Food challenge contest week #68|| For kids and parents|| Edible Termites

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year

IMG_20230609_161432_861.jpg

Prepared and garnished by me and the image is my property

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Food is what we all enjoy taking ND much efforts are put in place in order to select and prepare dishes that are rich in nutrients. We all have our regular food that we enjoy always and they are easily accessible. But most foods are seasonal like the one I am about to present to you now.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Edible Termites

Among my siblings, I can say that I am the only one that enjoy this Termites more. The reason is because I had lived with my Auntie in Anambra State which is a different state from my state of residence. There, almost everyone enjoys eating this termite.

This Termite is seasonal. They only come out in June when rain is heavy. They are attracted by lights outside the house and they fall on their own. So long as there is light in the neighborhood, they are attracted and anyone is free to pick them.

However, not everyone enjoys eating them here in Nigeria. Some detest it while others love it so much like I do.

Back then in Anambra State, we do eat it even raw. It is very nutritious and a good source of protein. Or prepare it the way you are seeing in the opening image.

Before now, I only buy the already prepared one whenever I travel to Abia State because it is not well known in my current city of residence and I have not seen it fall during the season until I packed to my new house.

I was surprised to see them one morning when I woke up and went outside. The thing is that, when they fall that way, they are not able to go back to where they came from. Most of them remove their wings and hide under the stones around or anything at all. While those who are not able to remove their wings remain on the ground weak. And ones the sun comes out, they all die off.

And so this faithful morning, I was privileged to catch them in quantum in the morning. In my compound, I found some but not much because there was no outside or security lights. But they were attracted by the shining roofing sheets. Below is the pictures of the ones I caught around my house

IMG_20230609_094536_175.jpgthis is the quantity. They are still with their wings.
IMG_20230609_094545_463.jpghere, I had washed them thoroughly and put in the frying pan for frying.
IMG_20230609_095928_276.jpgthis is the result. I only garnished with onions because I didn't have all ingredients.

Just when I thought I had seen them all, my neighbor came around and gave me some of those he had caught and told me that they were still much in his compound because there was security lights. I went there and behold, there were much more than I could even imagined.

IMG_20230609_140056_047.jpgthese ones had removed their wings and hide under a stone that I turned.
IMG_20230609_142143_333.jpgthese o es are weak and are hiding under the grasses.

Even the kids assisted in picking them

IMG_20230609_142136_139.jpgyou can see them being picked by the kids around

We picked as much as we could and got tired and then went in to prepare them but that was when I came back from the market to buy foodstuffs.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Ingredients/Preparation

It doesn't take much to prepare as far as I know. I don't know about others but what I was taught is that it is prepared with the following ingredients

  • Salt
  • Fresh pepper
  • Onions
  • And any bitter leaf around but preferably Utazi leaf.
  • Preparation Steps

One of the things that makes me detest the ones sold in the market is sand. Because they are picked from the ground, they are usually sandy if not properly washed.

So, in preparing these ones, I took my time to wash them in a large quantity of water to be able to wash off the sand on them.

Next, I put them into a washed frying pan and salted them. Oil is not used when frying it. I just put them that way and turned until the water on them is dried off. I kept turning until the aroma came out and they fried properly and become crunchy and munchy.

Then, I turned them into flat plate and removed the wings that weren't burned up by frying.

Then I garnished with onions, utazi leaf and pepper and enjoyed with family and neighbors including the kids that were around.

Guess what? Even those that said that they had not eaten it before and we're doing as if they detest it couldn't resist it. They all enjoyed it with me. See some pictures below of the termites

IMG_20230609_155756_682.jpgthis is when I had finished frying and turned it into a tray to remove the wings
IMG_20230609_161447_653.jpgthis is my selfie with the termite. The picture is not bright because my screen is cracked.
IMG_20230609_165113_987.jpgas we were enjoying it.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Trying to find out the names in different languages

I decided to share these garnished termites on my WhatsApp status and on the WhatsApp group I created for African steemians to learn how it is called. I also shared it in my Facebook page and Below is the results that I got

Screenshot_20230612-140056.jpgthis screenshot is taken from the WhatsApp group

I will still like to learn more about the names. I want to invite my foreign friends to tell me if it's known in their country, if it's edible over there and what it is called

@patjewell @irawandedy @m-fdo @graceleon @olesia @stef1 @kuoba01 and others. Thank you all for reading through.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  
 last year 

I have no idea what they are called in South Africa.
What I can tell you is that in my country, people like to eat Mopane worms. They are also dried and then eaten as a snack, or they are cooked with tomato, onion, and spices.
They contain a lot of minerals, like calcium and iron.
I once helped a company get off the ground that had a product made from mopane worms for HIV/AIDS patients.

As for me.. no thank you. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

Hahahahah, I see! You will have to try to find out over there because when I visit, I will like to have it as a snack.

Mopane worms

I have no idea what that is. But I will try to find out. It's ok if you don't want to eat it. But trust me, it's taste is next to non. Never say never. Until you try it out. You will love it. Thank you for responding to my call. It is appreciated

 last year 

Haha! You are right.. never say never (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

IMG_20230609_140056_047.jpg these ones had removed their wings and hide under a stone that I turned.

I guess these ones that hid under the stone were doing their last minute prayers cos they know they will become crunchy food soon lolz.

Nicely written and broken down steps for preparation, well done ma 😊✌🏽

 last year 

I guess these ones that hid under the stone were doing their last minute prayers cos they know they will become crunchy food soon lolz.

Hahaha, I agree with you. But for them to even come out to the open means that they are willing to submit. So it's not my fault at all.

Thank you for your nice comment

😄 you’re right Ma, and warmly welcome 🙏🏾

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @kouba01

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 last year 

Thank you so much @kouba01 for the support

 last year 

Hello @ ngoenyi, thank you for publishing your content in our community,

Club Status#club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
#burnsteem25
Voting CSI6.4
Score (quality/rules)9/10
Verification date:2023-06-12
i invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 last year 

Wahoo, so this seasonal meat still there and i cant find it around our compound😭. Mma please tell me you location let me come and get some it as been long have tasted it. On my way... 🚴🚴🚴🚴

 last year 

Wow, this is interesting. I have been seeing this termites whenever it is raining flying around electric bulbs.

I have also heard of it crunchy taste but I personally have not tasted it before. Maybe when next I come across them I will try for there is an adage that says "a trial will convince you".

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38