Food challenge contest week #46|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| share Your Food Diary With Us

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

Hello kids, greetings to you, and welcome to my post today. I trust you are doing perfectly well and getting ready for the Christmas celebration. Today I am here to share with you how to cook oha soup.

IMG20221216141408.jpg Myself holding oha soup

Oha soup is a highly filling dish that goes well with garri, fufu, semovita, and any other sort of meal you can imagine. It is one of the most popular foods in the eastern region of Nigeria and is high in vitamins.

The oha soup is thickened with achi. When cocoyam is not available, achi is used as a substitute. However, many people love adding achi rather than cocoyam to thicken their oha soup. Acchi really adds more flavor to the broth than cocoyam. In my own case, I have used achi.

Ingredients

tmp-cam-3126417264655658871.jpg

  • Oha leaves
  • Achi
  • Smoked fish
  • Canda (cow skin)
  • Crayfish (optional)
  • Palm oil (Red Oil)
  • Onions
  • Maggi
  • Dry Pepper
  • Salt to taste
Cooking Step:

First soak and wash your smoked fish, chop using hot water, and keep aside.

For the oha leaves, use your hands to shred them and keep them aside. Also, slice or grind your onions and pepper and keep aside.

Get a pot and put in the fish and cowskin you have washed and add some seasoning cubes such as salt, Maggi, etc. and place on a medium heat and allow to cook for 10 to 15 minutes.

tmp-cam-5131900686152693944.jpgtmp-cam-289244722660002887.jpg

After some minutes, when the ingredients have cooked very well, you can then add achi. Before adding, use cool water and mix it.

Add vegetable oil (red oil) into the soup and stir it very well.

Check the ingredients and add the proper amount, knowing if you need to add more.

tmp-cam-8703095007347661334.jpgtmp-cam-3780424831637363560.jpg

Finally, add the oha leaf you have shredded and stir very well, allowing it to get thicker.

tmp-cam-4710719211377178358.jpg

Previous post1

Previous Post2

Thank you....

10% Goes @steemkidss
Sort:  
 2 years ago 
Club Status#club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Score (quality/rules)9/10
Verification date:2022-12-16

MOD's Observations/suggestions: oha soup is one of my favorites too, I like it with achi instead of cocoyam, because of the special flavor achi normally give it. Periwinkles and goat meat, goodness I'm craving for this meal now. Hahaha 😂 your's looks delicious 😋🤤 thanks for sharing with our kids, I believe they will learn. Continue to be active in our community we appreciate you 💕

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for Reviewing my post. Am so grateful.

 2 years ago 

Wow my friend you can really be a good cook,your meal looks delicious and very strange here in Cameroon.I wish I was there to have a taste of it it .Enjoy your meal

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your words of complement.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @suboohi

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 2 years ago 

Thank you @suboohi for supporting me.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

I'm really longing to taste oha soup😁

 2 years ago 

Thank you for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47