Food challenge contest week #84|| For kids and parents| Cooking pumpkin leaf soup

in Steem Kids & Parents8 months ago

Screenshot_20231029_170443_Gallery.jpg


Hello amazing steemians how are you all doing today I hope all is well and you all are enjoying your as for me I'm doing great, today I will be taking part in an amazing food challenge contest organize here in steem kids and parents community.


In my today's entry I will be sharing with you all the step by step procedure of cooking pumpkin leaf soup (edikan ikong) which is our traditional foup in akwa ibom state, Nigeria.


STEP 1

Screenshot_20231029_170313_Gallery.jpg


As I was working in our shop and today was mkpafi market day and our shop is close to the market so I went and bought some food stuffs in other to cook when I get back home from work though it will be in the evening.


Coming back from work I went straight to cooking I started by taking out the condiments one by one from my bag and some of the condiments includes;


  • Pumpkin leaf
  • Okro
  • Pepper
  • Onions
  • Maggi
  • Salt
  • Oil
  • Egg
  • Fish
  • Grey fish

So in other to save time I started by preparing the condiments and putting them in place one by one as I started with chopping the pumpkin leaf into smaller pieces and then slicing the okro and the onions, I was fast with it so it took me about 20 minutes.


STEP 2

Screenshot_20231029_170322_Gallery.jpg


In the second step before starting to cook I then pick up my fish and put them into water as you can see in the above picture because some fishes especially the stock fish are always very strong so putting it into water will soften it a little to be able to tear it into smaller pieces.


STEP 3

Screenshot_20231029_170339_Gallery.jpg


In the third step in other to commence cooking I started with putting one and a half cup of water into the pot and started boiling, and I didn't boil the water for a long time.


Screenshot_20231029_170346_Gallery.jpg


So as the water was still boiling I went back to my fish that was inside the water then remove it and put inside the boiling water in the pot as you can see in the above picture and I left it to boil for about 1 minutes.


STEP 4

Screenshot_20231029_170352_Gallery.jpg


After I might have finished putting the fishes inside the pot I then left it to boil and after and additional one minute I then start putting the other condiments into the pot, I started with onions then pepper 🌶️, maggi then salt


STEP 5

Screenshot_20231029_170407_Gallery.jpg


After I might have finished putting all the condiments into the pot as it was still boiling since I didn't have enough money to buy meat so I then improvise and went for egg instead after all both of them are a good source of protein.


So I then brought out my egg then crack it and pour it into a little plate then used a small spoon 🥣 and stir it in other to mix properly.


STEP 6

Screenshot_20231029_170415_Gallery.jpg


In this step after I might have finished pouring the egg into the pot as I stir the pot in other to mix it properly, and after I might have allowed it to boil for about 5 minutes I then tasted it to ensure that the salt level is balance.


After tasting it and it was balance as always I then pick up my my okro that was already slice and kept inside the tray then carefully put them inside the pot then stir gently because I always like it when my okro remains round inside the soup.


STEP 7

Screenshot_20231029_170426_Gallery.jpg


After putting the okro inside the pot I then allowed it to boil for about another extra two minutes then quickly take my pumpkin leaf 🌿 that was already chop into smaller pieces then put them inside the pot.


Screenshot_20231029_170437_Gallery.jpg


And without wasting much time after putting the pumpkin leaf into the pot of soup I then immediately took my cooking oil then pour a small quantity into the pot of my delicious soup and after that it was all done as my food was ready.


STEP 8

Screenshot_20231029_170443_Gallery.jpg


As the final step there's nothing much to do here other than clearing and washing the plates and some other things I'd used in preparing the meal, so I later took out my three balls of fufu as you can see in the above picture as I started eating my delicious pumpkin leaf soup.


This will be the end of my entry and I will like to invite
@dar22
@udyliciouz
@goodybest


Best regards @radleking

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54