Update #66: Writing Expedition; The Diary Game|| 26-06-2024 || The Early Rush to School, Teaching the chemistry of Alkanol and Alkanoic Acid and Making a Mouth Watering Afang Soup 🍲

in Steem Kids & Parents23 days ago

Dear Diary

It's always a pleasure to return thanks to God Almighty for granting us the mercies of waking up each day. Wednesday is definitely one of my hectic day which I prefer putting it in my diary to always reflect how far I'm going in life. i did so many activities which when I remember I start Wondering how did I even start to doing all of this in a day!

IMG_20240626_233705_6.jpg
[My Afang soup 🍲 and Fufu]

let's Explore it:

My Early Morning Rush

My day did started so very early for me. I did woke up just before dawn, really feeling the that urgency of the day already. The very first task of my day was in fetching water from a unique nearby tap who sales at cheaper rate and also ease my stress of going to a long distance place and I see this as a community Empowerment for the neighborhood.

I quickly try as much to filled my buckets and also hurried to the bathroom. The very morning cold water splashed on my dear skin, help waking me up so completely from any dizziness as I took my bath. The Time was already ticking tirelessly, and here I didn't want to be late at all for my Teaching practice at the "Ray-field International Secondary School in Uyo".

Rushing to School

I did dressed so quickly with a cooperate, then grabbed my school bag, and thendashed out the door while jamming after. The streets here were still very much quiet and scanty, with them having only a few early risers already making their way to their work. I did walked so briskly, my dear mind so racing with the thoughts about the day's/week's lesson.

  • I stood at plaza to catch a bus going to Nwaniba where I'll stop at Ring road 🛣️ just opposite Vision road where the school is located, but it seems to give me a little headache! Thank God I was lucky and i find one. I reached the prestigious school just in time, the relieved that I wasn't late after all was enchanting and then I sign in the Time book.

IMG_20240626_105638_6.jpg
[My Teaching Practice Logbook]

Teaching SS2 Chemistry

As I was assigned a class to be teaching, I teach the SS2 A class Chemistry. The interesting topic for the week was Alkanols and Alkanoic Acids. As I majestically entered the classroom, my students all greeted me so warmly. I then started our lesson by really explaining what the Alkanols and Alkanoic Acids are and it's chemistry operate. I used some simple language terms and also lots of examples to help make sure everyone understood and the lesson was delivered.

  • We all discussed on the properties both physical and Chemical and also the uses of the Alkanols, like the ethanol, which is genuinely found in the alcoholic beverage drinks and also used as a solvent. Then, we gradually moved on to the Alkanoic Acids, such as the ethanoic acid, which again noted as the main component of the vinegar.

The students from interaction were really engaged, Triggering much questions and also participating in the discussion better. By the very end of the lesson for the day, I did felt a confident that they had all grasped the concepts well.

My Afternoon Adventure

A Trip to the Market

After my school hours, I just decided to catch a bus back then visit the market near the Ibom Plaza to buy some food items for the meal. I really needed a few things to try cook dinner. The market here was so bustling with the people returning from work and other destination, and the air too was filled massively with the sounds of the bargaining and too the smell of fresh produce. I then bought some cowskin (kpomo), fish, spices, additional water leaves and other ingredients I really needed for my meal.

IMG_20240626_224118_3.jpgIMG_20240626_193431_6.jpg

[Things I got From the Market]

Rest Before Cooking

By the very time I got home, friend I can't cheat nature because i was exhausted. I did dropped my bags, took a very quick shower, and then lay down to rest for a while and recap where i should start from. The my stomach growled, trying to remind me that I hadn’t eaten yet and I'm hungry. But I really needed a bit of rest because my eyes were down before I could start cooking anything.

Preparing Afang Soup

Later in the day after I've gotten enough sleep, I really felt rested and then so ready to cook. I prefer and decided to make Afang soup for the day, one of which is my favorite dishes.
And Luckily, I had all the required ingredients I needed.

