Indeed, It Was A Blessing In Disguise.

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

Greetings, everyone.

photo-1571795184552-5f1df723de54.jpeg
Source

I am glad I came across such a wonderful contest organized by @goodybest. I have not been active on the platform because of work, but I couldn't let this one pass me by.

We all have sad stories that ended with joy. Many sad things happened in my life that I am thankful to God that they happened. At first I was scared and sad, but the end result brought joy.

In 2013, my dad was posted to a mission area in Borno state. We are all aware of the recent happenings and the situation in Borno state, Nigeria. This broke my heart and that of all my family members, both extended and nuclear.

We started praying that it wouldn't work. We put him under pressure to work on it so the posting could be reversed. We tried all we could, but the posting still stands. With the news of death and people being abducted by the boko Haram terrorists every day, my mom already had high blood pressure even before he reported to the station.

After trying everything we could but to no avail, he later reported to his new station, leaving us behind. Those years he was there were some of my worst years. You call and he does not pick up, you fall into thinking. What could be his reason for not picking?

photo-1539538507524-eab6a4184604.jpeg
Source

Your heart starts to race and beat faster than normal. Every little thing, my mom gathers everyone for prayers. When you are supposed to be having fun, you will be asked to suspend everything and come inside for prayers.

Sometimes you call him and you can clearly hear gunshots from his environment. He picks up and tells you he's going to return your call later. Sometimes it takes two days for him to return the call, and you will have died of worry already.

In 2014, he called home, and we could hear how happy he sounded. He could not contain the joy, though he was trying to hold it. My mom asked him what's going on; is he coming back home ? His reply made everyone shout.

He said his promotion that was delayed for three years has finally been released. Indeed, Borno state was a blessing in disguise for my family.

Moral Lesson.
  • Not every sad beginning has a sad ending.
  • Sometimes our blessings are on that part people fear to tread.
  • God has a reason for allowing something to happen.

I invite @preye2, @madilyn02 and @josepha to join this contest. 10% payout to @steemkidss.

Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  

Life of a soldier family has not always been easy, and I can attest to the worries and pain being felt in times like this. This is really an interesting experience, as it ended in joy. Truely, not every sad beginning ends with pain. Thanks for sharing and goodluck in this contest friend.

 2 years ago 

The worries was second to none, back then what pained my heart was when she interrupts my fun by saying let's go for prayers. I am glad I discovered the importance of prayers.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for inviting me. Honestly, the life of a military isn't easy. It is all about obeying the last command. You have written well and I wish you best of luck.

 2 years ago 

Hello @david-o thank you so much for taking part in this contest, your Dad transfer to Borno State was indeed a blessing in disguise! But I can't only imagine how scared you people were. You really caught me here

Every little thing, my mom gathers everyone for prayers. When you are supposed to be having fun, you will be asked to suspend everything and come inside for prayers.

Haha 😂😂 but I believe this is one of the reasons your Dad is alive till date. Continue to be active in our community we appreciate you!

Status Club
club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Grading:
9/10
Verification date:
10-25-22


 2 years ago 

I also believe prayers Kept him because from the story he told us, there's no way he would have survived.

Thanks for organizing this contest and your review on my post.

 2 years ago 

Indeed everything happens for a reason. Your father won't have gotten the promotion if he wasn't transferred. Most times, our blessings comes from our darkest situations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44