their peers.


What does this joy prompt them to do for their kids, and to what extent are they ready to carry out their responsibilities towards their kids?

As earlier said, it is a joy for every parent to see their kid(s) happy. This makes parents always prepare before the child is even born, by buying baby clothes, arranging the baby's room, and making sure everything for the baby's comfort is put in place.

father-22194_1280.jpg
Image Source: PIXABAY

Few people find this disheartening as to them, being a parent means going through a lot most of the time to provide for their children's needs. Such as

  • Lossing sleep
  • More expenses
  • Not achieving one's dreams etc

In the end, this is exactly what makes parents happy as they have an avenue to be proud of what they can do and did for their kid(s). They saddle the entire responsibility to care for their kid(s) financially, emotionally, and socially which gives the kid(s) the feeling of belonging.


Does this joy increase as the child grows? What can contribute to the joy parents experience?

From my experience of being someone's child myself, I would say it does. But this can be said to be in a balance as it could go both ways. It is indeed a thing of great joy for every parent to see their child grow in good health, wisdom, and strength. But this could be different if the kid(s) tends to deviate from their way of life or become a nuisance. I can say proudly that every parent wants to see their kid(s) be somebody great in life and society at large, for that reason they always do their best to see that their kid(s) has the best they can offer and also guide them accordingly.


Do you wish to be a parent or are you already one? Do you expect the same joy or are you already experiencing joy as a parent?

I find this question rhetorical because I haven't seen anyone who wouldn't. It is a big fat yes for me. As I wish to be a parent at some point in my life. This, I believe is the dream for all and I am not exempted, It has been my dream for me to carry my kid(s) of mine carry my name as I have my father's, and continue the legacy. This I believe would come in due time, which I look forward to with great anticipation.


What hopes of happiness do you want as a parent for your child later?

For the nth time, a good parent is one who always gives the best for their kid(s) for them to be great in life. Thus, I won't be an exception to this as I also love to see my kid(s) grows and succeed in life.

I must make sure that my kid(s) don't lack what is needed for his/her personal growth. I am to guide, encourage and motivate my kid(s) when necessary to do the things that would bring joy not only to us parents but also to our maker.

CONCLUSION

Undoubtedly, there is so much joy in being a parent, that one cannot convincingly discuss it from a nonparent perspective as being a parent comes with its share of troubles, but in the end, I am to believe that the Joys outweigh these troubles.


I like to invite @patjewell, @ruthjoe and @fredquantum, and any other persons who would like to participate too to CLICK HERE for more instructions.


Thank you all for always making out time to go through my work, and I only hope you enjoyed it😉😁. I can never say thank you enough. You are my real MVPs.



ABOUT ME


NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20211015_222626.png

Sort:  

How good that you want to be a father and even more, that you are aware of how valuable and important it is. I have always thought that we must be responsible and have the adequate means for our children to have what they need to live, to have education and our love and attention.

According to my experience, nothing I imagined compares to what it really feels like to be a mother, it is something you only know when you live it. You also have to be psychologically prepared to be parents, many people are not happy with that role and even abandon their children, so it is best that it is a well thought out decision and when we are really ready. There is no hurry, everything has its time.

Greetings and much success.

 last year 

Wow! This is really impressive and I must say am blessed with your contribution and your experience in the field. Thank you for your wonderful output.

In my experience also, I am newly Father or head of the Family. But sometimes me and my partners don't understand with each other and leads quarreling. She suspected me that I have another woman. She yelling at me, I know this situations will be affected to my baby daughter.

I really appreciate your well detailed post my friend.

 last year 

Thank you for your valuable input. In truth, it could go but ways but I don't think your issue was the result of a baby.

The baby does not even know what is happening at home, but being that they are precious gifts from our creator, they were made to put smiles on our faces and not divide us.

I hope our relationship between my wife will goes well. 😥😥

 last year 

It will hopefully at some point. It's just for the two of you to work it out. Fingers crossed. 🤞🤞

Thank you for the advice my friend.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

I would like to say that your entry is very detailed.

The joy of parenthood is something one can't fully explain. I like the fact that you are determined to do every thing best for your children so they will lack nothing.

There is so much joy in been a parent and I want to ask, are you planning on been a parent soon?

 last year 

There is a saying that says "If you fail to plan, you plan to fail" as much as I could vividly express my thoughts on this topic, I can't really say my parenthood will come any time soon. Lol 😆. I've still got a lot to do in preparation.

Hahahaha alright my friend

 last year 
Club Status#club100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI5.2
Score (quality/rules)8/10
Verification date:2022-11-24
MOD's Observations/suggestionsIndeed it's always a joy giving birth to children and watching them grow up to become successful in life. Children are precious gift from parents and they always brings happiness to parents. Thanks for sharing this quality content with us dear brother

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags.
Curated by: @pelon53

 last year 

Parenthood... so special!
While you wait for the time to become a parent make sure you save up.
Steemit for the future of our children! (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

Thank you for your delightful words of advice and for always supporting me.. Remain blessed.

 last year 

It is a pleasure my friend!
Blessings to you also.

From your article, no one would want to see less in the growth of their children. I believe in this as we all aspire to see greatness in our children. Just as you aspire to enjoy so many things in parenthood, they will definitely come but all you need to do is to prepare for them.
All the best in your submission.

 last year 

Very true. We are all need to prepare for every aspect of life... As if we fail to plan, then we plan to fail in that aspect. Thank you for wonderful input.

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56