So steemians Here’s what I did used:

  • Afang leaves
  • Water leaves
  • Snails
  • Periwinkles
  • Fish (both dried and the stockfish)
  • Seasoning cubes
  • Salt
  • Palm oil
  • Crayfish
  • Pepper

My Cooking Steps

1. Preparing the Leaves: First here, I did washed the Afang leaves so thoroughly. Then, I sprinkled it and sliced them finely and really pounded them in a mortar well until they all were very smooth. I did also washed and definitely sliced the water leaves too, setting them aside.

IMG_20240626_194001_5.jpgIMG_20240626_195827_5.jpgIMG_20240626_224107_7.jpg

[My Sliced Water leaves and Pounded Afang]

2. Preparing the Snails and Periwinkles: Next here, I definitely washed those snails and the periwinkles I used thoroughly. I caught all these near my home, just the backyard of our compound and making them a fresh and much exciting addition to my soup I'll be preparing. I then seasoned them so lightly and set them aside as well.

IMG_20240626_224113_2.jpg
[How it's going]
3. Cooking the Meat and Fish: I also washed the fresh dried and the stockfish and definitely cut them into portable pieces. I then placed them in a pot, added some of the water and steam, also added seasoning cubes, salt, and onions and brought it all to a boil. Once I observed they were cooked, I then removed the fish and set it aside.

4. Cooking the Soup: There In a very large pot I've got at home, I did heated some palm oil and then added the sliced water leaves to it. I practically stirred them well for a few minutes before duly adding the pounded Afang leaves to it. Then, I also added the snails, the periwinkles which was also seasoned and the crayfish. I eventually stirred everything together well, allowing he8the flavors to mix perfectly.

5. Adding the Fish and Seasoning: I so gently added the all other cooked items like cooked fish and stockfish back into the pot because I waned avoiding them to melt to water already and so being careful again not to break them apart while putting. I then added too more of the seasoning cubes, the salt, and pepper to help taste. I then let the soup to simmer for like some few more minutes until there! everything was well cooked.

IMG_20240626_224709_3.jpgIMG_20240626_233641_6.jpg

Me Enjoying the Meal

The perfect scent and aroma of the Afang soup already filled the kitchen, making my mouth which was anticipating already to water for it.
I so couldn’t wait to taste it again. I happily served the soup with fufu, a better and perfect combination my mother sent to me From village. As I took in my first bite of the soup, I was so delighted by its rich flavors and health benefits I'll get. The snails here and periwinkles added in a unique texture to it, and too the combination of the leaves helps make the soup so incredibly tasty.

IMG_20240626_233650_9.jpg
[What my Culinary looks like]

My Evening Perspective

Reflecting on the Day

As I did sat down to eat my food, I also felt a better sense of accomplishment within myself. In Teaching the SS2 A class had gone so well, and I really had successfully prepared here a bliss delicious meal. Cooking the Afang soup by myself was indeed a pleasure I've gotten for years now, and this always reminds me of the effective importance of self-sufficiency and the joy of a homemade meals.

  • After my dinner, I then cleaned up all the kitchen and places i made used of and also took a moment to relax again. Definitely The day had really been long and so busy, but again it was also much fulfilling. I acknowledge and was so proud of what I had achieved and really grateful for the experiences I have each time.

With a smile 😁 already full on my face and too a full stomach, I did went to bed, therefore looking forward again to what tomorrow would bring as it's expected.

Dear friends! This was definitely how my day went for Wednesday, really filled with the teaching as @bossj23 can relate about Teaching Practice encounter, cooking as @mesola would have a rating here, and definitely a sense of satisfaction at end.
connect me on Steemit

          "Thanks Diary"
Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Your dish looks delicious 😋 and I wish I was there to enjoy it with you. One of my favorite food I love afang and fufu I enjoy eating it. Success and all the best

 22 days ago 

it'll be a pleasure.
Don't worry you'll have the chance

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99