The Dairy Game 07/09/24 || Visiting the farm and Checking out other locations for faming and other purposes.

in Steem Kids & Parents5 days ago
1000503167.jpg

Dear Diary...
I trust you have missed having me here, I've missed you too, it's a mutual feeling. I've really been trying to keep up lately, thank God am here today to give you one of the latest gist and It's about one of my hobby...yeah, I mean farming.

I came home to visit my parents and spend time with them since it's been a while I did so and they have also been reaching out to me prior to this time to come check on them. I had to cease this little opportunity I have this period to check on them.

My Dad grew up as a farmer in the village, am not surprise that reality is catching up on me now even though i grew up in the city. I just discovered am beginning to love agriculture as a whole both livestock and crop farming.

So it happened that I came just when Dad was preparing to plant on his farm, he planned cultivating Cassava this year.
So we both went to the farm to tidy up some of the rubbles we have on it.

Those who used before now had just harvested their cassava so we had the intention of clearing it and then re-heaping it again in preparation for the planting.

1000503161.jpg1000503160.jpg
The land with rubbles

We had to take up that task asap before the sun came out. Every famer knows that working under the sun can be tiring hence the reason why we had to get to work immediately. We both got our hands and foot dirty since it's our calling to...lol.

We began heaping the rubbles to the side and edges of the farm since we couldn't find any nearby bush to toss them into. All we had were farm land surrounding us. So the viable way of solving that problem was to heap the rubbles by the sides and edges.

1000503165.jpg
1000503164.jpg1000503166.jpg
Heaping the rubbles by the sides/edges of the farm

This whole activity took us about 2 hours at a go before we finally arrived at what we actually needed. What is left is the heap to be made and then wait for the rain or even plant in anticipation for the rain since the rain seems to have taken a break for the past two weeks in this part of Nigeria.

1000503163.jpg
The final result

We also took our time to check out another land which we consider getting for farming purpose and other productive venture, a place not far too from where we had just finished working. It located across the railway in my area.

You know we have this two divided in my area, we have the areas before the railway and the other after the railway. This is one of the common way to describe where your house/farm is. It helps give the person your describing to, a picture of where your describing.

1000503150.jpg1000503149.jpg
The Railway in my locality

We were actually under it, heading towards where we wanted to go and check. We were led by a boy who seems to know the terrain so much and after some minutes we were there.

Of course we had trekked several bush paths and corners because the land is located in the bush, houses are yet to dominate that place, what we have is a gradual encroachment.

1000503151.jpg
1000503153.jpg1000503152.jpg
Finally on the vast land

Anyways, we are only coming for just part of the land and not all, we do not have the capacity to get all...what we have here is in acres, we only need some piece to work on.

There are some other folks who had already marked out some part, I guess for the purpose of developing it by building on it maybe just a way of protecting it as we can see corner piece in some parts as we explored.

One can really tell that the place is fertile, as we can see some of the things growing on it doing really fine. There are a lot of pepper plants on it that are thriving, I mean almost due for harvest. Trust me I had to take my time to check out some of these plant, walking the length and breath of the pepper farm.

1000503154.jpg1000503155.jpg
The pepper plants on the farm

There are other section of the farm where other crops like cassava and maize are planted, I also explored those part. It seems the corn are all set to be harvested.

We are actually in it season over here though. I could also spot yam, even though I can't really tell the specie...is it called specie now?...lols forgive me,if am wrong.

1000503158.jpg1000503159.jpg
The Cassava, Maize session of the vast land

As it stands we can't make use of the land now because all of these crops are on it, we only need a part of it just as I mentioned earlier and the very part needed is where pepper are planted. It won't be long before it would all mature and then we can then take over and continue using it as well.

This whole exploration took about 2 hours as well, well there were a lot of discussions and consideration before we finally agreed on what we wanted and how we were going to fulfil our own part of the agreement.

After the whole thing. We turned to go home and catch some rest for our body and soul. We had really tried for the day.

1000503148.jpg
On the move

The journey from the farm back home is about a 30 minutes walk which we embarked on. I couldn't even suggest to my dad to take a bike or something down home, if he was that strong to decided against it, why would I want to hop on a bike at my young age...so we used our legediz benz lols.

I think at this point, I would love to draw the curtain, thanks for coming this far with me on this ride. You are my real pal and I appreciate you so much. Thanks for your time.


Regards
@lhorgic❤️


Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Wow farming is also my best hobby

Just because it makes someone famous in the community.

 4 days ago 

Really, am glad you love farming. You can keep sharing some of your farming activities.
Thanks for the feedback.

You are welcome sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60843.64
ETH 2711.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43