The Diary Game|| [08-12-2023] || My Home Devotion, Fetching water and Cooking a Delicious Delicacy (Afang soup 🍲)

in Steem Kids & Parents6 months ago

Dear Diary,

IMG_20231208_132609_6.jpg
[My Meal]

My Early Morning Devotion

My Friday started with a great peaceful morning as I indeed woke up early to engage with my daily devotion as always. The serenity of the moment here allowed me to connect with my spiritual self entirely and set a positive tone for the day ahead and many more in my life.

Fetching Water for House Chores

Immediately After my devotion in the early hours, it then was time to tackle the household chores properly. So The first task on my list I had was to fetch water as I had no water. With a pretty bucket in hand, I certainly find my way to the nearby water source just behind the compound. The very rhythmic sound of water filling the container was so oddly comforting. So Once I had collected enough water, I headed back home to refill my bucket and get one again the second time, and finally ready to dive into the day's activities before me.

Deciding to Skip School

As I got back and entered the house, my pretty thoughts wandered to school immediately. However then, after checking the information drop in group about today's activities, I made a decision not to attend any class as most was postponed and one was an hour class. Instead, I felt here a strong desire to indulge in some culinary creativity definitely.

Cooking Afang Soup

In One of the Ibibio delicacies from the southern state of Nigeria here, Afang soup, beckoned me definitely to prepare. So I gathered all the necessary ingredients for the cooking, ensuring I had water leaves at home, also fish, stock fish, periwinkles, and other seasonings at the ready. So before I step into preparing the soup, I then realized I needed a sharp knife for cutting the leaves into fine pieces for cooking.

IMG_20231208_132545_0.jpg
[The Afang soup]

Borrowing My Neighbor's Knife

So in solving the issues of cutting the Afang leaves, I decided to approach my friendly neighbor in the compound for assistance and borrowed her knife. To my greatest surprise, she generously gave me two knives for my work, each known for its efficiency in cutting effortlessly. Grateful for her kindness and sound gesture, I take both back and selected one and began slicing the leaves with ease here and interchanging them as I progress. The vibrant green color of the water leaves too indeed contrasted beautifully with the aroma filling the kitchen as I progress from step to step.

Pounding the Leaves

In order To achieve a smooth and soft texture of the Afang leaves, I carefully pounded the sliced leaves. The very rhythmic thuds of the mortar and pestle echoed through the kitchen back space as I skillfully worked to achieve the desired consistency in my Preparation. The very process here required patience and precision gradually, but I knew the end result would be worth it definitely.

Cooking the Soup

With all the leaves prepared, it was now time to cook the soup. I so started by washing the fishes and periwinkles, pretty ensuring they were clean and ready for seasoning immediately. Following my mother's tried and true recipe method, I seasoned the seafood, too infusing it with a burst of flavors o got from the market.

And as I progress, the pot simmered, the very enticing aroma of the Afang soup filled the air already, making my mouth water in anticipation already. I decide in adding the pounded leaves and allowed them to merge together with the rest of the ingredients, creating a ridiculous harmonious blend of flavors and so on.

Preparing Garri to Accompany the Soup

While the soup was being cooked, I decided to make some garri for better combination, a staple food in Nigeria as many may know it. I boiled water and, with a touch of precision here I mixed it with the finely ground cassava flakes slowly. The end result was a fluffy mound of garri in the container, ready to be enjoyed alongside the delicious Afang soup soon.

IMG_20231208_132601_7.jpg
[The Garri]

Savoring the Meal

So With everything prepared well, it was time to savor the fruits of my labor already. Before sitting down to enjoy my meal, I so couldn't resist capturing the picture-perfect moment after done 👍. The colors of the Afang soup and the comforting presence of the garri too on the plate made for an appetizing sight for anyone seeing it.

IMG_20231208_132552_7.jpgIMG_20231208_132601_7.jpg

[After being Served]

So Seated comfortably on the tile floor, I relished each mouthful of the flavorful Afang soup I cooked. The combination of the tender fish, the very rich stock, and too the earthy taste of the water leaves was a delightful experience in all. It was a meal that truly satisfied both my hunger and my soul in a second.

So As I finished my meal, I couldn't help here but feel a sense of accomplishment and contentment already for the day. Indeed Friday's journey from morning devotion to cooking and enjoying a traditional delicacy had been what I'll admit as a fulfilling one. It reminded me of the simple joys that life has to offer in every bit it got.

After these amazing delicacy, I decide giving myself a full rest for the day. So I was just laying on the bed throughout the rest of the day.

thank-you-362164_1280 (1).jpg
Pixabay
To this very entry, I wouldn't hesitate to thank the great Steemit Blockchain for always being the platform I'll spill my daily activities with and also use this medium to invite @patjewell, @bossj23 and @goodybest to my post.
Connect me on Steemit

'Thanks for Reading my Post'
Sort:  
Loading...
 5 months ago 

So often in life, we all need to take that day off to "recharge" our batteries. However, on days like this, we actually work harder, but in the end, it fills us with satisfaction.

As for your devotion, the best time is in the earlier hours of the morning, when everything is so peaceful and we have to be grateful to say thank you for a new day.

Thank you for sharing!

 5 months ago 

Thanks Ma'am for always coming through for me and others around.
You're indeed the best I've seen with great personality

 5 months ago 

Awh! Thank you! ☕
Wishing you an awesome week!

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76