**SEC17 WK:#5: caring for aged and dependent relatives in the family**

in Steem Kids & Parents20 days ago
20240506_163712.jpgimage designed using pixellab app

“Aging is not 'lost youth' but a new stage of opportunity and strength, it has a wonderful beauty, and we should have respect for that.”

Aging is a gradual, continuous process of natural change that begins in early adulthood. Many bodily functions begin to decline during early aging. There is no specific age for being elderly or older.

But traditionally, age 65 has been set out as the normal age bracket for aging, but this reason is based on history because many years ago, 65 years was chosen as the retirement age in Germany, hence the adoption of the age 65.

I have had several occasions where elderly people were brought under my care. My aunty was the first-aged mother I took care of years ago. It happened that I was the only person in my family to run the errands.

I traveled to her home to stay with her because she needed someone to stay with, and it was not proper to bring in a total stranger to stay with her. I loved taking care of the elderly and babies; it gives me so much joy.

It was all of my duty to bathe her, wash her clothes, cook and feed her, and run some other errands. It was a whole lot for me because I was all alone with her. My aunt was so demanding at her old age, and she nags a lot unnecessarily, which is why no one except me was available to stay with her.

It is said that at old age, people behave like babies. This is so true because I saw it all played out while at my aunt's. She would wake up from sleep and call on me to start preparing her breakfast because she eats so early. After breakfast, she takes a bath and then relaxes. But one thing about her is that she should not see you as ideal. She expects anyone around her to be busy.

woman-3186741_1280.jpgsource

Taking care of her was something I did joyfully because I already knew how these old people behaved and was well informed. I did all my work joyfully; I wasn't paid for anything, but I felt taking care of her was just like taking care of my mom, so I had nothing to worry about.

My aunt, even in her old age, was a strong and independent woman, until she was struck by an accident that almost paralyzed her. It was all the situation that made me go stay with her, and she's diabetic, so the injuries didn't heal so fast. It took a very long time, so I had to go stay with her.

Each time I would go to the market, she would give me time and expect to see me back by that time; otherwise, she would nag all through the day. All I do is keep to her terms and conditions, and we are good. Since it was a passion for me to take care of the elderly, I didn't feel her bad energy.

The moment I enjoyed most was our story time. She tells stories so well and gives advice after each story. During bedtime, we prayed before the story so that anyone who feels sleepy could just go to bed, and every morning, we prayed before starting the day.

After some months with her, I traveled back to my location, and a few weeks later, I heard she was very sick and brought down to a nearby state. I hadn't had the opportunity to go visit, but my family members—about 5 of them—went visiting, and 3 stayed with her at the hospital.

But it was so unfortunate that, a few weeks later, we lost her. At 75, she wasn't so old, but she wasn't young either. We'd thought we would share the Easter season together before she passed away.

woman-8598057_1280.webpsource

I cried so bitterly because if I had stayed longer, she wouldn't have died at that time. But I left, and she died. I miss her, though. She's fun to be with if only you can endure her nagging.

I have also cared for an aged uncle who was so dependent on me because due to illness. I would say that I am always the one it falls on whenever anyone is ill in my family.

My aged uncle fell ill in the northern part of Nigeria and he was flew down to the east where he can be taken care of because his wife is a career woman and had no time to do all of that. I was in the position to take care of him.

This sickness held him down to the extent that he couldn't feed himself, tak his bath or even move around. He was always at a place. Every morning, I wake up, prepare his meal and feed him, bath him and cloth him. It was not easy on me at this time but I was comfortable doing it.

I stayed with him until he was fully recovered from that illness which was after some months. It was a moment of joy and relieve the very day he walked around without help. I knew my time with him was almost over.

Let me invite @mariami @chant @eliany to participate in this contest.

20231026_101606.jpg

Sort:  

Cuidar a su tía fue un acto de amor y de respeto por esos miembros mayores de la familia. En este caso, no contaba con más nadie que estuviese con ella y usted no tuvo reparo en prodigarle con mucho cariño sus atenciones. Fue una experiencia ardua, ya que, según nos cuenta, no era fácil lidiar con los lineamientos de su tía. Sin embargo, nada de eso influyó para que se dedicara con fervor a cumplir la misión que tenía entre manos. Después debió cuidar a un tío y se trató igualmente de una esforzada experiencia, sin embargo, su buen corazón logró vencer todas esas barreras. Éxitos, amiga. Un gran saludo.

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator05. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.

 Post.jpg


Curated by : @chant

Thank you ma'am!

 20 days ago 

I have had several occasions where elderly people were brought under my care. My aunty was the first-aged mother I took care of years ago. It happened that I was the only person in my family to run the errands. I traveled to her home to stay with her because she needed someone to stay with, and it was not proper to bring in a total stranger to stay with her. I loved taking care of the elderly and babies; it gives me so much joy.

First of all congratulations for participating in this great contest. It is our duty to respect our elders and it is our duty to take care of them the way they loved and loved us in our childhood. I am very happy that you are a person in your family who respects and cares for your elders. It is because of these prayers that you are so successful. We should take the prayers of elders and elders because their prayers are very good.

I have also cared for an aged uncle who was so dependent on me because due to illness. I would say that I am always the one it falls on whenever anyone is ill in my family. My aged uncle fell ill in the northern part of Nigeria and he was flew down to the east where he can be taken care of because his wife is a career woman and had no time to do all of that. I was in the position to take care of him.

On the other hand, I am very happy that you also took care of my uncle and helped him. I feel very sad when someone is sick. are and older than us is respectable for us thank you very much for sharing youe amazing and quality post with us. Keep it up and stay active. Best wishes for youe dear. 😍

Best Regards
Maryam Nadeem

 20 days ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 17 in the Steem kids and parents Community.

Aging is a natural process that begins in early adulthood, with a decline in bodily functions.

Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25
Score (quality/rules)9.5/10

Remember to always share your post on Twitter. This POST LINK is a guide to that effect

 19 days ago 

Hola amiga los ancianos son como niños otra vez y tenemos que quererlos y cuidarlos tenerle paciencia yo tengo a mi tía que es anciana y ella es como una niña aveces no quiere comer y se pone brava pero es porque es mayor igual nosotros en mi familia la queremos y la cuidamos 🤗

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

In taking care of the age, patience is the the principal thing you need, followed by a willing heart.
Some time they can nag at you for no reason, they don't know the word has really changed. I have such experience with my lecturer back in school. He retired from civil service and because of his intelligence the employed as an adjunct lecturer.
He was 75 as at then. He was so hard to deal with by a lot of young folks. I was literally the only person who understood him in the whole department. I became the middle man between him and the rest including my HOD.
You have shown you can really relate well with the age by your write-up. Pls keep it up, this is a rear skill in this our age .

Best of luck with the contest.

Greetings friend,
It's natural to feel sad when you realize that an elderly family member or relative who was once healthy and self-sufficient is no longer able to take care of themselves. That's how you looked after your aunt. Just like you, I love taking care of the elderly and children. It calms me down.

I wish you the best of luck for the competition.

Envejecer es un efecto natural del cuerpo, algo que nosotros debemos aceptar de forma razonable y justa.
Sumar años de vida trae consecuencias, trae enfermedades, fatiga, nuestros reflejos ya no son los mismos y nuestro cuerpo tiende a cansarse.
Es necesario que llegado ese momento, podamos tener alguien que cuide de nosotros, así como lo hemos hecho con nuestros padres y abuelos.
Dedicarse a cuidar de nuestros ancianos es un acto de honor y de amor, por lo que hacerlo siempre debe ser con alegría y dedicación.

Saludos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69053.05
ETH 3802.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69