THE DIARY GAME : 01/09/2020 : First Rain.

in Steeming Community4 years ago

IMG_8933.JPG

I was planned to wake up early in the morning though I went to bed bit late yesterday after submitting our group review paper to the Project Supervisors.

I had an oil treatment for my hair in the morning and was waiting it to absorb to the scalp. Unlit then I make a check list for the things I need to bring to the university as it is gonna commence after 6 months. So I am planning to go back in the upcoming weekend.

Today is a holyday for Sri Lanka due Binara Fullmoon Poyaday. Here in Sri Lanka all the poya days are holidays as they have significant value for the majority of the Sri Lankans: Buddhists.

Binara Poya is special as the Bhikkhuni Sasanaya was established on this day at the time of Lord Buddha living. The first female Buddhist Monastic was Maha Prajapathi Gothami who is the Stepmother of Siddhartha, who became Lord Buddha lately. And the second importance of this poya day is this is one of poya days in the Vas Season, means the four-month rain period. There are two types of Vas engagements: the ‘Pera Vas’ starts from the next day of the Esala Fullmoon poya day and the ‘ Pasu Vas’ which starts from the next day of the Nikini Fullmoon poya day. Pera means before and Pasu means late in Sinhala. The monks those who could not do Vas Charithra in the first time can do it on the Pasu Vas day. During this Vas time, Buddhist monks stay in the temples without going for days long travels.

It was more than a week since we had a rain and for that single week everything in the environment dried out. So, I was waiting for a big rain. There is a belief that we get rains on Poya day and it was true for today too.


IMG_8918.JPG

The heavy rain with thunders started in the noon and still raining here around 8:30pm. According to the news (We had to switch of the television due to thundering), many parts in the country experienced rain today. I felt cold and postpone taking bath until evening and went to bed.

IMG_8923.JPG

We were planning to go to temple in the evening as today is a poya day. But I was too much lazy to step out in the rain and all I did was, curling inside the blanket and slept for whole evening.


IMG_8936.JPG

When I woke up around 5pm my mother was making ‘dhal wade’. Before eating that I had the bath which I postponed in the noon. It was too much cold in the evening, and I had a cup of tea with ‘dhal wade’ and it could keep away the coldness.

We worshiped Lord Buddha in the home as usual as it was raining continuously outside.

IMG_8932.JPG

I had this fruit from the garden, and I was plucked by my father. This fruit is called jambola or Bambalosi in Sinhala and Pomelo in English. This is a fruit from citrus family and larger than other citrus family members. We have a tree in our garden and its fruits are not that much larger compared to the fruits that we buy from the market.


IMG_8941.JPG

Then I started a half-done drawing as I was busy in the past days. I continued it until my mother called me for the dinner. After having dinner, I started to write this.

Thank you for reading #thediarygame post ❤❤❤

Team : @steemceylon

This is me

Sort:  

Thank to this vaccation i also have more concern on my hair. I tried a oil made with coconut oil and curry leaves. I got to know that from youtube. It worked much than i expected. How is yours?
#onepercent #srilanka

Yeah I have also tried that oil with coconut oil and curry leaves. It showed better results on my mother’s hair as she was suffering from a hair fall for so long. ❤️ I just applied some coconut oil together with olive oil and vitamin E this time ❤️

Thank you for writing about importance of the Binara Full Moon Poya Day.
Actually there was a nonstop heavy raining today and still it is raining outside. I feel like I'm freezing 😀

#onepercent
#srilanka

Yeah what i did for these two days is just sleeping ❤️

I already planned to reach our traditional temple evening time like you. But unfortunately heavy rain fallen to my living area. So we changed our plans what we decided previously.

Still raining here without having a break 😅😅😅 I didn’t even step out of the home ⛈

 4 years ago 

Hi Sanduni. I came here to ruin your mood.😋😋😋😋 5 more days to starting university😋😋. See you at the Exam hall soon. 😅
Thank you.🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃

I’m sure your exam will be over before they start our exams 😅😅😅 so we have more time 🤭🤭

nicely spent holiday...

Yeah specially I like rainy days❤️

You have been upvoted by randulakoralage the Country Representative from SRI LANKA we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and come join our #thediarygame Season 2 you can get steem for commenting too with our #onepercent
Steem on!

 4 years ago 

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70