SEC | S11,W5 - Recreation

in Steem Kids & Parents11 months ago
20230820_235953.png
Edited using Pixellab App
Greetings to Everyone

What are those things we do when we are free? Do you take a nap or strolling? Do you go hunting or stay at home with family? Whatever activity you decide to do, I believe you gained something from it, isn't it? Hence, today's engagement is about what we do in our free time, hope you like what you see.


What do you understand by recreation, including its forms?

Recreation is any activity being carried out for relaxation, pleasure, enjoyment, amusement or entertainment that is considered to be fun when someone is not working, that is when the person is free from prior duties to physiologic or social needs. Meaning, they are carried out during our (leisure) free time.

Therefore, Recreational activities are all those activities we do to renew our mind and body and make our leisure (free) time more refreshing and satisfying. Examples include jogging, swimming, yoga, dancing etc, hence, any game or activity that enables you to relax.

Generally, recreational activities can be divided into two forms, which are Active and Passive recreation.

Active Recreation: this includes any organized individual or team activities that need the use of certain facilities, methods, or equipment. E.g. Basketball, Baseball, Football, Tennis, Skateboarding etc.

Passive Recreation: this form of recreational activity does not require any organising or facilities. E.g. Picnicking, Walking, Bird watching, Running, jogging, Fishing etc.

Recreational activities can also be divided into two groups, which are Indoor and Outdoor recreational activities.

Indoor Recreational Activities: These are recreational activities that can be done or executed inside a room, be it a classroom or living room. This sort of activity requires less space and hence can be organized inside a room. Examples include Ludo game, Scrabble, Table tennis, Draught, Chess etc

Outdoor Recreational Activities: These are activities that are done outside a room in the open and natural environment. Examples are Hunting, Rowing, Football, Picnicking, etc.

However, among all these forms and groups, Recreational activities are divided into various types, which include;

  • Physical activities (e.g sporting activities, games, fitness, etc)

  • Social activities (e.g. parties, banquets, picnics, etc.)

  • Camping and outdoor activities (e.g. Camping, hiking, backpacking, etc.)

  • Arts and crafts activities (e.g. portrayal, scrapbooking, carpentry, etc.)

  • Dramatic activities (e.g. playwrighting, skit-making, etc.)

  • Musical activities (e.g. singing, dancing, etc.)

  • Cultural activities (e.g. sports appreciation, discussion groups, etc.)

  • Social Service activities (e.g. volunteering)


What type of recreational activities have you enjoyed (state 3 of them)

From the list of examples above, I would say plenty, but since I'm required to state only 3, I would go with Swimming, Bicycling and Scrabble. These three activities in particular what I find myself doing a lot that I enjoy most. I started swimming from a tender age being that we are surrounded by water in Bayelsa, I learnt to play Scrabble in the year 2012 and not until recently did I come to learn how to ride a bike (that will be in 2021, to be precise), Lol.

IMG_20220806_100905.jpg1682848546278.jpgIMG_20230821_123016.jpg
Swimming
Bicycling
Scrabble

All these activities coupled with others, help relieve me of stress and idleness. With Swimming, I get to stretch and exercise all the muscles of my body, with Scrabble I exercise my mind and brain while also learning new words daily to add to my vocabulary while riding my bicycle is purely for fun and relive the stress from the daily dose of working hard to meet social and welfare needs.


Why are recreational activities important for kids and parents?

Recreational activities are undoubtedly important for everyone, neither kids, teenagers, youths, adults, parents nor the elderly are exempted. Recreational activities carry social, physical and psychological benefits and below are some of the reasons why recreational activities are very much important.

20230821_120905.png

Foster bonding: Recreational activities help brings people together and encourages a favourable connection.

Refreshes the Mind: Recreational activities play a vital role in refreshing your senses and preparing you for what's next. It rejuvenates your mind and makes you forget the burden and stress hence making you feel light again.

Replenishing Energy: Recreational activities are the best known to replenish and refill your energy bars, giving you the power to continue. It helps you feel relaxed when you feel depleted and drained out.

Improved Quality of Life: Recreational activities can also help you build self-esteem and belief in yourself hence helping you enhance your quality of life by creating an optimistic self-image.

Develops the Brain: Recreational activities are not just stress busters, but also help facilitate and develop mental health as well as self-esteem.

Effective Time Utilization: With recreational activities, you learn how to effectively utilize time instead of being idle, helping your body to be in the best shape both in terms of health and energy.


Where Do You Enjoy Your Recreational Activities Most?

As earlier stated, there are recreational activities we can get to enjoy anywhere and everywhere, even in the comfort of our homes, classrooms and even on our mobile devices. As such every activity has a place it can be achieved.

I usually play Scrabble in the comfort of my home, since I still consider myself a learner, but I also play it on my mobile device as it can be carried along everywhere I go.

IMG_20220806_100245.jpgIMG_20220806_100239.jpg
Samson Siasia Sport complex swimming pool

As for swimming, I enjoy it in almost every water deep enough to submerge me, but I prefer a swimming pool, and one swimming pool I always go to is the 50 X 100 Olympic Swimming pool size in Samson Siasia Sports Complex, yenagoa Bayelsa State.

Whereas, I take my bicycle for a ride always accompanied by my younger ones on the streets in front of our house as the road is not so busy.


Who do you enjoy having recreational activities with?

Who doesn't do the things they love with the people they love? You can only enjoy them if you share the memories with the people you love. I enjoy my recreational activities with friends and loved ones. It was my dad who taught me how to play Scrabble in the first place, my mum taught me how to swim and my younger ones taught me how to ride a bicycle, funny right? But it's the truth. However, sometimes I do go swimming or play football with friends.

CONCLUSION

Recreation activities are crucial components of our lives. Hence, we should make room for such activities regularly as much as we want to have a healthy society full of enthusiastic and competent people.

I love to invite @yakspeace, @ninapenda, @ruthjoe, @f2i5 and @suboohi

Thank You for your Time



NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20230620_142532.png

Sort:  

Wow, you engage in so much activities that keeps you healthy and active.

I love swimming but missed my chances of learning. I love your games...

Good luck !

 11 months ago 

Swimming to us from the riverian areas is like a gift, we start very small and it is glued to our habits. It's not too late to learn still if you are interested. Thank you

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...
 11 months ago 

There are so many benefits from us doing recreational activities, which of course will restore our lost body spirit. Success guys

 11 months ago 

Yes indeed, there are numerous benefits to recreation that I can even mention them all. Thank you for the well wishes brother.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

 11 months ago 

You engage in various activities for recreation which gives you peace of mind. You enjoy sharing your thoughts with people. Good luck to you sir @sahmie

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

I also love to swim. I would say swimming, sound bath and tarot are my favorite hobbies

 11 months ago 

Tu análisis y explicación de la recreación sin duda alguna quedaron excelente.
Te felicito,esta muy bien detallado.

Yo también amo andar en bicicleta y aunque no sé nadar disfruto mucho cuando puedo ir a la playa o a una piscina ya que el agua ayuda a relajar mucho.

Aunque también practico las actividades recreativas en interiores ya que de vez en cuando hay que quedaste en casa.

Saludos y muchas bendiciones.

¡Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06. for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @suboohi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61